We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Paramaribo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

the rooms are nice. The restaurant is good. The personnel is nice.
The swimmming pool is crowded and as such unconfortable. Many seem to be" there despite note besoin clients.
The tables at the pool bad are too loud to be a good place for working

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Paramaribo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for four nights and enjoyed it. I had a room with a balcony, it was more than big enough and both clean and comfortable. The entire hotel (including the balconies) is non-smoking and there's a $250 fine for smoking in your room but smoking is allowed both outside the front of the hotel and at the poolside bar, which is open all the time. Breakfasts are nice, the dinner menu is good (though not extensive)--I recommend the chili prawns and the jerk pork--and the staff are friendly and helpful. I'll be back in Paramaribo and I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've been at this hotel now 3 times in the last 4 months. The rooms are nice, the internet is good and the front desk is responsive. The restaurant is okay - menu doesn't change much and they often don't have items available that are listed on the menu. The staff is friendly though - but service can be slow. It certainly isn't fast food in the restaurant.

The workout room is nicely appointed and overlooks the pool. The bar there is nice and the drinks were well made. I would definitely stay there for both business and vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here for Christmas 2013. Booked direct on Marriott website since their price included breakfast (other websites were quoting the same price without breakfast). Paid $590 including tax. I chose a double room with 1 king bed so it was very spacious, I think the room would have felt cramped with 2 queen beds in it. I did not go for river view and am glad. Although the balcony they have would have been nice those rooms are overlooking the pool and below is the pool bar so probably noisy. My room #623 was quiet, positioned on the side of the building looking north had a view of the city looking left and the river looking right. Rome was clean and in room tea and coffee was nice although it is also available in the lobby. Check in and out was efficient. Breakfast very nice with local dishes as well as western. Only a couple of things I didn't like - the air con was on too high so impossible to be comfortable inside. We switched it if in the room but it did not warm up much. There was a slight odd smell in the room which I got used to. Housekeeping are not very consistent with changing towels, first day they did not leave face cloths and the second day did not leave any towels at all so I had to phone for them. I had some laundry done, it came back the next day on hangers but had not been dried so smelled damp. 15 min walk gets you into town, no sidewalk but it's OK. We got the shuttle back to the airport and that was efficient. I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here in May 2013. It was extremely comfortable, nice clean rooms, great decor. Breakfast is extensive with lots of variety, hotel shuttle to and from the airport which is great for the business traveller. This is a convenient hotel for the business traveller because it is in Paramaribo, the city centre of Suriname. There's a business centre at the front of the lobby where you can browse the internet, send faxes etc and internet is available in rooms at no extra cost. All in all a good stay, relatively good service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here for a week on business trip. Check in was smooth, Room was clean, Barfridge doesn't work, Lots of channels on the TV have a bad signal. Cleaning staff just walked into the room without knocking. Breakfast is really good with a nice selection. The pool is also nice and clean, Pool Bar serves nice and cold drinks, but don't expect the barman to come to the loungers, you have to go to the bar to order.
They have a mystery accounting system, as the front desk cannot explain why certain bills had $ 0.01 added to it,while others not, she ensured me it is not a rounding of, and they know about it, but can't explain it. Had to wait one afternoon for an hour for a ice cold pizza. The rest of the time the food was good, hot and tasty. The staff in the dining room is really very friendly, helpfull and attentive to what is going on, They strive to serve the clients in the dining room and is making a good job of it.

Room Tip: Do not take a room at the end of the passage by the Ice machine room, it is noisy, Rooms X28. Also...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Local Surinamese cuisine in hotel restaurant is delicious and a nice treat. I wish all Marriotts had the same quality of local dishes. This is as good as other restaurants in the area. Clearly, reviewers who did not like the food were not open to trying local dishes and were only ordering items that were USA related.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mossless-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
268 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#11 of 31 in Paramaribo
31 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Babylon
Hotel Babylon
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paramaribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paramaribo

Address: Anton Dragtenweg 52-54, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: £85 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Paramaribo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Paramaribo is a business-hotel in Suriname for goal-oriented travelers who want more out of each stay. We recognize your success by surrounding you with the right blend of attentive services and casually cool places that invite you to enjoy your accomplishments. The Courtyard has a bold style that shines through in our decor, innovative amenities and demeanor. We know what our guests want and provide them with many options so they can stay productive and still have time for fun! Our hotel features 140 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Flavors Restaurant, Rivierview Patio, Lobby Bar, complimentary high speed internet, a business center, Fitness Center, The Market (24/7 mini-market), banquet rooms complimentary parking and complimentary down-town city shuttle. All this is enhanced by well-trained staff that provide the best personalized service with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Paramaribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramaribo Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing