We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stay at the Airways on a regular basis and it is clean and safe and the staff are friendly.
However when you realise staff wage levels are about the same as Thailand it is very expensive.Perhaps high occupancy rates and most guests are corporate clients explains this.

I had dinner on 10 April and chose one of the specials which entitles one to the buffet items
as well ,but when I went to get a small desert (from the buffet) I was charged an additional K27.
This has not happened before and gave the impression of trying to gouge you at every opportunity. The internet charges are also very high.
There is also a K70 charge for using the gym ,most hotels in the US$400+ range have complimentary gym usage.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dera Denis B

We appreciate your loyalty in choosing to stay with Airways. Thank you. Also for your comments. I understand your comments regarding the wage however as you may know there are other costs involved like security, electricity, water etc. I must mentioned that all staff are on the same wage, it differs from experience, skills and time in service. We have some very loyal staff with us over 10 years or more.
You are right that the specials include the buffet and gives our guests a great value. My apologies as the team has charged you K27 which they should not have. As a regular guest, when you return back, We are happy to make your whole dinner bill complimentary and refund your K27.
The internet as you may know is very expensive in PNG. However we provide better value for your money than other hotels in Port Moresby.
We have three category of rooms, the Dakota, Fountain and Bacchus wing. The amenities, benefits and services differ in each wing according to the rates.
I will be only too happy to extend the Gym facilities to you on your next visit.

I thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Airways.
With Regards
Sushil Gordon

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    143
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
54
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

The deli and vespa restaurant is a very pleasant place for dining. The pasta night on Saturday offers value for money and chef Kardik always makes you feel welcome. Ask for the Chicago style pizza as it's awesome !

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hello Sannon S

I am pleased to know that you like our Flat Breads (Pizzas) in the Vespa Room.
Vespa room is our latest addition to our Deli KC. Chef Kartik has been here for a short while and brings a wealth of knowledge from around the world. He personally make sure that all are guests enjoys his food. I guess this is his passion. We do may spaecials in all of our food and beverage outlets. Daily specials to monthly events and guest chefs. While we have menus in all outlets, we also encourage our guests to let us know what they would like us to cook and if we have the ingredients, we are only too happy to oblige. Please come and try our new cheese in the cheese room. Really great at fantastic prices.

Thank you once again and we will see you at the Vespa Room soon.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Enjoyable.Very good staff and food excellent.I conducted three meetings and all went well

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Hello Manfred

Thank you for feedback and your business.
We are committed to our guests in providing warm and efficient service and quality products. Our hotel security is headed by qualified professionals to ensure all our guests feel safe and can move freely on the vast hotel grounds.

We hope to see you soon at the Airways.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here by accident as Air Niugini put me up here after they caused me connection problems. I arrived here stressed, tired and angry after a long business trip to PNG. This place was a revelation. It was smart, had a choice of restaurants and bars and was very similar to a European Hotel in facilities, standards and service. The bars and restaurants up the hill (strange obsession with having to use your room card to get anywhere, which seemed a little unnecessary but hey, they're the locals and Moresby is 'dodgy') were excellent. Enjoyed the beers, the music and the fact there was a choice of bars and food. Had the buffet which was lovely and really cheered me up. The wine was reasonably priced (i.e. not a rip off) and watching a distant storm while eating on the terrace was something I won't quickly forget. I would recommend this place if you need to stay in Moresby but then hey I wasn't paying!

Room Tip: I would think up the hill is better than the ground level rooms but can't say for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hello Mark F

It a pleasure to read comments like your as you certainly recognise a good product when you see it. Thank you for taking the time to write good comments about Airways.

The fittings and furnishing at Airways have been passionately selected. The moment you arrive at the circular driveway, the hand carved giant wodden pillars by the local artists, welcoming gold plated candlelit bowls, Real C47 wing check in counter(rest of the plane hangs above), The framed pictures of the hands and faces of the tallented craftsmen and women who build the building lined the corridors of Dakota wing and the list goes on and on.
Our buffet is getting a lot of attention as it is presented beautifully, tastes great and value for money.
I agree the lighting show was spectacular. (We knew you were coming).
We hope to see you again at the Airways soon

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Airways for a week recently in their Bacchus wing and were very happy with our experience. It's astounding how much the hotel has accomplished given the limitations of being in Port Moresby (don't get me wrong, I loved the city but it is definitely not safe). The hotel is very safe, stylish, comfortable, welcoming and beautiful. The staff were absolutely lovely and we had a great time chatting with the Executive Chef (who also happens to be from Canada). The staff went out of their way to accommodate any requests we had. The food was great and we spent many hours by the poolside restaurant nibbling on snacks and drinking good wine. The view from the 7th floor is quite incredible. There is so much to do in the hotel and we barely scratched the surface. Havanaba was great as well and the gift shop at the hotel carries some really nice looking local art. Too bad never got to try the spa. We'll be back again for sure. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel in Port Moresby - this is totally worth it.

Room Tip: We picked Bacchus and were happy with it for the beautiful view and space. If you are the type to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hello Amna B
Thank you for your comments on our rooms, FB product and the staff.
We train our staff daily either in a class room or on job and its nice to know that its all going towards enhancing our guest's experience at Airways. The team is very flexible to out guests needs and will go the extra mile to exceed their expectations.
Eversince the new Chef has arrived we have changes all our menus and have lots of specials and promotions in all our food outlets so our inhouse and local guests can enjoy a variety of options.
Please enjoy the Spa next time with our best compliments.

We lokk forward to welcoming you to Airways and PNG on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Weekend of 14-16 April in a Dakota room. Very nice, Once you've done Dakota, doubt you could do another room type. Butler service, free cocktails (bubbles and martinis), free light antipasto lunch + champagne. Rooms lovely, TV above the bath.. divine. Had great couples massage at the spa - really lovely. My only complaint that Airways are still blocking money on our credit card, bill was finalised on check-out and yet $600 kena or $291 AUD is still in limbo, which is very annoying. My husband is currently getting the run-around via email.

Room Tip: Dakota, facing airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hello Goreid


Thank you for choosing Airways for your stay and some wonderful comments on the rooms and the service !!! I am really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our Spa is the best Spa and offers great service and treatments.

The credit card pre authorisation is taken upon check in. The money is not with Airways but with the guest's bank. As a policy of that particular bank that block time may differ. The delays are not from our side.

We apologise for the inconvinience.

We hope to see you soon at the Airways.
Next time you should try the Bacchus Restaurant. Outstanding food and service.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A chauffeured limousine pickup direct from the international arrivals hall, immediate check-in, an escort to a Dakota Room with an explanation of hotel facilities along the way, a huge spacious room, spotlessly clean with air-con pre-coolling for the arrival makes for a pretty impressive first impression. Butler service that offer to clean shoes and press clothing as well as access to 3 stunning club lounges only add to what can only be described as a world class hotel. Very impressive in a country that I quickly learnt has many challenges in conducting business.

Room Tip: The Dakota Rooms are excellent so I can only imagine what the junior suites and suites are like. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereswally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hello Whereiswally

Thank you for staying at Airways Hotel and taking the time to write the review.
Our product is well thought out with a clear vision of what our guests want and years of training of our staff. The training is everyday on job and also in the classes conducted by our qualified Group Director of Professional Development through AHLA. I am thrilled to see that it is passed on to our guests for a truley memoriable stay. Afterall that is our ultimate goal.
The butler service as you mentioned is very unique, from coffee with your wakeup call, shoe polish, pressing clothes, running baths, making all your arrangements for just about anything really. The lounges are designed to relax, unwind and refresh you. Each and every thing in the hotel has a littel story to it, the photos of the hands and faces of the people who made this place, the actual wing of the plane as a checking desk, gold plated lights that gives a distinctive glow, the sound of Piano in the lobby in the evenings, the open wide spaces and the hanging plane over Dakita wing.
Thank you for recognising our service.

We hope to see you soon at the Airways on your next visit.
With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing