We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Coastal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family and I experienced a very hospitable welcome by their warm, friendly staff and throughout our stay we enjoyed a high level of service. The staff consider the comfort and security of their guests to be high priority and they went to great lengths to facilitate our needs and remember our preferences. The service here is like the Carlton Ritz of Guyana, but in a cosy setting. Situated in a well-to-do residential area, the hotel is small but well appointed with adequate facilities for a business or pleasure traveller. It provided an excellent base for our trips into the interior. The hacienda style layout shielded you from the busy main road and made dining outdoors pleasant and cool. However, you have the option of an air-conditioned dining room should the mosquitoes start biting. The food here is cheap and delicious and I highly recommend their seafood grills and huge portions of creole breakfast with roti or bake, but go easy with the Guyanese curry if this is your first time to Guyana, as it was for me. I stayed in room 110 which I would request again as it is in an ideal location. Although the rooms are not very large, they are comfortable and facilitate a good night’s sleep. Housekeeping in 110 was excellent and kept us well supplied with toiletries and towels. We enjoyed our regular cable channels, the convenience of a fridge and the comfort of both a/c and an overhead fan. The only thing missing from the room was facilities to make tea and coffee, but very early every morning there was self-service tea and coffee available, literally outside the door. The seawall is a stone’s throw from the main road and provides a very pleasant walk. Be careful crossing the main road and look out for the donkey taking a stroll, horse and cart trotting along and the cows grazing along the wall. However, as advised by the hotel staff, do not venture out in the late afternoon and evening. The only downside is that the hotel is on the “backside” of Georgetown and an hour away from Timehri airport. During rush hour you will have to factor in extra time. However, I will definitely stay here again as it felt like home away from home.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you can't manage stairs, order a ground floor room. Deluxe rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soraya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

In seeking a location to stay in Georgetown prior to an morning departure back to the States, we came across this location. We never really had any prior knowledge of the hotel, but were happy to discover an affordable rate. Upon check-in, we were greeted warmly and escorted by management to our rooms. We found the rooms to be very well appointed to meet our needs and actually had the roll-out beds in place as we had previously requested. In addition to appreciative service, we enjoyed a nice pool, familiar cable channels, and delicious food in the hotel restaurant. We also found that the location in an more upper class area to be quite desirable. We intend to make this hotel a place of destiny in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here in Feb on a business trip to Guyana. (7 rooms). The hotel is a little out of the main downtown Georgetown area but we had transport so not a big issue. Rooms were small but clean & comfortable.

We ate breakfast and some late meals there, never had a sit down dinner. Food was good. The Grill Night looked good though, but we were whisked off elsewhere for a business related function. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice little bar in the front near the pool.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently returned from a business stay at the Grand Coastal. We had meetings at the hotel and that was the reason that we stayed there. I was very pleasantly surprised. It was quite a way away from where I had stayed in the past and I was a little worried. It turned out great. The staff was great. The food was excellent. Guyana night was excellent. Cheryl our waitress was amazing and went out of her way to take care of us. It was an excellent value for the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahojeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week and loved it! There is an authentic feel to the hotel that makes you know you are in Guyana and not just anywhere.

The room was comfortable clean and had a large bathroom and flat screen TV. Free wifi was great. We follow the Rick Stevens model of modest accommodations and this more that surpassed that bar.

The food was the best part of staying here. Very tasty, I wish they had even more options although I didn't see the bar menu so their could be more Guyanese choices on it.

The staff was wonderful and friendly.

The thing I was concerned the most with was the location from the city center, however that was not an issue. The hotel contracts with a taxi service that was there to pick us up within 3 to 5 mins of calling them. They even came to get us from Georgetown when we called them. It was really nice and relaxing driving up the coast to and from the hotel.

We plan to return with our kids and stay at the Grand Coastal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank merajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We first stayed at Grand Coastal Hotel for 5 days in January 2013, and were happy to be booked there again this January, when we stayed for 6 days. The people working there were gracious, helpful, and eager to make our stay a pleasant one. The food was delicious, from the pumpkin and roti breakfast to varied fish and chicken dinners. The small bar next to the pool made a delightful stop at the end of the day. We had a group of 20 for a closing dinner for our program, and it was planned and served with great care, and with great food. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My family and I were visiting Guyana after 13 years, and having had no family there, we chose to stay at the Grand Coastal Hotel. It is centrally located, and we felt safe at all times there. The service is exceptional, from the wait staff, to the cleaning staff, to management. Everyone takes the greatest care to ensure all your needs are met, with patience and efficiency. Being pure vegetarians, we were pleasantly surprised at the availability (and variety) of really great vegetarian meals. We had most of our meals there, instead of venturing out to dine at other local places, and old friends joined us there several times for dinner. Among locals too, they are quite popular, being a hub of activity for the who's who of Guyanese society. All of our guests that met us there also had lots of good things to say about the food there. Whether you're a Guyanese returning home, or a foreigner experiencing Guyana for the first time, the Grand Coastal Hotel is a wonderful place to experience local cuisine. As a returning Guyanese, Grand Coastal was a home away from home for me. I found the rooms there to be comfortable, and clean. One of my absolute favorite things there was the TV; despite being away from home, I was able to watch all the shows I watch at home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.0 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0.0 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
0.0 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#3 of 21 in Georgetown
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coastal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coastal Hotel

Address: 1 2 Area M Plantation | Le Ressouvenir, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: £69 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Coastal Hotel located on the East Coast outside of Georgetown has been enjoying business in Guyana for about thirteen years. It's a 40-room facility that has grown to become one of the best places to stay in terms of our affordable prices, fantastic service and delicious food. The menu has many options to choose from since we cater to various international guests, yet doesn't forget about their own people with the Flavors of Guyana on Wednesday nights. Some of the best local dishes Guyana has to offer are served this night. Grand Coastal is home to many other amenities such as a fully equipped gym, pool, complementary broadband Internet and cable television and other luxuries that are sure to make your stay pleasurable. Our smiles are bright, our service unmatched and our hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Coastal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coastal Hotel Georgetown
Grand Coastal Hotel Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing