We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep expectations grounded and you'll enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Albergo Alberga
Ranked #14 of 38 Paramaribo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall: Average. Good value for your money, clean, simple, excellent location.

Pros: Amazing location, right near the center of it all and a 4 minute walk to the Waterkant (waterfront). Great price (cheap!). Clean. Easy to book, great communication from staff beforehand. Nice veranda to sit on at the top. Excellent wifi (I was on the first floor)

Cons: Super-duper basic. Rooms are more like a stay at the YMCA. Rooms lacked any character or old charm. Old carpet in rooms, instead of the expected hard-wood floors. No hot water (cold showers!). No cable (just broadcast TV) and no telephones in room. Shower literally right next to the bed. Too many mosquitos in room (maybe this is just part of being in Suriname, but surely they can do a better job in controlling the pests inside, no?). The first room I stayed in smelled VERY musty (almost intolerable), but they moved me to a second room that was fine. Very noisy in the morning, depending where your room is.

Notes: My only real disappointment was that this place was not as nice on the inside as it was on the outside. Old cheap carpet was probably the only thing that “stuck out” in a negative way. I mean, here is this beautiful, old, grand house…I expected the rooms to have the classic hard wood floors and a “little” charm from the old days, and it just didn’t. More like a room at the YMCA.

If you book into Algergo Alberga, you have to understand you get what you pay for. This place is super cheap—and it’s clean—so if you’re simply looking for a place to lay your head, and you are on a budget—do it! But if you require any amenities at all, and can’t live without a hot shower, this is not the place for you. Understanding what you’ll get and not get here is a prerequisite.

I did enjoy my stay here overall.

Room Tip: Tell them you do NOT want a "musty" room...they exist there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlowJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

I spent a few days at Albergo Alberga, and I would stay there again. There are some things you should know. The location is great and within walking distance of most things you would want in Paramaribo city. It is in a charming old building, and the verandah, I believe, is the best spot in all of Paramaribo. The breeze is always available on the verandah.

However, as another reviewer notes, the rooms are small, and in the heat get very, very stuffy. I had a room with a fan, and that was quite adequate. I did not need air conditioning while I was there. I did prefer a private bath, however. Breakfast is terrible, and you should only opt for it if you have no other choices, or are really too lazy to go look for breakfast.

Staff are generally helpful and friendly, and will help you with questions you may have about getting around, or make suggestions of things to do. When I was booking my trip from the US, staff were helpful in arranging transportation from the airport.

A word about that - to get from the international airport to town, you can take a shared van or a taxi. Unless you can fill the shared van with your party, take the taxi. I decided to save a little money by taking the shared van, and was rewarded with an extra three hours travel time for my stinginess. The van will not leave before all the assigned passengers are on it, which means if one of your party of strangers is delayed by immigration, or luggage, your entire party is held up. Then, passengers are dropped off in a linear fashion. I was unfortunately the last person to be dropped off, and we spent the better part of an hour looking for an address for which the visitor did not have enough information. It was the middle of the night, so the homeowner had to be roused from bed to give the van driver directions. Anyway, by the time I got into my room in central Paramaribo, the end of the line, it was 4:15 am. I was ready to leave the airport at 12:30 am. The shared van back to the airport was more efficient, because only one other party filled it up. But it dropped us at the airport so early, it wasn't even open yet.

Shuttle woes have nothing to do with the lovely Albergo Alberga staff - just a heads up if you are arranging transport through them. They were spot on with a taxi in town, though.

Room Tip: At a minimum, get a room with a fan, if not A/C. There is a tight spiral stairs up to the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaSPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great place with very nice budget option of simple rooms with fan and outside (yet private) bathroom and shower. I stayed here a week and we got to move from few rooms. It has a very nice swimming pool that you can enjoy tropical rain in warm water. Hotel staff are very friendly and everything is quite clean. If you look for budget and great location, well, this house is actually an historical building located right in the center of the UNESCO historical district of Paramaribo. There are other rooms with air conditioner. WIFI free wireless internet is available in most rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms get better wireless internet signal. Apart from the air con rooms, you also have a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

At this guesthouse I saw a staff telling a guest to keep the door of their room closed or the mouse therein would get out in the hall. The staff concluded "problem solved" when the mouse ran into the linen closet. It's probably good that the mouse moved into the linen closet because maybe it will eat the linens and they will buy new ones. The linens are worn out and thin and look about 30-40 years old. Same with the towels. The two-person beds have one-person blankets (if you can call that thin old dirty thing a blanket), turned sidewise to make them look like two-person blankets folded down. They replaced the entry floor carpet, but once you get past the reception floor, you see that the old carpet is still crusted over with years of spill and sick.

This place is cheap on the surface but finds little ways to charge you more. They tell you they have to put you temporarily in a room with an air conditioner until your (cheaper) room with a fan is free, then they charge you for the air conditioner. "Oh you look hot; have a bottle of water," they say, and then your bill comes for the bottle of water.

The rooms vary. In one room, the door to the toilet (just a door, not a full wall to the ceiling; the toilet is IN the room) is so close to the front of the toilet (a few cm) that you physically cannot close the door when you sit on the toilet. In some rooms, you can feel the hard springs in the mattress.

Also, the "pool" in the back is barely twice the length of an adult human body.

Pay just a few euros more. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wchego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Average for Paramaribo where more and more guesthouses are popping up. Be sure to get an AC room because even with a fan the rooms are stuff and hot. The beds are old, shaky and noisy like Guesthouse Twenty24. But its centrally located in a nice charming colonial home.

Breakfast can be better, its basic and expensive.

Room Tip: The better beds are in the AC rooms on the first floor; shame that the crappy beds are all in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Friendly staff, handy map of city when i asked for info, can walk nearby to everywhere, safe, good cheap breakfast, good Internet, good price, great location. Not much atmosphere, but I think that's just paramaribo. Recommended for a short trip for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

First the good: The staff here are really friendly and the location is good. The balcony is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the breeze. The cleanliness problems aren't because of the cleaning staff, they're because money is not being spent on maintenance other than paint.

Now the problems: This place really feels like it's owned by someone very stingy who takes shortcuts whenever possible and won't spend any money on repairs other than paint. It shows. I'm happy with any place to stay that has clean and simple rooms in a good location with good wifi (if I have to work), but this place falls short. Details:

- The carpet is bad everywhere, but it's worst on the top floor, where it is covered in huge stains and has a crusty texture, with filth accumulated over years of use no matter how much they vacuum. It makes my skin crawl to walk barefoot on it. And the whole hotel is carpeted. In places the carpet is even held together with staples. If this owner cared about the property, he'd put in wood or tile floors, even cheap ones, which are much easier to keep clean. Who but a miser keeps carpet in the rainforest/tropics??? And this carpet looks many decades old. I found a dead roach on it one night. It looks like the carpet has been flooded, thrown up on, dust-ridden, mold-ridden, etc for years.

- Many things are broken, and left broken to collect dust. In our room, there is a giant ceiling fan that is broken, and it's covered with so much dust it's actually furry. (The room also has a portable fan, which is also pretty filthy.) The soap dish is broken off the wall of the shower, the doorknob to the room is coming loose, etc. Also there's only one outlet in the room, so good luck deciding whether to keep the fan on or charge your phone at night.

- The owner also doesn't want to spend any money on new sheets and towels, because the ones here are extremely old and battered. The towels (you may get a hand towel instead of a bath towel) are ragged and the sheets are mismatched and old. Today's sheets (room is cleaned every few days) arrived with a blood stain.

- The balcony is a lovely place to sit, but it feels unstable. It's high off the ground (second floor), and some of the boards are creaky or missing. Compare to the other houses on the street from below, and it seems very unstable.

- Security feels iffy, because many of the rooms have little toy-looking skeleton keys (except the hotel's closets, for which someone invested in real keys).

- The wifi is sometimes okay, mostly weak. (It

- The "swimming pool" is one of those round portable types that's been dug into the ground. It's more a big bathtub than something you could actually swim in, size-wise.

- Be warned that the rooms with bathrooms in them *literally* have toilets and shower stalls in them in them, in that the toilet is just blocked off by a short plywood door and the shower is see-through right into the sleeping area.

- And finally, if you have any kind of mobility issues (I don't, thankfully) ask for a room on the main floor because the spiral staircase going up is unusually steep and precarious.

Basically, if you're just looking for a cheap place to fall asleep in a good location with nice staff, and you don't care about cleanliness, this place is okay. And if the owner were less stingy, this place could be really great. As is, it's a little gross, and that coat of peach-colored paint isn't going to fix it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank DBG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
2.3 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#16 of 32 in Paramaribo
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#5 of 32 in Paramaribo
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Perola
Hotel Perola
#15 of 32 in Paramaribo
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Petite Maison
Hotel La Petite Maison
#10 of 32 in Paramaribo
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 32 in Paramaribo
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Kleine Historie
De Kleine Historie
#7 of 38 in Paramaribo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Albergo Alberga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Albergo Alberga

Address: Lim A Po Straat 13, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paramaribo
Price Range: £22 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Albergo Alberga 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Albergo Alberga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing