We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boottrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Commewijne River

Commewijne River
Ranked #3 of 48 things to do in Paramaribo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice boottrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The trip is calming, both rivers are wide and a wide variety of birds flies around as well as river dolphins whom are as interested in you as you are in them. A must if you visit Paramaribo.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KELM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waterproof Tours, Sunset & Dolphin Trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Many tour operators offer Dolphin trips. And even without a tour company you can go out on the Commewijne river to spot dolphins. just go to Leonsberg and charter a boat. My friends and a randomly booked a dolphin trip. Coincidentally it was with Waterproof tours, we already did another trip with them that left us very satisfied so we were happy. Unfortunately this trip was a disappointment.
The day that we went on the trip, the dolphins weren't where they usually hang out, so we had to go a far out to see them. luckily we saw a couple of them, unfortunately not for long. but hey it's nature so you can't complain. Hence this doesn't explain the poor rating I gave waterproof tours. on the boat we had enough to drink (incl alcohol) and there were snacks (chips). that part was okay. but the part that I really disliked is the passive attitude of our guide. he hardly gave us any explanation and on the way back he gave us some laminated A4 papers to read (info about the dolphins and the area). doesn't he understand that I came on this trip to relax? I do not want to read like 10 pages. the information should have been shared verbally. the documentation should have been for those who wanted more back ground information. furthermore the boat stopped at a small village on the river back and left again after 5 minutes, without giving any kind of explanation. the guided could hardly answer any questions. eventually we stopped at another place (I can't tell you where, because we weren't given that information) where we had some cold snacks such as "baka bana" "loempia" and "bara" and the mosquitoes out there were killing us. so everybody returned to the boat as quick as possible. we returned to leonsberg way after dark, tired and unsatisfied.
the only nice thing is that the guide called a taxi for us. because there was no way we have gotten back to town at that time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Long Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was quite a long drive over the bridge, it was surprising that Suriname had such a wide river given the size of the country, and even more pleasantly surprise that there is no fee associated with the crossing of the bridge. Lovely and often bragged about bridge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KammiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice day trip from the city Paramaribo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a private boat trip and guide to ride along Commewijne River, visiting the plantations, authentic fishermen villages, museum Fort New Amsterdam and dophine spotting. Had a nice and relaxing lunch at old coffee plantation of Fredrikdorp. It was a perfect day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
855 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The day-trip to the Commewijne and the Warappa Creek are a "must see"; the plantations, now take over in the main part by the forest, are still laid out, and one can get a superb idea of the conditions that so many laboured under. A stop in Bakkie is an added bonus, and an overnight stay is highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Commewijne River also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Commewijne River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing