We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrating Mix of Good, Mediocre, and just bad...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Frustrating Mix of Good, Mediocre, and just bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

My stay at the Crowne Plaza was a frustrating mix of good and bad, which started before even arriving at the hotel.

Given that the great majority of visitors to Port Moresby are business-travellers and that there are generally only a couple of international arrivals per day, one might think that the Crowne would make an effort to actually have their shuttle bus meet the incoming flights. But no, despite representatives of almost every other hotel in town being at the airport - no-one from the Crowne. Eventually a rep for another hotel took pity on me (and a couple of others) and called the hotel on our behalf, after which we waited another 30 minutes or so for the bus to arrive. No apologies, nothing. Grumpy driver…

After a smooth check-in, I was escorted to my room only to find that the air-con didn't work. The porter insisted that the room would cool down, but after waiting 45 minutes for this to happen, I called the front-desk and asked for maintenance to come and check the air-con. After another 2 calls (more on that later) they finally arrived and after a couple of minutes fiddling with the thermostat and concerned looks, announced that it was in fact, dead. They also mentioned that pretty much the whole of the 9th floor was suffering the same problem, Long story short:- I finally received a room with functioning air-con on the 3rd attempt, and after sitting in the Club Lounge for 40 minutes whilst the Manager found a room with working air-con.

For most of the rest of my stay things went smoothly enough except for a curious fact:- SPOONS!
It appears that spoons must be higlhy-valued and in short supply at the Crowne, because almost without exception, every time I ate in the restaurant over the next 12 days, I had to ask for spoons. Tea-spoon for coffee/Tea? hah… Breakfast buffet with a big spread of cereals, fruit etc, things that would be eaten from a bowl with spoons, but no spoons on the tables or buffet. Asking for one would evoke much action and apologies and I would get my spoon. This became a running joke with the staff every day, but spoons never appeared on the tables or the buffet my entire stay.

The last irritating thing at the Crowne is the complete lack of courtesy and service when trying to achieve anything when using the phone. Any request would get a 'call you back" which needless to say, never came. My last night, I had to call housekeeping 5 times before I finally managed to get laundry delivered back to my room. No explanations, nothing. Room service? Wait 1hr and call - 'we'll call you back" - err.. no you won't.

The Crowne used to be able to get away with this kind of couldn't-care-less attitude and poor room maintenance because it was the only game in town if you wanted to be in town and at a half-decent hotel. Over the last couple of years, a great many business-people and visiting Consultants nd so on have gravitated away to either the Grand Papua and/or the Airways. At K900 (USD400) per night, we deserve better.

Room Tip: One with working air-con. Don't be fobbed-off.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malfunction99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the level of service you received. It is definitely not acceptable and your feedback has been shared with the team.

I understand how frustrating some of the situations you have described can be and we are working hard to train our team to better look after our guests.

If you do choose to stay with us again I ask that you contact me personally so that I can ensure a great experience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    58
    61
    16
    8
See reviews for
5
9
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I can not believe this Hotel carries the very good name of Crowne Plaza our bookings were stuffed up( so glad I took my iPad to prove it had been booked and payed for) room was dirty and smelt of mould we had no towels. food was average but I must admit the staff were very friendly.This Hotel is in need of a serious update to bring it in line with Crowne Plaza standards.

Room Tip: Stay at Airways
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razor796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the level of service you received. It is definitely not acceptable and your feedback has been shared with the team.

If you do choose to stay with us again I ask that you contact me personally so that I can ensure a great experience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Moresby hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at the Crowne due to domestic flight cancellation, so was at the expense of Air Niugini, perhaps this had a bearing on how ordinary we found it. Our room was clean, and so was the bathroom, but unfortunately an unpleasant musty smell in the room. The bed was very comfortable, but the bed covering (bedspread) was not looking so clean. Nothing at all in minibar and after 4 calls to try and get some bottled water we gave up. We ate in the restaurant which was pleasant enough and food was of reasonable standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received. It is defiantly not our usual standard and I have personally spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Housekeeper to prevent it occurring again.

We were very pleased to hear you found our rooms and bathroom clean and beds comfortable.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have had a 47 year association with PNG & I've seen this hotel from it's birth (under a different brand) & I've stayed here many times, had many a fine meal and enjoyed the company of friends at numerous functions. I stayed here again this month on a visit to Port Moresby, and while the staff did their best to make my stay as comfortable as possible (for which I say "thank you"), the Crown Plaza is now a rather tired old lady, resting on her laurels of a bygone era. The hotel needs refurbishing, from top to bottom. Gone are those halcyon days, with average 80% occupancy and little competition. It's time for this hotel to re-invent itself!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255069GeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear 255069GeeBee,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Crowne Plaza around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding being dated. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I left the Grand Papua Hotel and moved over to the Crowne Plaza because not only could they provide me internet service, they gave me access to the executive lounge. It was a great deal. The internet worked fine and I was happy on that score.

The staff were very responsive and took great care of me. The breakfast good, the bacon among the best I have ever tasted. Also, the fresh scones were to die for. In the lounge, evening happy hour, wine was open pour, hard liquor on request. The grazing was good (not great, but pretty good), and one could easily make dinner of it. My room was clean, the bed excellent, and I slept well. There is a nice pool and a small spa if you want some very competent pampering. It is not a new hotel. If you have to have shiny, go next door. But for service orientation, good dining, and friendly staff, choose the CP.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular liked our Club Lounge and breakfast facilities.

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our team. They work extremely hard every day to ensure our guests have a great experience when staying at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and they will take a lot of inspiration from your feedback.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong KOng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

They call the country land of the unexpected and that's OK, but if you want to experience the hotel of excuses try this property if you want to believe in incompetence, excuses and absolutely the worst service in the world. When you ask for something expect fairy tales and happy horse.
I have stayed here several times and it's always the same, of course I'm forever hopeful that it's changed it hasn't. Management never replies and even a simple request for some ice takes 4 requests and then the usual answer is there is no ice left. Go down to the lounge and you will see ice. Bad Food, Bad service and Bad attitude shrouded by polite incompetence.

Room Tip: If you can get a room less than 400 consider yourself lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my sincere apologies for level of service you received. It is definitely not the usual level of service here at the hotel.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our team to ensure the issues you have highlighted are rectified.

I have also sent you a personal message with my contact details for you to contact me when you next travel to Port Moresby so that I can ensure you have a great stay if you choose to stay with us.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Enjoyed a 3-night stay. Made my booking online and found myself on 6th floor which entitled me to club amenities (private lounge, gym, etc) although I did not have the time to use them. Room was a good size (two queen-size beds) , modern and very clean and had a good view of the city centre. TV reception was good and room was air conditioned. Extras included security safe and ironing board. Only niggle was lateness of room servicing (not till late afternoon on one of the days). A feature I much appreciated was the elevator security card access to the guest room areas. In fact the standard of general security at the Crown was very reassuring (a must in Port Moresby). Main restaurant staff very welcoming, menu was varied and good value buffet meals were on offer. All staff encountered were very polite, friendly and helpful. One area I found could be improved was the business centre. The computers provided were tired and very very slow. In the end I gave up trying to use the internet. Any regular traveller to Port Moresby will understand that exorbitant prices and indifferent service are par for the course. But on this occasion I can say I enjoyed my stay at the Crown Plaza and will return there on my next business trip.

Room Tip: I only tried one room and it was very good: very clean, well furnished, quiet with good city view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Kiwi_Wanderer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. I am pleased to read that we met most of your expectations. I note your points regarding the lateness of room servicing and the less than satisfactory products in the business centre. In regard to the room servicing, when you are next staying with us , please advise us of your preferred servicing time and we will ensure your room is done at that time. The business centre products will be rectified over the coming months. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#6 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Property: Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Address: Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Port Moresby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and you'll discover a different perspective on Papua New Guinea. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is situated on a hilltop in the heart of the business district and commands panoramic views of the Coral Sea and surrounding inland areas.Conveniently located 15 minutes from Jackson's International Airport, it makes visiting Port Moresby a highly comfortable prospect for business traveller. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby's contemporary design is unique, capturing the rich vibrant essence of the indigenous culture. With superior accommodation, an Executive Club Lounge Floor, guest facilities and business services, Crowne Plaza welcomes you to a safe,secure and relaxing haven in Port Moresby. For someone who travels often for business, the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is a welcoming oasis that sets a new standard in hotel accommodation for Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing