We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet an adventure!”

Brownsberg Nature Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.75*
and up
Browns-Mountain Day Trip from Paramaribo
Ranked #13 of 68 things to do in Suriname
Attraction details
Paramaribo, Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet an adventure!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We live in Paramaribo and often on weekend we go "jungle bashing". We didn't book tour but went there with our 4WD truck.It was our second trip there, first overnight stay. Road this time was very good even without 4WD car. Accommodation in rooms is only for booked tours from Paramaribo.
We were lucky we got there and get 'accommodation', with is a roof over head, attached kitchen, running water and gas cooker with all basic dishes. It could sleep 6 people in hammocks but it was only 2 of us. We had our own hammocks but you can get it on spot.
bathroom, shower with only cold water is only few meters. You need to bring all toiletries and some warm clothes for sleeping if you are use to warm weather. I had thin quilt to wrap myself into it. Even in dry season it rains sometimes quite heavily (we got soaked, combat boots filled with water), and drying your clothes is possible only on sun.
Walking through jungle is a life experience. Lots of birds, but as all animals they are high in huge, very tall trees.In 2 days we seen 4 different species of monkeys and rare Ornate Hawk-Eagle. If you love nature, humid jungle is beautiful place to spent few days. Hiking to many waterfalls, get refreshed , have a "shower" under the fall.There are few places with view on Brokopondo reservoir. All roads through the jungle are well marked. I have seen many tourist walking in flip-flops! Bad thing! You really need proper closed shoes and repellent.
On the entry we paid for car, us and accommodation . All came to less than 50 USD! (150 SRD)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Nature & Friendly people”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went with Jenny Tours, booked on www.brownsberg-suriname.com +597 8858495, very nice guide, good 4wd drive bus on the bad road up the mountain. Wasn't scared one moment, the drive drove very calm an professional. The guide was very nice to us, food was divers, lots of fruit, nice and good meals. I went only to the Leo-vallen and the Masaroni-top. The Irene-falls was too much for me. At the top I loved the view on the mountain over the resevoir. Nice tour, very professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid natural rainforest experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Animals, excellent views, amazing trees, wonderful hiking and refreshing waterfalls... and an great cook. What else do you need...? The bungalows are basic but provide excellent views on the forest and the lake. If you only visit for one day make sure to hike to one of the waterfalls or the splendid viewing point which is only a quarter of an hour from the central area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mopeint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“amazing nature”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We went there with a guide (Ronny from All suriname tours tel.05978644785) that we booked from Zus en Zo.Its relatively close to Paramaribo about 1-1.5 drive but if youre not familiar with rough terrains it's better not to attempt it with a rental car or by yourself.you can also walk to the park just make sure u have enough water with you and you start early in the morning when the temperatures are not that high.The park is basic,it has rooms and toilet and shower and a restaurant.We went for hikes in the jungle and saw monkeys on the trees,and also really close on the trees next to the camp.Also tarantulas and venomous frogs.theres an amazing variety of trees and birds spieces and lizards and insects aswell.We went to the Irene fall ,its quite a hike although its just about 2km far but its worth it.there u can relax and go refresh yourself under the waterfall.Our guide knew alot of info about the flora and the fauna of the park and answered all our questions.I would totally recommend to go there and also take a hike down to the lake (which we didnt do,but for sure next time)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fossegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
565 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Scary Trip”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Our 4WD bus could barely make it up the mussy road to the preserve. We could feel the wheels slipping and at one point, our bus nearly made it to the edge of a cliff. I think they need to maintain that road much better if they expect tourists to come up that mountain!
The walk to the falls was also precarious. There was no warning about how dangerous and difficult it was. Some of our group had to turn back.
However, lunch at the restaurant was good and the view over the lake was gorgeous. You will need a drink or 2 after you make that drive and hike!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brownsberg Nature Park also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Suriname, South America
 
Suriname, South America
 

Been to Brownsberg Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing