We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Taste of Harmony" experience....”
Review of Grand Papua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Papua Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Taste of Harmony" experience....”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A hotel that is prepared and willing to push boundaries around what the corporate clients' specific requirements are when hosting key events. Fantastic management team with an equally fantastic team to deliver. Live food stations to bring to life our "taste of harmony" concept and innovative ideas by the Executive Chef utilizing only locally grown produce is so refreshing. ..request advice around wines to match and event theming from F&B Service Manager is highly recommended. My clients totally impressed with both ambience and food experience. Highly commendable to host your next corporate event at GRAND PAPUA HOTEL - PORT MORESBY.

Room Tip: -Tip: rooms numbered "1-6" soothing and calming - ocean views; rooms numbered "7-12&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Emma

Our team and I are very pleased to hear of your great compliments and how you thoroughly enjoyed the Events and Food concepts, in addition the support and wine knowledge of our new F&B Service manager and his team.

Emma these feedback are a great motivation to improve further and being very consistent in all we do for our customers. We all thank you for choosing our hotel as your venue for this recent corporate event and we all look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Papua hotel

Lukim yu and Best Wishes
Alex Wilson and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    73
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
12
5
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very pleased with the kindness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel itself. Spent a significant amount of time on business but chose to dine at the grand brasserie. Couldn’t be more pleased with the hands on management. The chefs and waitstaff were more than willing to share their knowledge and suggestions on menu items. Extremely impressed with the quality and freshness of their dishes. Greatly looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaya2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Chaya2323

We too look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you for the great compliments and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our Grand Brasserie and the quality of our menu items.

Thank you again from Team Grand Papua hotel
Lukim yu
Alex Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Very good business hotel .. Nice rooms .. Free wifi in the club along with breakfast and drinks.. No free wifi in rest of hotel. Restaurant is good .. Great steaks .. Give the vanilla icecream the miss ;) beautiful 360 degree views over Port Moresby

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mschmidt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear mschmidt83

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Papua hotel. Feedback as yours is a huge motivator for our hard working team and we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, nice rooms, great steaks and vanilla ice cream.

Mschmidt83 we will be offering Free Wifii throughout the hotel soon but let us know of your return to offer some great options currently available for internet.

Be assured each and every single employee will view these feedback and we all look forward to your return soon.

Lukim yu
Alex Wilson and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a very good business hotel:

Pro's:
Excellent location
Easy parking
Very secure
Excellent breakfasts in the Exec Lounge
Very good Wi-Fi in the Exec Lounge
Great rooms, kept clean and great views
Great service generally from check in to check out and all in between, particularly in the lounge

Cons: (not many!)
A little bit pricey by international standards but comparable to others in Port Moresby
Could have a bit more choice on the room service menu
Wi-Fi in rooms subject to a different deal

This is a hotel of high standards, Port Moresby isn't the easiest place to feel 100% comfortable, but they manage it here. I would strongly recommend a room deal which includes the Executive Lounge access, it makes things happens so much more smoothly.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have great views, one of the harbour, the other of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank De_Chook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear De_Chook

My team and I are thankful and appreciative of your great compliments and great feedback

We wish to inform you we will make further changes to our room service menu in May and will launch FREE internet from June.

We all look forward to your next visit soon

Lukim yu
Alex Wilson and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed at the Grand Papua in Port Moresby for 3 days on business and could not complain. Great central location, safe and secure. The staff were friendly, and professional, the room was very nice, clean, comfortable and had all the necessities. Wifi was expensive, but then internet services in PNG is generally not reliable and expensive. The facilities are nicely appointed, the view from the gym is tranquil, especially after a hectic hot day in POM. This would be my first choice to any business travelers in POM.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LspF1j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear LspF1j1

Thank you for the lovely compliments and for choosing to stay with us recently at the Grand Papua hotel. We do understand how expensive PNG as a destination for all corporate travelers hence we wish to advise you we will offer FREE internet from late June.
LspF1j1, I am glad you enjoyed our popular gymnasium on the 15th level and the safety and security of our hotel in downtown Port Moresby?

Thank you for the recommendations and we all look forward to your return visit soon

Lukim yu
Alex Wilson and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
385 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Grand Hotel is the newest hotel in Port Moresby’s business district, just next to the Crowne Plaza. The rooms are nicely decorated; equipped with comfortable beds, a resting chair, writing desk, refrigerator, LCD TV and safe. A kettle for tea/coffee and two bottles of water are provided. The bathroom is clean and bright. Internet is shamefully overpriced and slow.
The breakfast buffet is richly garnished, but is not included in the room rate. Considering the price and being in a tropical country; I expect some exotic fruits and not only pineapple and papaya. The quality of rolls and pastries is good.
Unfortunately there are no traditional snacks served in the bar. It is trendy to serve fish gujons with pineapple fritters or guacamole dips, instead of a simple fish + chips or a hamburger. A diner in the restaurant with a drink costs not less than USD 50.-. Just a few steps away, the Crowne Plaza serves traditional bar food and less complicated meals at a more affordable price.
The hotel has a swimming pool which in its size offers a refreshing dip but probably not a swim..
Port Moresby is not a city for walking around or a holiday resort. Everything is overpriced. There is simply nothing worthwhile to shop or to explore nearby the hotel. Security is an issue. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport. The Papua Grand belongs to the group that manages the ELA Beach hotel. The Grand Papua is probably the best option in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Riesst

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Papua hotel. We agree due to security and safety having the Crowne Plaza next door offers more options for our guests and its only a short walk away?
Riesst we certainly will use these great feedbacks in achieving more consistent standards and we will make necessary changes with more options in the coming weeks.

I thank you for recommending the Grand Papua hotel as the best option in Port Moresby and we all look forward to your return soon

Lukim yu
Alex Wilson and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Itll cost about $50 a day to get access to internet and the "executive " lounge. Now dont think this makes it exclusive. 2 staff dealing with hoards or people rightfully expecting service, food and drinks.
There is no internet available within the hotel except for the lounge.
Chaos seems to rule here.
Recent changes to F&B staff also causing quality to fluctuate daily.

Room Tip: Either face the "city" or Ella beach side. Ella beach is more tranquil, whereas the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNQer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear FNQer

Thank you for your great feedback and for joining us at the Executive Lounge during your recent stay. I am sincerely sorry for the appalling lack of service you experienced at our Executive Lounge. The lounge is getting very popular and feedback as yours will allow my team and I to focus on improving our position following the recent changes in our Food & Beverage department as you highlighted

Once again thank you and the Grand Papua hotel team look forward to your next stay with us and I am confident you will enjoy further changes we undertaking

Lukim yu
Alex Wilson and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
4.9 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
408 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Papua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Papua Hotel

Property: Grand Papua Hotel
Address: Mary Street, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Papua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Port Moresby, the Grand Papua Hotel is the newest deluxe hotel to open in PNG. Comprising 161 rooms and suites, the hotel caters to both the corporate and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Papua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing