We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jodensavanne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jodensavanne

Ranked #11 of 42 things to do in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Deltona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jodensavanne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you find yourself in Paramaribo, be sure and check out Tours with a Flair and Marina Da Costa's trip to Jodensavanne. You will have a wonderful day on the river as well as tour the Jewish settlement. She is a wealth of historical information about the Jewish settlers as well as Suriname. It is her personal touch that makes this day special. Whether you are a Jew or a Gentile, this trip will be a true blessing to you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandDreams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Interesting to see all the graves and ruins, but I liked it the most because it was so calm and peaceful there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikimaniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paramaribo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative and fun tour with Marina da Costa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I highly recommend this tour with Marina daCosta Tours with Flair-- to Jodenne Savanne in suriname. It is well worth the reasonalbe price. A full day with a boat trip, many delicious snacks, lunch, and Marina is so wellinfomred adn also enthusiastic abou the history of the Jodenne Savanne and the old Jewish cemeteries
She is from one of the oldest Jewish families in Suriname so the trip is a very personal experience. It is highly enjoyable, relaxing, and well organized. I highly recommend this day trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllisstoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cultural context is important”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Though there are an infinite number of tours to choose from, Marina DaCosta is the most culturally engaging guide we found in our search. You can see she is personally motivated and enthusiastic about Jewish history in Suriname. This makes her tour a lot more valuable. It gives context to ruins, names, and sites and it makes her willing to do more for you to see and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

It was important for me to walk the ground where some of the first settlers in Suriname lived. The atmosphere was calm and peaceful. I appreciated the informative panels on the site. The area would benefit from environmentally friendly rest room and recreational space.

Helpful?
Thank MiltonDrepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jodensavanne also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Jodensavanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing