We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better options in Paramaribo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Paramaribo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This Courtyard Marriott is a little remote from downtown but offers a quiet and relaxing stay. It is in a nice and safe neighborhood. Downtown is about a 10-15 minute ride via Taxi. The hotel is only a few years old and is consistent with the Courtyard brand. The rooms were nicely appointed, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. The rooms did include a refrigerator which was great for storing beverages. There is a pool and the food there was average. There is better local food to be found outside of the hotel. For Indonesian food, I prefer Miroso in Blauwgrond. Also great food at a restaurant in Fort Zeelandia. Don't remember the name but it is the only restaurant there.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business or first time visitors to Suriname.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are consistently quiet. I had a street view room. Rooms facing the river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yojude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had a lovely stay. Just the perfect type of hotel that I wanted. Value for money. All the courtyard's by Marriott are extremely value for money. They may not be as luxury as the other Marriott hotels, but courtyard just compromises it all.
The rooms were cosy, spacious, clean. They were well maintained. Staff was very hospitable. All our extra demands and requests were met by the staff. They were friendly, helpful, cheerful.
Fort Zeelandia, Royal Pal Garden, Suriname museum all are not very far away from the hotel.
Flavors restaurant - a multicuisine restaurant, had amazing food. Food was fresh, well prepared and sumptuous.
For dining nearby there is: chi min - chinese restaurant, log house - international cuisine, cosa nostra - italian food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Hotel staff makes this place hands down! It's located on the river away from the noise of downtown. This also makes the hotel a lot safer. It's not the nicest Marriott ever, but it's great in comparison to other hotels in the area. I especially enjoyed the faulous breakfast in the mornings and the pool bar. The only big reccomendation to them would be that they need some sort of AC in the fitness room. Great place to stay for business though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed here twice now, and totally enjoyed my stay. Rooms were clean and although not spacious - quite adequate for comfortable. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and fresh towels replenished. It was 5-7 mins drive from the town and cost $4.00. The meals were priced affordable for a hotel and tasted great for the most part. A small but nice selection of wines is available and breakfast - although a bit repetitive - was delicious with a hint of local flavours! and fresh fruits were always available. Room service is available at no extra cost. I stayed in a single queen room, which was very good for my stay. There are no activities at this hotel - but there is a free shuttle service to a hub of activities. The ready availability of taxis was a plus. Transport to and from the Airport was aranged by the hotel for a fee of US20.00. Front desk was pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Courtyard is definitely your choice hotel if you love a calm and quiet location while you are at Paramaribo. There is shuttle service to the airport. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The hotel provides excellent service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with soft beds, furniture, refrigerator, LCD TV, locker, etc. You get free access to internet in your room. I did not go for a swim, the swimming pool looked crystal clear and inviting though. I used the fitness centre which had modern machines and amenities. I had a peaceful stay at this place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagger89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have stayed at the Torarico and The Residence on a past visit and as I was staying for over 2 weeks this time was desperate to find somewhere quieter and more comfortable. The Courtyard definitely filled the bill, superb bed, quiet location, excellent service the only drawback was the food which I found tasteless and over priced - it was presented well though!! Forced to eat out at different restaurants I had an amazing stay and sampled various cuisines - ALL delicious but Martins' Thai restaurant was the best without doubt. Looking forward to January........

Room Tip: I had a top floor river view as I wanted quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Just returned form a wondeful trip to Paramaribo and a relaxing stay at this relatively new Marriott property. Compared with the other hotels in the Surinam this one has great rooms for reasonable prices. However, we used our Marriott Rewards points to pay for the stay. Please check the special MR offer: pay 4 nights & get an extra night for free!
The rooms are huge and contain the usual Courtyard items like a fridge, working desk, LCD tv, a safe big enough for your laptop and free use of the internet. Another great plus are the modern fitness equipment, a decent pool, free wireless internet in the lobby, an ATM and a complimentary shuttle service to the city center which runs almost every 2 hours from 7:00-23:00. My advice, do book the shuttle in advance at the reception ,because the minibus will not automatically show up in front of the hotel!

As with all hotels there are always some points that can be improved. Eg. the dining & bar service. Do not expect service on a constant level. Sometimes it can take a long time before the staff is able to make a simple thing like a cup of coffee. On the other hand the quality of the food is okay. Do try the chicken satay, which is very delicious! For breakfast the Courtyard is also the place to be. For US$ 12 plus taxes you can enjoy the buffet. It offers cold cuts, various sorts of breads, fruits and yoghurt, warm meat and fish rolls an egg station and some local warm dishes like noodles/chicken/fish (if that is your cup of tea in the morning).

The cost for picking you up from the J.A. Pengel airport is US$ 15 per person, which can be charged to your room. You can arrange it by calling the hotel a couple of days before arrival. My advice is to make use of this service which avoids stress and money. The local taxi drivers are often asking you more for the one hour ride to the hotel.

Around the hotel there is not really a lot to do. You can take a little walk to the best Chinese restaurant in town called Chi Min and a little supermarket which is just a couple of doors next to the restaurant. Do not expect a bus stop either. So do make use of the shuttle bus which takes you to the Krasnapolsky hotel, but you can also ask the driver to stop on the way to the center. Places like the charming Waterkant, Fort Zeelandia and the popular cafe 'Het Vat' or the famous Torarica hotel & casino can be reached very easily that way.

The Courtyard is a good choice if you are planning a visit to Paramribo. It is safe, clean, has a friendly staff and offers reasonable rates. Although it would have been nicer if the breakfast was included in the price of the room. Perhaps the local touroperators can offer you a nice rate which includes this. Also expect everything priced in US$. It is a lot cheaper (at least less 50% compared with the hotel) to by bottles of water, beverages and snacks at the regular supermarkets which are plentiful available throughout the city. Another tip, if you do not want to dine in the hotel restaurant, just call a taxi driver to deliver some food from the many tasty restaurants that Paramaribo offers. A great number of them offer take away service which is very populair with the locals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flightpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 32 in Paramaribo
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 32 in Paramaribo
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 32 in Paramaribo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#14 of 32 in Paramaribo
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#5 of 32 in Paramaribo
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 32 in Paramaribo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paramaribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paramaribo

Address: Anton Dragtenweg 52-54, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: £107 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Paramaribo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Paramaribo is a business-hotel in Suriname for goal-oriented travelers who want more out of each stay. We recognize your success by surrounding you with the right blend of attentive services and casually cool places that invite you to enjoy your accomplishments. The Courtyard has a bold style that shines through in our decor, innovative amenities and demeanor. We know what our guests want and provide them with many options so they can stay productive and still have time for fun! Our hotel features 140 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Flavors Restaurant, Rivierview Patio, Lobby Bar, complimentary high speed internet, a business center, Fitness Center, The Market (24/7 mini-market), banquet rooms complimentary parking and complimentary down-town city shuttle. All this is enhanced by well-trained staff that provide the best personalized service with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Paramaribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramaribo Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing