We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Paramaribo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and comfortable.Staff was very helpful and friendly.A typical Courtyard.Food was absolutely tasty.Just needed a bit more variety at breakfast.Has a pool and a typical Marriott gym.Location is great if you want it to be quiet and close to town but not in walking distance

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

The rooms are decent, similar to any other Courtyard; however a humidity/musty smell is pretty strong when you walk into the room.

The people made the difference for me!...the staff at the restaurant and coffee bar are nice and helpful.

The lady making coffee even remembered how I liked the coffee and number of creams and sugars I wanted in my cappuccino!. While eating the lunch buffet they explained the origin and ingredients of the different dishes and made sure I was happy with my choices......

My only issue was that I left behind (and lost) a Polo branded shirt (I used it the last night I was there). I called and someone told me they would check and call me back (to Florida). They did, but were not able to find my shirt......

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Fsucre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had a pleasant stay at the hotel! Great food(fresh salads), nice pool and also a cozy Gym.
Friendly and helpful Staff who always were willing to assist. It was like a big happy family and felt like i've been there for a while. Loved it, I sure would stay once again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A typical Courtyard,no real surprises.A little higher priced than an unbranded similar hotel but reliable.
The breakfast was good,pool is adequate although on Sundays they should restrict locals who take all the chairs.The gym is good and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are good with one exception which is mentioned in many reviews.The rooms have a mouldy smell due to some problem with the a/c system.It is producing a lot of condensation in the rooms.
It is a bit of a long walk to a choice of restaurants and the restaurant is expensive for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here in April and June 2013. It's been my second home in Paramaribo. Highly recommended for very good reasons:
a) Cozy and very comfortable - great bed sheets, duvet, bed, shower, etc. hard to find comfort when you are away from home ..This hotel has a very cozy and family style atmosphere.
b)very accommodating staff and exceptional personalized service - to the point: amazing staff!! My plane was delayed by one day, I called the hotel in the middle of night - was able to get through right away to the reception. Normally, this never happens! Then, the GM made sure the airport shuttle arrived on time - it was my first time to Paramaribo and I was traveling alone, so its very comforting to know that the hotel staff are looking out for you. I stayed there for two weeks and then came back a month later and the staff still remembered my name! I have yet to experience this level of service in other places - so far, only Courtyard Marriott Paramaribo :)
c) great food and beverages - nice breakfast, good selection; great smoothies made with real fruits and always served with a smile. Staff are courteous and polite; chef will make food according to allergies, etc. I am a picky eater - and kitchen is very accommodating on that end.
d) great gym - small but clean. Never crowded. Towels and water provided.
e) awesome pool with best bartenders! Love coming here on weekends - great music, cocktails and pool is always clean!! Nice lounge chairs too - great place to unwind and enjoy the weekend. Beautiful view of the river never hurts too!

All in all, very happy with my stay here in April and in June 2013. I am now a frequent customer - its my home away from home. I love it in Suriname and I must say that it is very much attributed to my stay at the hotel, friends I've made there and the great ambiance.

Room Tip: Room tips - get a river view room! So worth it. Start your morning with a splendid sunset and conclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Avoid this hotel like the plague.

They are a dishonest bunch of lying thieves. I stayed there for 7 nights and my reservation booked online indicated that breakfast was included. When I checked in I was asked to sign a check-in form and nowhere did it state that breakfast was not included.

Upon checking out, I was asked to pay $120 for breakfast and magically there was a chop on my check-in sheet that indicated breakfast was not included.

Our party included 2 rooms and i can understand if one of us would have missed a "breakfast not included" stamp but not both.

I asked for a delayed checkout at 2pm and was told that would be ok. When I finally did check out, there was a $25 late-checkout charge.

I insisted on seeing the manager, a guy named Neil Standlone or something like that. He was equally rude and quite a displeasure to deal with.

I normally stay with the IHG group of hotels but decided to go with the mariott this time. Never again will i step foot into another mariott hotel. An utterly distasteful experience.

If you are in Paramaribo and want a hotel go stay at the Royal Torrarica instead. A much better location (near food, shops etc), staff is much more friendly and you wont get cheated.

Totally appalled at how a big chain operates a hotel like this....!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prem_Chandiramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Respone, Manager at Courtyard Paramaribo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Please allow us to respond to this review.
Please rest assured that we are continuously striving towards service excellence. Our associates are friendly and honest as most reviews confirm. This particular guest had no notification that breakfast was included, as a matter of fact he booked through Expedia which is room only. The guest was originally charged a late check out fee since he checked out after 2 PM however this charge was immediately taken off. Thank you and we are looking forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Room was clean, Pool area was good and outside snack bar. Reception bar was good and food in dining room. Stayed here on business. Transfer arranged from airport by the hotel and was VERY good. They were waiting for me at night with a board with my name on even though it took ages getting through passport control. Staff on reception friendly. Bed was comfortable.
Had a river view room on top floor which had great views and a sunny outlook.
Would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: River View, Upper floor. Nice views out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#9 of 31 in Paramaribo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paramaribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paramaribo

Address: Anton Dragtenweg 52-54, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: £106 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Paramaribo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Paramaribo is a business-hotel in Suriname for goal-oriented travelers who want more out of each stay. We recognize your success by surrounding you with the right blend of attentive services and casually cool places that invite you to enjoy your accomplishments. The Courtyard has a bold style that shines through in our decor, innovative amenities and demeanor. We know what our guests want and provide them with many options so they can stay productive and still have time for fun! Our hotel features 140 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Flavors Restaurant, Rivierview Patio, Lobby Bar, complimentary high speed internet, a business center, Fitness Center, The Market (24/7 mini-market), banquet rooms complimentary parking and complimentary down-town city shuttle. All this is enhanced by well-trained staff that provide the best personalized service with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Paramaribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramaribo Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing