We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly and Cozy”
Review of Guesthouse Amice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guesthouse Amice
Ranked #3 of 36 Paramaribo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly and Cozy”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A very nice and cozy place to be. Near the centre of Paramaribo. The Staff is very friendly and helpfull if you need information. The rooms are clean and the beds are perfectly fine. It feels like home!! I enjoyed being there for two nights. Highly recommended for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasja-Dijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
26
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Some things are very good at Amice, but there are aspects that could be improved. We liked the breakfasts, particularly the fresh fruit and eggs. It was great to have a pool and a small garden that we found very relaxing. The A/C in the room is amazingly quiet and effective. The 24/7 security is very good, and the temporary staff at reception had a good idea ordering a take away meal for us one evening. Taxis are cheap and arrive promptly but it is also possible to take a minibus from opposite the guest house to and from the centre. One of the problems for poor sleepers like us is that some guests arrive very late or in the middle of the night. One night, visitors arrived talking loudly and woke us from our sleep. Additionally, the walls are very thin and we could hear conversation from one adjoining room. However, these noises are typical in any wooden property and may not affect sound sleepers. The owners reserved us a quieter room at the back of the guesthouse but note you are not necessarily given the same room on arrival. Additionally, when we had a 4am pick up on departure - anywhere else we have stayed we have been offered a take-away breakfast, but not here. Happily, once we requested, sandwiches and bananas were given to us. We liked the owners, they were friendly but we felt they were not sufficiently relaxed, lacked real enthusiasm and were not as customer orientated as the other two places that we stayed in during our Suriname trip.

Room Tip: Reserve a room at the back, with balcony, as the front is on a main road. Room 8 is definitely the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I recently enjoyed several nights and a breakfast at the Amice. The quest house is frequented by students, visiting professors and professionals as well as tourists. I enjoyed the hostel-like atmosphere and the owners and their employees were extremely helpful and friendly! I enjoyed conversations with the staff and visitors and the original artwork hanging throughout the guesthouse.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in both rooms 1 and 2 and both were fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here since Paramaribo doesn't have many if any true hostels, and we were pretty happy with it. Nice to be just outside the city centre. The included breakfast was prepared with thought, and not just some loaves of bread like some other places. The bicycles for rent do need some work for safety reason, but I did speak to the owner and made him aware. The pool is refreshing on a hot day, and the room are comfortable. The showers could probably soon use an update, but I've definitely seen worse. Safety is also not a concern here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we found some good reviews about this guesthouse and due to the holiday season there weren't many options. Anyway, it seemed to be fine . Upon arrival we began to understand why this guesthouse still had rooms available while all others were booked solid! Mold in the bathrooms, broken shower faucet and the rooms weren't too clean. Onwards it wnet from bad to worse. Service was a big issue for these people. It wasn't possible to get clean towels every day. They tried to fool us by drying our used towels and hanging them up as if they had brought clean ones. Worst thing was when we had asked the cleaning lady for a towel. We left for the day and when two of my friends came back, the owner simply went crazy on them. Shouting, screaming and insulting them. Why? Because we took a towel! I'll save you the details on all other crappy sh.. they pulled on us but this is not the place to be!! We packed our baggs and left the same day!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorenitasoyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geulle, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Whether business or holiday, if you are looking for a clean place to stay with a friendly staff in a familiar atmosphere, Guesthouse Amice is your place to stay.
Although Amice is a Guesthouse and not a hotel, the reception desk is staffed 24/7 and they have snacks, refreshments, laundry service and bicycles available.
The place is far enough from the city center to be away from the noise caused by 24 hour activities there, and close enough to get to that center on foot (35mins), by bicycle (10mins) or by affordable taxi (from 10SRD / 2,10EUR). It is also far enough from city center to avoid the daily traffic jams when traveling out of town.
The rooms are kept very clean on a daily basis and are fitted with enough power outlets and TV/AC. Most have a balcony.
WIFI is available free of charge, very reliable service and good bandwidth.
Breakfast is presented in a buffet continental style with cereals and fresh fruits daily.
Want to do some reading in your room? You may find the (reading) light insufficient, although this may also be caused by the quality of my own eyes . . .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Amice Guesthouse is a safe bet if you want a clean, quiet, friendly accomodation in Paramaribo. Highly recommended. One must be aware, though, that it is not located in the heart of old town, that can be reached with a bike or a short taxi drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaenderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
3.6 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#16 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 31 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guesthouse ZIN
Guesthouse ZIN
#9 of 36 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Amice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Amice

Property: Guesthouse Amice
Address: Gravenberchstraat 5, Paramaribo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Amice 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly and homelike atmosphere for holiday as well as for business. This comfortable, air-conditioned guesthouse, in a leafy neighborhood of Paramaribo, is pre-eminently suitable for every one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Amice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Amice Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing