We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience to remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

lovely place to stay for those who wants to be oneself with a touch of nature its like a garden of eden feel free ,book now go relax and unwind ,the staff goes out of thier way to make sure you are comfortable thanks to tauna,sherlene ,sharon,tina ,mohan the guy they called thier boss that hooked up the speakers on the computer for me ,and even the gardener that just passing bye asking if you are okay i say to you thanks a million , you made my stay a memorable one love you guys iwill be back.

Room Tip: ilove just where we were on top of the office in a double room the breeze on top of the balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank empress152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our family visits Guyana several times each year, and we have stayed in various hotels and guesthouses around the country over the past five years. We stayed at the Herdmanston at the end of March for 5 nights due to it's overall good reviews and decent location within Georgetown. We were not disappointed. From their driver picking us up at the airport from a late flight, to terrific front desk and security staff, the customer service was wonderful, particularly for Guyana. The room was first rate; the common area verandah on the second floor was very pleasant, and the wifi was fast and consistent. The Herdmanston will definately be our lodging of choice in Georgetown in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Visited Guyana for a tour of the Demerara Distillery and stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights. The check-in was very easy. Apparently I had the best room at the Lodge, number 5. High ceilings, wood floors, big shower, great AC, fridge, cable TV, etc. You have to order breakfast and dinner beforehand, which is a great idea as the food is always ready when you walk over to the restaurant. The curries are great as were the fish cakes. The unlimited coffee for breakfast was much appreciated.
This is not the Ritz but ALL the staff make up for any deficiencies.
Just remember you need $4000 Guyanese departure tax when leaving the airport, approximately $US20.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank conkyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Hermanston Lodge is a good hotel which is a reasonable choice. It is an old plantation property so the buildings are older but in good condition. Our family of three stayed there for several days. They gave us a double room but with a difference - there were two rooms separated by a short corridor, inside the room. It worked very well for our 15 year old having some privacy. The second room didn't have a TV but it did have the microwave and fridge. We also had a nice balcony we could use (but couldn't get the door open as lock too hard to open).
We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. It gave the hotel a real family feeling. They were willing, although not always following through (e.g. extra pillows took two days and an extra call to get). Internet and a/c good. The breakfast was very good and dinner reasonably good. Meals can be served in your room. Attractive garden. They were very helpful at the front desk in booking tours, although they didn't try all tour companies and didn't get us to Kaiteur Falls - the highlight of the region. (Book ahead.)
The bedding is older but the beds are comfortable. Use the mosquito net or spray.
Overall not fancy but friendly and good.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter. The windows are very thin. For a family we liked the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HelenBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel with unbelievable service. Every single person on staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and clean, A/C and internet work perfectly. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After being away from home for 14 years, this hotel was a added gem bonus. The executive room was spacious, this one had 2 bdrm. which was great for family. Well lite surroundings and secuirty both day and night; felt quite safe at hotel and surrounding queens town. Breakfast was to die for, would walk a mile for the saltfish & bake, and stewfish and provision. Sundays they have a brunch a must. The kitchen staff made our stay enjoyable especially Ms. Edna, Ms. Tina & Ms. Linda. And the reception staff were very helpful include Tuana, Michele & Ajay. The taxi guy Sean we used were very helpful and reasonably price. We will stay here again on our next visit; all they need is a pool to beat the heat and the breakfast should be added to the price, so to incouarge you to eat there.

Room Tip: Family excutive suite, 2 bdrm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happytravelersx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

this is a charming hotel with great staff. don´t be afraid of staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missibehavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
5 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#3 of 21 in Georgetown
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels

Address: 65 Peter Rose & Anira Streets | Queenstown, Georgetown, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate heritage hotel in Guyana, Herdmanston prides itself in excellent guest service. One of only a few Guyana hotels that has maintained Guyana's distinctive colonial architecture. Herdmanston hotel is perched within extensive lawns and garden which is home to some of the gentle flora and fauna of central Georgetown. While our lawns and gardens are spacious, our small hotel size allows us to offer to our guests personalized service catering for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdmanston Hotel Georgetown
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels Georgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing