We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All under one roof”
Review of Stabroek Market

Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Georgetown
Attraction details
Anna Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All under one roof”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

These markets are pretty much the same as any large markets in Caribbean Islands, South and Central America, and this is where the essence of a country is found. I found it relatively easy to navigate, talk to stall holders and had no issues with pickpockets, a few people asked outright for money. I felt safe walking around alone.

I took heaps of photos (asking the stall owners if it was ok), the only ones were the fishermen out the back who wanted money for the task.

I ate at a Creole place along the left side heading towards the back, best curries and a nice sitting area above the stall, very friendly place and cheap, a curry and a soda was G$700 (US$3.50)

Like all busy areas wether it's the local markets or the local supermarket, have some common sense with your valuables.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    14
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Countryside, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SHAMEFUL BEAUTY”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Before or around the time of John Wannamaker, who got his idea of a Grand Market from Stabroek, there was a fantastic Dutch idea of a modern day mall. This marketplace is the center of attention in the city and its most famous landmark. The City Government needs to paint it, fix the clocks and get all that garbage from around the most prominent location in Georgetown. What a shame! What an opportunity!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unsafe market.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stabroek Market is an overcrowded, dank and extremely dangerous market to shop at. Besides, it's a bunch fake stuff that's sold here. I'm always under constant fear of being robbed whenever I happen to pass through here. Tourists are to remain far from this place. I'm Guyanese. I know what I'm talking about.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank RajivDoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vibrant market”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Stabroek market was built in the 1800s. The slaves were allowed to sell their produce only on Sundays here. We spent almost 45 minutes walking around and exploring and getting the feel. It vibrant and gyrating with music on the outside and people shouting on the inside. The market is a neat place to find anything and everything- from fruits to make up. It is crowded and busy so look keep your bags well hidden. We never felt unsafe. Do not miss out on this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emperorofthesea192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stabroek Market Absorbs Guyana”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you're looking for a place to be immersed in the flavor and vibe of Guyanese culture then Stabroek Market is certainly one place to do it and catch it all. The sounds, the smells, and the views. It's centrally located and easily reached by taxi, foot or minibus. Food, clothes, jewelry, pharmaceuticals are all readily available. It's close to other attractions as well. A word of caution - watch out for the traffic and hang on to your belongings - it's very crowded and there are some incidents with criminal elements. Stay focused and enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveCT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stabroek Market also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Stabroek Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing