We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Resort is a very good hotel if you like rest and be your self”
Review of Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eco Resort
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I can advise travelers to stay at Eco Resort. Eco is a very tranquil hotel and the service is very good. the view at the river is good and at night you can hear the sound of the river. In the mornig you can hear the birds singing when you are enjoying your breakfast.

Room Tip: choose riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed in the executive room with jacuzzi. Room was big and spacious with flat screen TV (25 channels), microwave, AC, telephone, security safe (which I felt the need to use but never had a problem) large tiled bathroom with a two person jacuzzi (not bathtub which can be filled and drained before using). Resort and room were clean and staff was friendly. When I booked the executive suit I assumed it would be a bathtub with the jacuzzi jets. Regular room without the jacuzzi I would recommend. Jacuzzi didn't work the entire week long visit. Ants were also problem in the bathroom. I found out during my stay that I could have gotten better accommodations for the same price ($125.00 USD). Chi Min Chinese restaurant and Baka Foto I would recommend highly for dinner.

Room Tip: Get a regular room and pass on the executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel has a nice feel to it, with the authentic building in the court yard, the birds and trees around. I have stayed in the old wing in a room on the third floor. The room was simple, yet clean and comfortable. I would say this is a good budget hotel. Dinner on the patio was pleasant as well as breakfast further down in the garden. Staff was courteous and warm. If you are a bird lover, be early for breakfast when staff feeds the birds and many different birds visit the bird breakfast. Great way to wake up. This hotel is also close to the river, and from the small pool deck you have a nice view of the river. I liked most about this hotel that it is simple, does not pretend to be more than it is. With the Torarica close by (and free access to the Torarica pool etc. with your Eco guest passport) it is a great place to stay. Lots of restaurants and bars close by, yet still have that nature feel to it in the middle of the city. Great place for business travelers as well as families/couples. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If stairs are no problem for you, ask for a room on the second or third floor so you don't look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

It is a very comfortable no frills resort. Great for the business traveler and also the eco- tourist. Good value for the price. The breakfast is a basic continental bur very adequate and the bar fare is quite good. Location was perfect for my business meetings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodimgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

- Room was broken into and security was a travesty! No one offered to help secure the area or the room. The lack of care and disrespect was apparent with the staff.
- An order was made with Pizza Hut thru the front Desk, it was a personal purchase that was made. Once the pizza arrived they had dismissed the order and authorized it to be returned immediately back to Pizza Hut. Raul the Bartender should confirm this. The next day Raul went out of his way to personally drive to Pizza Hut with my money to buy pizza for me. Realize I was very hungry and your clerk went out of his way to deny food!
-False accusations were made about me to my company as well.
Do not recommend staying here due to the awful nature of the staff and lack of security.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Very nice hotel, staff are great, really beautiful and comfortable. And the prices are very good. Plus it's near the historical centre, which is a very beautiful place to visit. The people there are unbelievably happy. We spend new year's eve there, it's the caribbean on land!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnesghisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week. We were on a schooltrip. This hotel is just a basic hotel. It has what a simple hotel has. like a tv, a refrigarator, closet. There is no batthub in the bathroom.

The staff is friendly, but you have to ask for things to be reparared, otherwise they won't do it. They won't on their own initiative repair something, even they see it has to be fixed. Our toilet was running water for days, nobody did something, until we asked them to look at it.

They serve a basic breakfast. they got mixed cutted fruits, bread, eggs (every day a diferent style of eggs: scrambeld, boiled, cooked), dutch cheese, ham, corn flakes, a warm meal, yoghurt, 2 types of juice, coffee, tea and milk.

If you are going to suriname just to visit the place, and you do NOT worry about a nice, luxurious, 5 star hotel, you can go to this hotel.

all by all it was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalomara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paramaribo hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Paramaribo
Courtyard Paramaribo
#1 of 31 in Paramaribo
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Torarica Hotel & Casino
Torarica Hotel & Casino
#3 of 31 in Paramaribo
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Krasnapolsky
Hotel Krasnapolsky
#8 of 31 in Paramaribo
164 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
Jacana Amazon Wellness Resort
#12 of 31 in Paramaribo
34 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Babylon
Hotel Babylon
#13 of 31 in Paramaribo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort

Address: Cornelis Jongbawstraat 16 | PO Box 2998, Paramaribo, Suriname
Phone Number:
Region: Suriname > Paramaribo District > Paramaribo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Paramaribo
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an eco friendly retreat in Suriname, Eco Resort Inn is the perfect choice. Located within a 5-minute walk of the historic center of Paramaribo and the tantalizing city life and rooms offering either a breath taking view of the Suriname river or a beautiful view of our lovely garden, the hotel is simply ideal for guests who wants to visit Suriname to relax and unwind. From the very moment of your arrival you will feel embraced with the warmth and hospitality that is so naturally rooted in each and every aspect of the Surinamese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing