We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like being home”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“like being home”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've stayed here on three occasions, while travelling through suriname and back to par'bo.
everybody was extremely kind, the room was perfect, very inexpensive for what you get, nice breakfast, the staff was great! i would definetly reccomend this place which by the way is in the old downtown area, nice colonial houses.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
21
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I booked this hotel at very short notice. The owner kindly arranged pick up from the airport for me.The room which had a nice shower was basic but clean. The breakfast was basic. There was a restaurant but it did not open in the evening however the owner arranged for food to be delivered to the hotel from local restaurants. Overall quite a basic hotel with helpful friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is small but ideally located for a quiet w/end away or for long stay. Quiet street in historic district. Slam bang near to everywhere on foot. Décor: tasteful and exudes 5 star expectations. Service: way beyond 5 star!!!!!!!!
Would be remembered.

Room Tip: Search for a good hotel w/economy in mind ends right here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ps1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

When i entered the hotel,the foyer seemed quite dark. It seemed like they were cutting down on the electrical bill. Furthermore,they could not find my reservation. Finally when i checked in and got into my room it was very damp and it had a bad smell. The room was poorly furnished. Letting the staff know about this didn't seem to help much. Since it was very late ,i went into my room and tried to sleep,but the matrass was very uncomfortable.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Vishaal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel Palacio has a truly excellent location in the heart of Paramaribo from which you can explore the major attractions by foot. Rooms are spacious quiet and spotless.
The personnel is very friendly and can assist you in booking one of the many tours to Suriname's beautiful jungle or other day trips.
Only breakfast is lightly disappointing lacking fresh fruit most of the times and little variation in general.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandFan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Located about 10 min walking distance to center. This small hotel is new. Room is spacious and clean. We don't like the style of decoration and furniture personally. It's a bit outdated. The bed mattress is not comfortable. Breakfast is simple.

The friendly manager is a great access of the hotel. He was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel arranged airport pickup which was on time, very polite, and very welcome since I arrived after midnight. The ride from the international airport to Paramaribo Old Town is about one hour. The night receptionist answered all my questions, explained breakfast options, and signed me in very quickly. Breakfast was excellent with onsite baked breads, a wide variety of cheeses and deli meats, eggs to order, and a fantastic selection of teas. The hotel personnel were extremely helpful in confirming my flight out, providing a map of the area, and changing a small amount of money to enable me to pay for entry into the fort and buy fruit at the Central Market. The Reformed Church is half a block a way, Independence Square and the Presidential Palace another block farther, the Fort and Palm Garden one more block. Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral - one of the largest wooden buildings in the Americas - is between the Palm Garden and the Hotel. Extremely convenient. Extremely hospitable. Extremely well tuned to travel needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StrandedNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 31 in Paramaribo
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q-Inn
Q-Inn
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Property: Hotel Palacio
Address: Heerenstraat 9, Paramaribo, Suriname
Phone Number:
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio is located in the middle of the historical city center of Paramaribo. The strikingly beautiful hotel has an architectural style which is characteristic for the colonial city. This hotel makes for a perfect base for exploring Surinam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing