We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful place to visit a lot of history”

Peperpot Nature Park
Ranked #7 of 50 things to do in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a beautiful place to visit a lot of history”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This place is a beautiful place to visit The history of Surinam is good to see . They are restoring the compound. Slowly going. The directorsplace is ready now.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    51
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
430 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good for just a walk”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

recently took a tour of this former coffee plantation.
Did not see any animals but the rain forest look was interesting

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great chance to see wildlife close to the city”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Fun bicycle ride through this old coffee and cacao plantation, left to be taken back by nature. Lots of birds, two species of monkeys. Easy ride from Paramaribo. You can "charter" a small boat at the waterfront in the center for $30 Suranamese and they will take you and your bike across the river. From there you have to find your way but it wasn't hard. There is an entry fee and you can purchase a book with bird information that has ecxellent photos. Worth the effort

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We took a bicycle tour of the plantation and nature park. We were the only ones there and it was very beautiful. We saw lots of monkeys in forest. There is a huge assortment of birds and you can buy a bird guide book at the entrance. Just make sure your Dutch is good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sadein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mosquito Heaven”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Didn't see or get bit by a single mosquito in Suriname until my visit to this place. The nature trail is swarming with them. It's a nice hike along the trail as long as you are covered in 100% deet! I was not, and suffered numerous bites. Thank God I did opt for Malaria preventive before my trip, even though it was not required. I was disappointed as well with not seeing as much wild life here as I had hoped to see. Perhaps they don't like the mosquitos either!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Planettrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peperpot Nature Park also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Peperpot Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing