We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe haven at a fair price”
Review of Raintree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raintree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Moresby B&B and Inns
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A safe haven at a fair price”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel itself is small but the rooms are large and comfortably appointed; WiFi is extra but you pay for the time used so buy the 24 hour pass if you're staying a while. We did manage to walk around the neighbourhood with a security guard but it's discouraged. Restaurant food is limited but acceptable and the staff are friendly and accommodating, even getting up at 0430 so the crazy birders could be away at dawn! Transport to/from hotel worked well and you can book on-line directly with the hotel for the best rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Knowing Port Moresby, the Raintree Lodge is one of the more affordable places to stay near the centre of the city. The rooms were spacious and clean. A nice touch we noticed on arrival was that the staff had taken the courtesy of turning on our room aircons to pre-cool the rooms (- Port Moresby can get a bit hot and humid at times). The meals were reasonable but I would suggest just ordering meals a bit early, since it is a small place. The general lodge environment tried to capture the essence of its name, and along with the ever helpful staff made the stay pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PomTouring05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Being a PNG and not based in Port Moresby it is hard to stay with relatives or to stay in a Hotel. Value for money and home away from home is quite when you need your own space being in the city for business, you time, passing through with family it's quite hard so if you want all the space security and just you time. This is it, Raintree Lodge. Set in an ideal part close to town within a residential area, you would be amazed at what labour of love work put into touching your soul when you arrive at Raintree Lodge. If you want to completely live out of the suitcase well look no further. With a good number of staff a warming to them is established and soon all is great to feel safe and spoilt as the services provided. Nothing fancy simply and there's value of personality felt when you stay at the Raintree Lodge. I have found a place for my family and I next time I pass through..

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had an overnight stay in POM between flights. We arrived at night and the 10 minute drive was a bit daunting between the airport and the hotel. (we have travelled extensively around the world and 3rd world destinations) Upon arriving at the hotel we went through 2 gates. Once inside the hotel complex you would never know what was on the outside. It was very tropical and serene. The rooms were large and clean. We arrived at 6:30 and were very hungry. We ended up waiting for 1 1/2 hours to get a hardly palatable meal. My son ordered noodle soup and got 2 minute (ramen) noodles for about 22 kina. my chicken wrap was probably the best of the 4 meals. Breakfast was a bit better. We had the choice of scrambled eggs and toast or pancakes and fruit for free or you could pay to have a bigger breakfast. the pancakes were very yummy.
We had all morning to hang out at the hotel so I had a deep tissue massage (not for the faint of heart) and my kids watched movies and my hubby read a book.
The staff was very nice to get us Mortein and rubbish bags to spray our souvenirs with.
I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay. I would recommend pre ordering your dinner if you have an arrival time after 5 pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Everything considered about hotels in Papua New Guinea, this one was nice. At $250 a night, we expected a little better but this is Papua New Guinea. The staff was helpful, but had a hard time to let us out of the hotel as they said that it was very dangerous. They finally agreed to let us go to the corner store with 2 guards!!! Two things that we did not like: Internet that you pay for, did not work very well, so you use a lot of time just waiting to open a mail and for breakfast only one piece of toast was offered, you needed to pay extra for another one. For the price, this is really stingy. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shady Rest Hotel
The Shady Rest Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raintree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintree Lodge

Property: Raintree Lodge
Address: Sec. 39, Lot 7 | Ilimo Avenue, Port Moresby 0, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the enchanting hideaway.The Raintree Lodge is the unique hideaway of Boroko, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. Twelve private and spacious suites nestled in an enchanting garden... reinforcing the impression of being "at one with nature", yet still providing all the comforts of a boutique retreat. Our friendly staff strive to ensure guest expectations are exceeded by their experiences. We look forward to making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Raintree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing