We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cara Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Last night was my first ever visit to Cara Lodge and it was an absolute treat. I loved almost everything about the place - the fence, the gate, the lone pole with lights in the shrubs, the wood around the windows, the section of the restaurant with the bottles, the brick columns in the restaurant, the mango tree, the list goes on.

Four of us went for dinner. The food was pretty good and as expected; the service was great too. My favourite thing was probably the garlic pork appetizer. Funny that the menu said it was something truly Guyanese - I was completely unaware of its existence prior to last night, much less that it's popular in Guyana.

Truly a unique experience. And I'm so happy we have a place like this in Guyana. I might have a new favourite.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RajivDoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    70
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
20
37
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Thank you Gavin and all staff members at the Cara Lodge hotel for your kind and gracious attitude towards my sister, brother and I, including our guests who stayed at the hotel for our mum's funeral. You went beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was comfortable. Your excellent customer service was most appreciated

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We prefer "boutique" hotels with local character but with services beyond what an inn or a bread and breakfast can offer. So glad friends recommended Cara Lodge! We stayed in a large, comfortable, well-appointed second floor corner room. Traveling throughout the Caribbean as much as we do, the impeccably clean, mosquito-free, air conditioned environment was a joy. As was the updated modern bathroom.

Also loved the decor and furnishings, which we were told are all locally produced by Guyanese designers.

Front desk, restaurant and housekeeping staff provided whatever extra touches we wanted promptly and with a great attitude (extra towels, drinks sent up, walking tour information, etc.). We really liked the historic character and that the owners often stop by the restaurant.

We will be back at Cara Lodge any time our travels bring us back to Georgetown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imaginata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a very comfortable stay before and after our wonderful trip to the interior at this charming hotel. We really appreciated the hot shower and air conditioning especially upon our return! We were able to leave a bag at the hotel during our trip. The beds were great, the food good and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 201. Very small and had a loud vibrating, hum coming from the ceiling. We reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
588 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay but the dogs barking all night spoilt the experience. Good food and enjoyed sitting outside to eat with the added bonus of an outside bar. Rooms adequate but clean. The staff were very accommodating and the food was okay, not a great deal of choice in Georgetown but this is more than an acceptable hotel. 'Twas only the blessed dogs barking that tried to spoil the experience, not the hotels dogs but a neighbours who takes in strays.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
828 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Cara Lodge is a comfortable stay. The rooms are sizeable, air conditioned, and the linens are clean. The inside courtyard surrounding an old mango tree in charming. Each room has a well stocked mini refrigerator. My hot shower both days was divine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed a total of three nights at this hotel during my nature tour of Guyana.

This is a very comfortable hotel with an historic past, definitely not a stock Hilton or Holiday premises. Good quality rooms with decent bathrooms and toiletries. Comfortable beds. We ate in the restaurant and the quality of the food was superb, some of the best encountered in the country. The same at breakfast, where you have a choice of some lovely hot individual dishes (the poached Red Snapper was a real treat).

The staff are friendly and efficient. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity and it was recommended to take a short taxi ride to these venues as it did not appear to be very safe at night in some areas.

Overall a comfortable hotel with a three/four star rating in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Cara Lodge back onto residential areas so can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1.0 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0.7 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.6 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#6 of 19 in Georgetown
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#7 of 19 in Georgetown
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara Lodge

Property: Cara Lodge
Address: 294 Quamina St, Georgetown, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history aficionado will appreciate a stay at Cara Lodge, Guyana. It is one of the oldest and grandest structures in Georgetown, and is the best known and most popular hotel in Guyana. Cara Lodge was built in the 1840s and originally consisted of two houses. It has a long and romantic history and was the home of the first Lord Mayor of Georgetown. Over the years, the property has been visited by many dignitaries including King Edward VII who stayed at the house in 1923. He was of course later to abdicate and marry the American Wallis Simpson. Other dignitaries have included President Jimmy Carter in 1996, HRH Prince Charles in April 2000, HRH Prince Andrew in 2004 and Mick Jagger in 2005. This magnificent home turned hotel offers the tradition and nostalgia of a bygone era, complete with service and comfort of the most luxurious of hotels, all in a most congenial family atmosphere. Our signature dining establishment, the Bottle Restaurant, has been hailed as the best restaurant in the capital. It is open for lunch and dinner everyday, except Sundays. At Cara Lodge, we have worked hard to create a setting that is the perfect marriage of old world charm and contemporary comfort – ideal for the traveller wishing to experience a taste of Guyana’s past, and the business person wishing modern-day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Georgetown
Cara Lodge Guyana/Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing