We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but it's POM.”
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The service here is extremely good, the room prices are very high, but the food is excellent, the breakfast buffet has something for everyone, the omelettes are great, some rooms are a little dated and if possible avoid rooms 2041 to 2045 as they're on the ground level sandwiched between the carpark (complete with shotgun carrying Guard) and the access walkway to other areas of the hotel, the constant opening and closing of the access doors, and the aircon units nearby, make for quite noisy rooms. Having said that the beds are some of the most comfortable I've been in so it still made for a restful sleep using a pillow over my head. .

The rest of the hotel is definitively the best in Moresby.

Room Tip: avoid 2041 to 2045
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent_fly_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Hello Frequent_Fly_1977

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent visit and your comments.

Firstly my apologies that you could not get a good night sleep as that is our number one priority in rooms as we understand that our guests are traveling and often have very early start for their meetings.

The security for our guests is to make them feel secured and not be intimidated by it. We have an excellent record. Our security is first class and run by industry professionals.

You are right that we have Aircon compressors on the ground floor however we have never had a comment of being noisy as they are super quite. Our maintenance deaprtment has checked them to ensure. We have now adjusted the doors also so the sound is not heard in the room.

Our room prices are comarable with the similar star hotels in Port Moresby. We have hot spots around the hotel for the guests to surf the net free of charge 24 hours. Martini hours and small eats. When you compare the amenities and inclusions, we always come out in front. We can not compete with some of the other hotels in Port Moresby. I am sure you will understand why.

Thank you for noticing the variety and quality of our food. We only choose high quality ingredients and it shows in the taste..

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you at Airways Hotel very soon.

Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

In country where most of the 5* hotels are somewhat faded glories, this was a pleasant contrast. International standard 5* facilities, huge luxurious suites and an stunning rooftop restaurant/pool complex with stunning views over the airfield. Security is obviously the number 1 concern here, and a combination of fencing, moats, multiple armed guards, and several layers of keycard security means you're as safe as you're ever going to be in Moresby. Service was generally efficient and friendly - although areas like the restaurant and bars sometimes suffer a bit from being OVERstaffed! In all - recommended - and much better value than other top end PNG hotels.

Room Tip: I booked the standard rooms and got a free upgrade to a Dakota Suite. Worth asking as this seems lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Hello TimS1980

Thank you for your comments.

Our facilities and first class and we take care of our guests as they are reason we are here. The security is run by very experinced, fully trained professionals with International experience.

As our ongoing commitment to local schools and colleges, we take on jobs trainees throughout the year to enhance their hands on job experience. You may have noticed a number of them in all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

Always a pleasure.

With Regards
Ssuhil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Last stayed at Airways 18 months ago and it is great to see that it is still excellent. When compared to the other hotels in POM it is great value and as hotel prices in Australia steadily increase. what once looked expensive is now reasonable especially given the amazing facilities and service that you receive at Airways. The Health Club; The Spa, The butler service, The Club floor lounges,The retail outlets and not to mention the food.

Room Tip: Get a Dakota Wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereswally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Hello Whereswally2010

Thank you for choosing Airways hotel again for your recent stay in POM.

Airways Hotel has been here for the last 26 years and have the reputaion for best facilities, food and service. I agree with you regarding the facilities and the service for our guests. We have guests like yourself who return to POM and choose to stay with us due to this.

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Airways on your next visit. Always a pleasure.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed there on a business trip and I was really impressed.I thought it was an amazing high quality hotel that would make visitors happy even if it was located in a much more developed destination. For PNG it is just like out of this world.The staff is so nice and friendly, the rooms are incredibly nice and comfortable and there are many lovely dining options.The spa is wonderful too.I would love to visit it sometime again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello Elis21

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing comments.

Its always nice to hear good things from our guests. We try every possible way to make our guests feel special during their stay. Nothing is too much trouble no matter how big or small. Its nice to know that all our training behind the scenes is working. Our staff are friendly naturally. Some of the staff have been here for a very long time and some have two generations working with us.

Four food and beverage outlets give our guests a good selection to choose from. The four Lounges have WIFI free internet and couple of them offer 24 hour tea, coffee, cookies etc.

We have just won the "Best Hotel Spa" Award for 2013 and working hard to get the 2014 one.

Thank you once again and I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and will return to Airways.

Look forward to seeing you soon at the Airways.

With Best Regards
Sushil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Airways Hotel , the only hotel in Port Moresby where you can feel really safe and sound. Good selection of food. The coffee shop is like being back in the Mediterranean. And the health spa allows you to escape everything. For those of you that have to come to PNG, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I do not think that you could get a bad room at this resort, because of its layout. However you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello Kokofoxy

Thank you for your comments. It looks like that you used all facilities and enjoyed your stay with us.

You will be very surprised to see a revamp of Deli KC with some very unusual Anti Pasti and other goodies. We are working on that and it should be ready early next month.

Our hotel is safe and security is managed by Internationally trained and experienced professionals backed by many 24 HOUR CCTV cameras. The guests can walk around freely on our property and also the park that overlook the Airport, Owen Stanley Ranges and the ever so calm Bootless Bay.

Thank you once again and We look forward to seeing you at the Airways soon.

Best Regards
Sushil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was my third visit to airways and overall services seem to have improved now. The quality of service in all the restaurants is better, the food is improved wonderfully, the staff at reception has improved ...especially this lovely girl meenakshi with her ever helping approach, sense of urgency and smile has really changed my perception about the reception of airways...as in earlier days it used to be a bit grouchy but not anymore!! However the bacchus wing that i stayed in seemed a bit out of place...you are actually required to walk a long way to get to it while going to or coming from restaurants on the 7th floor. The room otherwise was fine with all the necessities and clean standards. The lounges, while moving up/down through the elevator, look great. Would definitely opt for one of those rooms next time.

Way to go Airways..!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel70_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello travel70_13

Thank you for your comments and your business. It is refreshinng to know that our guests are noticing the positive change.

We work hard to ensure that our guests feel special when they stay with us. This is our main objective.

I totally agree that Bacchus wing is a bit far from the 7 floor Vue Restaurant however there is Bacchus restaurant in this wing for guests to enjoy. May be try Bacchus restaurant next time.

Thank you for your compliments!! We are trying our best and now its showing results. I have passed on your comments to Minakshi and she is thrilled to know that she is recognised by you for her good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

Best Regards
Sushil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It is relible and responsible hotel. Not only the overall services are the highest 5 stars international standard but also the rates are very competitive from what you get from other hotels. I arrived without booking and I tried with the hotel representatives at the exit to find out the cost and the provided services. Only Airways had strait answers and clear level of services and propably the only one who offers 24 hours FREE INTERNET . Not in the room but at the 2nd floor. The proposed by many hotels expensive "internet card" it is a rip off .It expires before you realize it. Check the Internet for rates some times are even lower than at the hotel itself. Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Chose thre ones in the main building not in Bacchus wing to be closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello BIZAS

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to know that you had a great stay with us on your recent visit to Airways.

As per your comments, our internet hot spots are 24 hours and also free to all our guests regardless to the room categories. Our rates inroom also give you better MB than the others. Sometimes we have packages that include free WIFI internet in your room.

We have three categories of rooms and the Bacchus wing is the original. Lot of our regular guests prefer those rooms as they are much bigger and somehow has private access.

I hope that you will return back to Airways soon.

Best Regards
Sushil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
203 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lamana Hotel
Lamana Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: £160 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing