We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay at Pegasus again....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pegasus Hotel Guyana
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Really, the picture perfect hotel on the website does not match reality. On entry, seemingly nice but the service is poor. I complained of not getting hot water - no response, cold breakfast, lunch and dinner - no response, the people of Guyana are friendly but the people of the hotel are not. The room had no bath-tub which was a shocker and I was not impressed. My view was one of a roof with tiles (though I rather not have a sea wall view and be killed by the sound of the generator. There are no on property bookstores (just a small convenience store with nothing in it), a Latino Bar (nice) but empty and a huge pool and I was just not impressed. I will NEVER stay there again but on the positive side, the rooms are clean, relatively spacious but no frills. It is ok for a three day stay. Food is too expensive, cold and generally I am unimpressed. Will stay somewhere else next time....there's got to be a better place, maybe The Princess or Marriott.

Room Tip: I have no tips, don't get a sea wall room and ask for technical assistance for the freezing show...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Pegasus Hotel Guyana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is acceptable for a short stay as there aren't many choices in Georgetown. Our room was located on the Kingstown Wing. The room was spacious with tiled floor, bed was comfortable except the room appeared dated and in need of renovation. Bathroom was spacious with basic amenities; however, running water in the bathtub and toilet was yellowish. Plenty of bottles of water in room. Wi-Fi signal irregular.

Buffet breakfast was basic. Dining around the pool was good, dinner portion was large. Dinning service was a hit and miss. Sometimes the service was efficient and sometimes not so attentive.

From 8pm onwards on the weekends, they have a live band playing 80's music by the pool which doesn't stop till almost 1am. The loud music made it impossible to rest up early. If you plan to stay at this hotel on a weekend, make sure you don't get a room near the pool area.

The hotel appeared to be safe and secured. A security guard was on duty at all time by the elevator.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool area on the weekend.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I'm from the UK and I've been staying here on and off for the past 10 years and I wouldn't change hotels in Georgrtown. If anything, it's gone down in my estimations simply because it's tried to conform to the 'international standard'. I'm in Guyana, why should I want a US/European hotel? Embrace the differences, all the essentials in a hotel are here. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the service and food is good and the atmosphere is truly form Guyana. The only reason why I haven't given it five stars is because the bar and reception have lost their character. Stay here if you have any soul whatsoever and want to embrace the Caribbean culture, if not stay in the new 'international' hotel that will be opening next door. Having just come from Texas this hotel is a real breath of fresh air.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Ffishslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed in the pegasus several times over 5 years and i can see that they are working to "try" and update the hotel. Several of the rooms have been updated with some still waiting to be done. unfortuantely i was allocated one of the units waiting :( With that said the finishes in the updated rooms leave alot to be desired but we must remain mindful this is a developing country. Food is pleasant but quite expensive for what it is. The pizza is done well and always a safe bet. Staff in the outside restaurant need to pay more attention to servicing their customers as there is often a long time between drinks and/or dinner. Cleanliness in the general area of the hotel is quite good but unfortunately as you will note from my uploaded photos some of the rooms need help. Advise do not stay in a room at the rear of the hotel as oh lord the generator is noisy at night.

Room Tip: do not choose the rear of the hotel due to generator noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Pegasus is one of the more popular hotels in Georgetown. The restaurants are good. The room i stayed in was an executive room. The room was a good size with all the amenities you come to expect. The wifi connection was good. The hotel needs to pay attention to the areas in the room not in plain site. For instance there were scoff marks and dirty curtains.

However you will be comfortable here once you can get pass the issues above. Bed was comfortable and clean, including the bathrooms.

I would recommend but with the Marriott opening (under construction about 1 block down), Pegasus has its work cut out for it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Ravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I am here for the last few days on business. The hotel is old but the room and bathroom are large and bed is comfortable, TV has some US channels and it faces the pool.

The food in the restaurant is local and an average attempt to have some international aspect to some of the dishes.

The gym is surprisingly new and with more equipment than other "five star" hotels.

The price here is salty... Location is the best in town.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms facing the pool, not the ocean, too much noise from the engine room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our Stay was a wonderful one. The service and the staff was excellent. Nakita and Tyrone was a pleasure to work with. Nikita listened to us and complet our request (ie. the room of our choice). The hotel staff saw I need to use my blow dryer and brought me a large mirror so I could use my blow dryer in the room, since I couldn't use it in the washroom.


Regards,
Nari & Husband

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guyana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
4.5 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
1.2 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Hotel Guyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Hotel Guyana

Address: Seawall Road | Kingston, Georgetown 101147, Guyana
Phone Number:
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: £136 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegasus Hotel Guyana 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the delta of the Demerara River and the Atlantic Ocean- the Pegasus Hotel Guyana holds the most stunning seascape views. Within walking distance of many of the major commercial and tourist sites. The hotel is centrally located in the city of Georgetown- making it an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers to Guyana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pegasus Hotel Georgetown
Le Meridien Georgetown
Georgetown Le Meridien
Pegasus Hotel Guyana Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing