We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Suriname standards? Excellent”
Review of Royal Torarica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Torarica
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“For Suriname standards? Excellent”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

By reviewing this hotel, I assumed Suriname standards.
Yes for such a expensive hotel is is maybe not perfect. But this is Suriname. That means the barman can forget your order, or it takes some time before they operate.
But for the rest:
The location is perfect, you can walk to the centre of Paramaribo, but still quiet;
A fantastic pool
Very safe

Room Tip: at the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    90
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
53
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I note that compared to other reviews, 'average' seems a bit low but I would say its on the cusp of 'very good'.
Pro's:
Good location on the river a short walk from the attractions.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Nice pool area and gardens.
Free wifi.

Con's:
Rooms are basic ( I had a 'Royal' room. Don't know how that compares to other rooms)
Room smells damp, especially the bathroom and wardrobes. (Same in my colleagues rooms) Probably due to the time of year.
Noisy rooms even with the AC off.
A bit pricey in the bar & resteraunt but not extortionate.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NickM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is about an hour drive from the International airport and they actually arranged my pickup. The room was clean and average for the two nights i spent. There is a casino attached just a few steps outside. The restaurant provided very tasty food and they have a very nice pond with lots of koi fish. Service was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Too noisy (they pick up rooms service after midnight, but it had been all day in the corridor), they take too long to serve any dinner, which by the way is very expensive and very small portions (I waited for more than an hour for a tiny portion of fish with 1 soup spoon of risotto), the breakfast is really poor for the quality of hotel they claim to be.

And today the cherry of the cake: they are hosting a fashion event, not in a private salon, which they have many, but on the main gallery where I usually have dinner. So I cannot eat there, I cannot go to the gym (it's the only path), I cannot go to the pool terrace to watch the stars or the moon, in fact if I want to see the fashion event I also have to pay. And I repeat, it's not in a private salon, it's in the "gallery" of the hotel, needed to go everywhere and mostly used at night. Also, they've been preparing this event the whole weekend, troubling guests with noises, cables everywhere, strange people around the pool, testing sound, etc., but guests are not allowed to watch it without paying extra, not even to compensate all the nuisance caused. So, again, you don't want the guests to attend to the event, then do it in a private salon and don't bother us preparing it !

So, really horrible service for the price of the room.

Nevertheless, is by far much better than the Torarica Casino, so there is not much of a choice here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flopipopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel mainly for work and the service is exceptional. I especially love the hot hand towels in the restaurant and the fact that there is a manager on duty at 2am to make sure you don't miss your flight and to help with check in. As everyone may know flights to and from Suriname tend to be sporadic and very early in he mornings.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from an ophthalmic conference at this hotel.
The hotel met my expectations and beyond!
From the front desk staff to restaurant staff and house keeping all get a thumbd up!
We arrived a day later due to flight delay but we communicated with the hotel and when we arrived the shuttle bus met is staff courteous and even had bottled water for us quickly tagged our luggage got us on the shuttle for the hours drive to hotel.
Check in was swift.
Room was clean stylish and modern. No mosquitoes. A/c worked too well lol.
Food good I had breakfast lunch and dinner at the hotel. Dinning clean.
Conference rooms good staff willing to help.
I walked each morning the property for exercise grounds nice. The gym is small and opened very early.
Would recommend and return to the royal torarica in a heart beat

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaBim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

well well, i was there a couple days ago, may 2013, it a nice an friendly place, breakfast was excellent, its a beautiful place, i love it. the only thing is the airport is far away from the hotel, other than that its all grate, completely different from Trinidad, i like the out door stuff, so after coming out of the Amazon Jungle / Lake, it was just the right place to end up in :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.1 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Paramaribo Princess Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Torarica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Torarica

Property: Royal Torarica
Address: Kleine Waterstraat # 10, Paramaribo P.O. Box 2927, Suriname
Phone Number:
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Torarica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Torarica is the most exclusive and prestigious hotel in Suriname. Our hotel has all the features desired by high-end business travellers, it is also very suitable for holidaymakers with a longing for abundant luxury. The chic hotel with its unique glass elevators and high ceilings bathing in a beautiful starry sky of light will provide you personal service, originality, modern 'state of the art' meeting rooms, high speed Internet and a beautifully designed saltwater swimming pool. Retreating at Royal Torarica will make you feel like royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Torarica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Torarica Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing