We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eco Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I wanted to book a room in Torrarica hotel and casino, but the hotel was overbooked, so I ended up in the ECO resort. Everything was perfect, the transport from the airport well organized, the driver welcomes you with an ice water and friendly smile. The hotel is very local style and if you expect 5 star resorts, you should stay somewhere else. I am surprised that people are expecting super lux room for this price, it is not written on the web-site that this is a honeymoon resort, so you get what you pay for! And I belive this is the best value for the money.
However if you want to wake up from the sound of the nature this is your place.
Great staff, which I believe is the most important. Fast wi-fi, nice bar and you can use the facilities of the Torrarica Hotel and Casino.
The hotel is in very safe area of town, and the front desk can organize a taxi ride for you (ask for Geraiman- very friendly taxi driver, fast, clean car).
I would love to stay there again. Thanks for the staff for thier hard work and great hospitality!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NadiaNikolaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    86
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
36
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cayenne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Hi I book simple room by phone, when I checked in I ask to see the room, it was very , small, really bad. I get to the desk to cancelled my reservation. I was told that I would be charged for the night. I asked to see other room and get he Executive Room ΙΙ. This room was bad, expensive and insecure: electrics plugs and cables next to waer point, The jacuzzi work with internal water recycler, I found dust and garbage in it... better not to think of the previous tourist do in this. The arm chair didn't have arm cushions, the lavatory let water go, the shower didnt have presure, it was tiny amount of water to shower. After one plaisant night (good bed) I book another hotel wich as better, cheapper. I asked the desk to keep my luggages safe for 3 hours. When I was in the other hotel I discovered that all the money I've got in the luggages where gone. The accomodation you seen on the internet site are on other hotel you have to walk 5-10 min to get there. In the center Krasnapolsky is better, safer and cheaper. Next to this hotel there is Marriott which is also much better, much safer and cheapper than the Executive Room ΙΙ.
this doesn't worth the 136 USD I was charged for, and not the half neither.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jno l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paramaribo hotels

São Paulo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Excellent location, clean, quiet, colonial atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I have stayed at the EcoResort many times over the last 10 years. The rooms are very clean, most have balconies, good in room WiFi, plenty of hot water, great birding on grounds, a small fridge for snacks and drinks, are very secure, hotel has luggage storage, and is relatively close to places you likely need to visit.

You can also use the pool facilities of the company's other hotel Torarica which is about a 3 minute walk up the street.

Breakfast is included and is typical Dutch style. Always some type of eggs, fresh breads, fruits, cereal & yogurt, breakfast meats, and sometimes fish. Simple but plentiful, with decent coffee and three types of fresh juice. Staff is very friendly but if you do not speak Dutch add about 10 to 15 minutes to anything you are trying to accomplish.

The hotel is about 15 minute walk away from town center, but a US $5 cab ride gets you there in about 2 minutes. I would not recommend the EcoResort Lunch or Dinner buffet as it has gone down in quality over the years and there are simply too many other good options nearby or at the other hotel (Torarica) to settle for bland meals. Right up the street there is a gas station that has basics (snacks/water/soda/beers) and is a good place to stop to avoid paying Hotel bottled water prices. Over the years i have stored large amounts of luggage (I am a tour group leader) and we have never had any problem, and there is no charge for this ability. The Wifi has greatly improved over the years and now is fairly fast and reliable from almost all locations on the property.

I recommend this hotel over Torarica because it is quieter (no casino till 4-AM), safer (no casino till 4-AM), and the rooms are newer. I have stayed at the Torarica, the rooms are 1970's decor, and if you do not have the AC on full blast smell of mold.

Finally the birding is great around the (both) hotel, especially early in the morning if you walk down to the waterfront area. STINASU, the Suriname organization that oversees national parks and nature tourism within the country is right next door. It probably is someplace that most visitors will end up visiting if they are traveling anywhere in country, so that is also a plus.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The hague
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This hotel is mailnly dominated by groups with people over 50. If you like a average, european style hotel this would be fine. The location, near the town centre, is very good. But further noting really special. There are better options like guestouse Amice. I did finally leave Eco resort and went there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThehagueLieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

I had a day room here prior to a 2am airport transfer.

No serious complaints, really, but most of the rooms are very generic motel-like. That's not bad, but close the drapes and you could be in Indianapolis or Frankfurt. For all its generic-ness, it was indeed clean, there was plenty of hot water, Satellite TV and wireless internet functioned well, and there was plenty of parking for those with cars.

Tip of the hat to the friendly and efficient desk staff.

I liked the front wooden building with its Demerrara Windows and wooden porch bar. Too bad that charm didn't translate to the rooms.

It's a little bit of a trek into town... give it 15 minutes on foot to the hub of activity around the other Torairica hotels.

Not sure what is "eco" about this place, and am pretty sure it doesn't qualify for "resort" in anyone's book. So don't have any expectations based on the name.

While in Suriname I also stayed at the Spanhoek and found it to be in a livelier location and nicer overall. I visited friends staying in the main/old Torairica Hotel/Casino: the interior decor there will mercilessly and apologetically welcome you back to the 1970's. The newest Royal Torairica bordered on sterile but it was indeed modern and posh.

I would recommend this hotel for someone on a tight budget who, like me, just needed a place to freshen up before a long international journey back home. If you plan on exploring and experiencing Paramaribo, you'd be better off spending just a little more money for something a little closer to the center of activity.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Eco Resort Hotel gives me as a Surnames-American the feeling that i am at home at home. The service is excellent on all fronts. This hotel picks you up from the airport and brings you back on your way home. Furthermore, breakfast is included in the price. During my last trip to Suriname, I flew with the general manager of the hotel and her husband. Upon arrival on Zandery Airport, a Parbo Bieri was waiting for me.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imrosurinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.2 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#4 of 32 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#3 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
Tran Elite Hotel Apartments
#15 of 32 in Paramaribo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#7 of 32 in Paramaribo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort

Property: Eco Resort
Address: Cornelis Jongbawstraat 16 | PO Box 2998, Paramaribo, Suriname
Phone Number:
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an eco friendly retreat in Suriname, Eco Resort Inn is the perfect choice. Located within a 5-minute walk of the historic center of Paramaribo and the tantalizing city life and rooms offering either a breath taking view of the Suriname river or a beautiful view of our lovely garden, the hotel is simply ideal for guests who wants to visit Suriname to relax and unwind. From the very moment of your arrival you will feel embraced with the warmth and hospitality that is so naturally rooted in each and every aspect of the Surinamese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing