We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of what you book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Be aware of what you book”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Torarica is a nicely located hotel with a nice swimming pool and beautiful gardens. Breakfast is pretty good, but be aware of what you book.
The 4 person rooms are in the smelling old part of the hotel and it took us two hours to negotiate for another room. Not exactly what you're up to after a long journey.
We also had to pay additional fees. All caused by a clerk not giving the right info on the phone and the website that is well designed but too good to be true. So if you want to book and have children with you, then be aware and double check what you are booking.

Room Tip: Try to book well ahead in time and choose for the referbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    119
    60
    12
    12
See reviews for
42
45
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have read a few of these reviews and first I'll stick up for the hotel and rooms. They are acceptable. You are in a remote country that doesn't even have many flights in or out so you can't expect to find the Ritz Carlton down here. The rooms had cold (but loud) AC, the water was potable, the shower was hot, I could watch the NBA playoffs at night and get US TV stations, etc..

On the downside, the wi-fi was awful and only worked ok in the lobby area.
The pool staff almost seem to go out of their way to be unpleasant. One of my friends who was also staying there wanted to use one of the 4 jacuzzis (all luke warm and wouldn't heat one up) They said he needed an appointment which is understandable, but there were nobody using any of the 4 jacuzzis. Then when he did make an appt the next day, they allowed him 15 mins..that's it (again with 3 empty jacuzzis)

The "King-sized" bed consisited of 2 twin beds slid together. I kept falling into the middle crease and sinking inbetween the mattresses until I decided on sleeping perpendicular to the bed frame.

All in all, if you're truly enjoying Suriname, you'll hardly need more than a place to lie your head, but if you are doing business, I reccommend the Royal Torarica next door, it's a step above.

Room Tip: Make appointments if you need to use the jacuzzi,, Even if they are completely empty of guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for a few day.

Nice breakfast.

Nice view of the river. The room is clean .

I would stay at the Royal Torarica though.

The Eco lodge is just ok.

The service is great and the staff are polit and accomadating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriniSuperBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nax, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I spend two nights in this hotel which is a corporate selection. Although this hotel has apparently renewed its decoration recently, it has not installed the most elementary noise insulation. From the inside you take showers and listen to the television with your neighbours. You cannot leave the A/C on because of the noise it makes.
I stayed in a room on the street side. I was told that there was not much traffic, which is true, except that drivers make a lot of noise. Moreover, there is a joint opposite the hotel where they start playing (poor quality) music at 10:00pm and keep on during the whole night (I know I could not sleep and had to get a plane at 7:00am). If this does not prevent you from sleeping the mosquitos will. Despite the fumigation treatment I requested from the room caretakers, I could not get hold of them during the nights I was there.
I was there for business and not for long. I managed to survive, but if you happen to go to Paramaribo for holidays, staying there will seriously jeopardise them.
Unfortunately the breakfast coffee hardly tastes coffee, which will not help you in overcoming the lack of sleep. The buffet is not that great either, neither is the restaurant menu that does not offer a lot of choice.

Room Tip: May be better at the back (pool side), at all cost refuse the street side. But I am not sure because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived at 2 o’clock in the morning at the hotel. Our room wasn’t the one we reserved more the 3 months ago. We were traveling with business partners and we got a honeymoon room. The staff told us the hotel was full and they didn’t have another room for us. We stayed the whole night in the smoking smelling lobby. In the morning the manager told us we could get a room to fresh up as courtesy of the hotel, while they are looking for another room for us. After making sure that we do not need to pay for this “fresh up” room, we went to the room at 8 o’clock in the morning. Afterwards they did charge us the full price for the room because check in time was at 5 pm and we went to the room to take a shower at 8 am o’clock. The way they did was to mislead us and made us pay anyway. The worst part was when we went to the director. She was very rude and wanted to dismiss the manager who had given us the free room in front of us. She told us that they have sent us to the room instead of putting us on the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentinaenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

good rooms, good bath, very small tv (why?), decent wifi, ample gardes, nice swimming pool, sufficient services, very good location. Certain things may need a bit of remodeling, but overall it is a safe bet in Paramaribo, and it does have a very convenient shuttle service for the red eyes that land at an airport one hour away from the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

The only reason I stayed here is because at 2am coming from a red eye flight my guesthouse over booked.

I paid $145USD for Room 113. Ill get the positives out if the way because there are few: Clean room, hot shower, great AC.

Now for the bad.

WiFi is atrocious in the rooms. Actually it's a nightmare everywhere because one you get on, it logs you right off. It was a lost cause so I stopped trying to use it.

Noise in the early morning made you feel like you should put on a hard hat and go to work. Maybe I have the worst luck in history, but the 1 night I needed sleep was this one after walking to this hotel at 2am trying to sleep at 3am then being awoken by hammers next door at 6am! FML

I asked locals and the hotel is always under renovation.

Front desk staff acted like they really didn't want to help me. Maybe because I only stayed one night? I don't know but she says she called Regle Taxi and it took 25 minutes to get there.

Guess what? The 1 day I'm there, the pool was closed. Aww, too bad. Some guy was cleaning it and doing repairs.

Breakfast is sub par. Could of had the same spread at a guesthouse for a fraction of the cost.

The surrounding area is pretty with the Suriname River and the pier. Other than that, go somewhere else.

This place was a horrible experience for me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryAscione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#9 of 31 in Paramaribo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#4 of 31 in Paramaribo
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Paramaribo Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torarica Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torarica Hotel & Casino

Property: Torarica Hotel & Casino
Address: Mr. L.J. Rietbergplein # 1, Paramaribo 411682, Suriname
Phone Number:
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torarica Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 50 years experience in accommodating guests and catering to their every need, Torarica Hotel & Casino is the most famous and renowned hotel in Suriname. Located along the Suriname River, near the very heart of the bustling city life and historic center, Torarica Hotel & Casino is the ideal location for business, relaxing getaways and family holidays. With 132 comfortable and elegantly furnished rooms equipped with all modern conveniences, a restaurant offering cultural culinary experiences, a richly decorated and relaxing lounge area and bar, the hotel offers everything the modern traveler looks for in a perfect holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torarica Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torarica Hotel And Casino
Torarica Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing