We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incompetent Front Desk; Decent Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Incompetent Front Desk; Decent Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stood at the front desk - watching the lobby clock - for exactly 28 minutes while checking in. The slow-motion nature of that process would have driven a lesser man to sheer madness. There wasn't a queue.

The gentleman behind the desk discovered our rooms were in fact not ready well after check-in time, and since we weren't willing to come back later, he undertook a laborious process to put me and my friends in different rooms. 28 minutes later, we were finally able to let ourselves in.

Our room faced the street which wasn't too noisy and provided a charming view over Parbo's main shopping street. The room reeked of air freshener bulbs which we promptly hid in drawers to stem the flow of noxious fumes. My friends' room faced the pool side and they reported some noise from later-evening revelry.

There was light to moderate mildew in the shower. Linens were clean and fresh, but the bedspread was a bit worn and pilled in locations. It was a very comfortable bed, nonetheless. The shower curtain was too short and water spilled profusely onto the bathroom floor. Such an easy problem to fix, one wonders why it is left in this condition to slowly ruin their own tilework.

It required multiple attempts to get an internet access code. Eventually it was obtained and worked reasonably well for this part of the world. $5USD per day for the privilege.

Hotel is in a great location, near lots of shops and eateries.

Breakfast buffet is poolside and pleasant: menu is standard Dutch fare, with lots of bread and cheese. Some fresh fruit. In an incredibly cheap move which I've never seen in this area, if you want the buffet cook to make you an omlette or scrambled eggs, they charge you $3USD! Boiled eggs are gratis. Coffee is the dreaded Nescafe.

Overall room quality was slightly above Torarica Hotel/Casino but below Spanhoek down the street. Bungled front desk arrangements definitely soured my opinion of this hotel, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRMinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    74
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
44
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suriname
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

Never stayed because of the rude individuals on their telephone while attempting to make a reservation. Was quoted a price for two nights and told them to hold the room. Called back with credit card information (next day) and was then given a much higher price. Was told individual who quoted the first price did not know what she was doing. This individual them began to mock and laugh at at us while trying to explain the first quoted price given. If treated like this before even arriving, would hate so see how they would treat paying hotel guests once their.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

The hotel is very good situated, very close by the centrum. Also l loved the food. The staff is very kind. Also the rooms are clean and huge

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnoukSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

The Hotel is well situated in the downtown, but has no garden or areas to walk around. The Hotel itself is in need of renovation and looks a bit dated. Staff are friendly and efficient but the relationship between quality and price is not good. Would only consider staying here if the better hotels were booked out as happened in this case.

  • Liked — It was downtown
  • Disliked — Too expensive for a room with a hard bed and poor TV reception
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2006

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. We were made comfortable from the second we arrived. The staff was wonderful (Hey Edmund)! The rooms are clean and spacious. Our trip was scheduled for 3 days but we extended for 6 because we loved it so much. Krasnapolsky does not have a casino, but the casinos are nearby, actually walking distance. Buffet breakfast is included in the price and the hotel has a Popeyes. Everything was great and we look forward to going again.

  • Liked — Location was near the casinos
  • Disliked — Noting
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank blackisis_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2005

It was a great experience. Hotel krasnapolsky is the ideal place for a family or friends to stay when visiting Suriname not because it is beautiful but because it is easy on your pocket too. The service is the best and the rooms are spacious and very wonderful. The bar is great, there is a wide variety of drinks. The pool side is just relaxing, and the restaurant was good. Krasnapolsky is located in the heart of the city so it makes our shopping very very easy, you can also access other restaurants, night clubs, casinos and other fascinating places very quick and easy. I will be visiting Suriname in August 2005 and without no doubt I am going to stay a Hoyel Krasnapolsky once again.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 32 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Paramaribo Princess Hotel
2.6 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#15 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krasnapolsky

Property: Hotel Krasnapolsky
Address: Domineestraat 39, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krasnapolsky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for comfort and convenience and centrally located right in the middle of Paramaribo's bustling downtown area, Hotel Krasnapolsky is the perfect choice for tourist and business travelers alike. When staying at Hotel Krasnapolsky you are near commercial, financial and site seeing areas. The recently renovated hotel creates a light and spacious atmosphere, with its sleek, minimalistic and modern interior which responds to the wishes of the modern traveler. All 84 rooms contain tasteful and comfortable furnishings, modern bathroom with rain shower and a private balcony which gives you wonderful views of the bustling city scene, the beautiful pool terrace or far- reaching views extending over the city rooftops all the way to the bridge across the Suriname River. Furthermore the hotel offers numerous dining facilities, conference rooms and services, swimming pool, gym, a lively shopping arcade and a convenient booking office capable of arranging travel plans, tours and activities of any nature. Hotel Krasnapolsky has received the international Travel life Gold Certificate, the highest award for environmental friendly and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krasnapolsky Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing