We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Paramaribo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

An excellent hotel with great staff. Rooms are cleam and comfortable. No balconies for all rooms, however a large pool and terrace are available

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed for 7 days in May and must say that we had a great time there. The overall service was very good. With well-trained, very friendly and helpful staff. It’s worth a compliment.
The room was clean, spacious with nice furniture and a great bed.
Breakfast was also very good.

We selected this hotel for it’s location, not too far from the entertainment centre. There is also a complimentary Shuttle service to the centre. The location was perfect for us and we really enjoyed
our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wmrambin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This was the hotel we were waiting for so long. Great personnel, great services, great prices, great pool, great room, not too far walking from the city, great food, and great stay.

Just regretting that it will get too full given this reference.... You made our week stay in Paramaribo unforgettable, Marriott Courtyard!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We looked at many hotels when we were planning our trip to Suriname. We luckily decided to stay at the Marriott Courtyard Paramaribo when we were in the city. The location is just north of the city on the beautiful Suriname River in an upscale neighborhood.
There is a taxi stand just outside the entrance and there was always a taxi to take us (reasonably) where we wanted to go. We also walked to town and caught the bus which will stop right out front.
The staff was courteous, friendly and went out of their way to take care of us. The air conditioning was vigorous and reliable, which in Suriname is of utmost importance. The rooms were extremely clean, new,large, and comfortable and well maintained.
We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning with fresh pineapple, mango, grapefruit and watermelon. You could have a cold breakfast for approximately $8.00 AD that include breads cereals, meats, and pastries along with the fruit, juice and coffee.
The pool was terrific, had a view of the river, with a lovely bar that served food and drink. The workout room had flat screen tv's and modern equipment.
The general manager greeted us numerous times and inquired about our well being. There are four computers in the lobby that have good internet connection for guests use.
We cannot say enough good about this hotel. Have the hotel arrange your trip to the airport...you will save big bucks. Our taxi driver waited 21/2hours when our plane arrived late at 3:30 in the morning. Be sure to have the staff arrange a day to the adventure center in Bergendal to zipline across the Suriname River.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RixsRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Compared to some hotels in SUR where service and amenities are - to say the least - lacking, the new Marriott Courtyard is a dream. Fast check-in, spotless rooms, decent internet, good food. As of spring 2010 this is a nearly brand new hotel, so it definitely sparkles.

Really the only downside here is that it's a generic Marriott property with absolutely no charm or personality whatsoever. The room looks like every other newer Marriott room around the world. That's kind of a shame when you travel to such an out-of-the-way place but get no local pizazz for the trouble. But for some travelers, access to a reliable and comfortable hotel may be the priority in which case you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Small quibbles: no wireless internet available during our stay: had to plug in to the supplied cable connection. At least it was free. Also, hot water was a bit spotty and wake up call came 15 minutes late.

The Toraricas, Spanhoek, and Krasnapolsky are all within easy walking distance of the action in Parimaribo.... the Marriott is a bit further afield, requiring a taxi or the free shuttle to see things on foot. The $10 airport transfer is a very good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRMinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in the Courtyard Marriott in Paramaribo Suriname. The airport shuttle was excellent both up and down at only Us$10,- . The rooms are spacious, only small disadvantage is that your hear noise from the central airco system on the topfloor. Service is perfect as is the restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Did not take diner. Hotel has taxi's available on site. Taxi's have no meter so negotiate price before you leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Very good hotel with good service. Wireless internet in the lobby is a big plus!! very fast connection.I have stayed there for 8 nights and for the last 2 nights I got a upgrade to a Room on the 5th floor with a balcony and riverview, which was super!! I have stayed in the Royal Torarica as well but I must say I felt more comfortable at the Courtyard . I think the people who are working there are very friendly!

I will definitely will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soraya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Babylon
Hotel Babylon
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Paramaribo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Paramaribo

Address: Anton Dragtenweg 52-54, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: £97 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Paramaribo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Paramaribo is a business-hotel in Suriname for goal-oriented travelers who want more out of each stay. We recognize your success by surrounding you with the right blend of attentive services and casually cool places that invite you to enjoy your accomplishments. The Courtyard has a bold style that shines through in our decor, innovative amenities and demeanor. We know what our guests want and provide them with many options so they can stay productive and still have time for fun! Our hotel features 140 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, Flavors Restaurant, Rivierview Patio, Lobby Bar, complimentary high speed internet, a business center, Fitness Center, The Market (24/7 mini-market), banquet rooms complimentary parking and complimentary down-town city shuttle. All this is enhanced by well-trained staff that provide the best personalized service with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Paramaribo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Paramaribo Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing