We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient, near airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“convenient, near airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Shuttle bus to and from air terminal to hotel is provided. Security is provided at the hotel, which regrettably is essential in PNG. Don't need to travel into Moresby, a very dangerous place. Generally good but a bit warn in places. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello GoldCoastOzzie

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our security is is the the best and is run by industry qualified professionals. Alot of our guests do travel back and forth from Morsby daily. As anywhere in the world one needs to aware of the surrounds and apply common sense.

Our Vue restaurant refurb is due to start in Late January.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Airways.

Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    143
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
54
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second stay at Airways, the last one being 18 months ago. As last time, it was a wonderful, relaxing experience. This is a true luxury hotel that keeps getting better: better wifi access, better live music, updated menu... The staff were extremely helpful. Some of them remembered us and it was a pleasure catching up with them. We stayed at the Bacchus wing again though I'd like to give Dakota or Fountain rooms a try next time. The room was very clean with excellent servicing on a regular basis. We were fortunate to hear the local jazz group play at the Vue restaurant and they were very, very good. I wish we had more time to listen to them again. This is hands-down my favourite hotel. Beautiful landscapes and an amazing view of the mountains/sea/airport runway makes you feel like you have escaped to another world. Highly recommended. Do not bother staying anywhere else when in Port Moresby.

Room Tip: Free wifi at 7 C's lounge and main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello AmnaB

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent stay in Port Moresby again. We appreciate your business.

Thank you for noticing the changes. Our other guests love it too. Especially the 24 hour free WIFI internet in the lobby, 7Cs, Fountain Lounge and the Dakota Lounges.

Thank you for your recommnedation. Yes I agree we are the best in POM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My room was paid by someone else. Don't know if I'd spend this much just for a room. But the only hotel I've been to in PNG that both has international standards of service and a PNG flavour. And decent Indian food even.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello Nipsco

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgemt of our standards and service.

Our first core value is to be customer focused. We like to make our guests feel special every time.

Like any other hotel, we have different rates for different rooms. I can very comfortably say that our rates are very competetive and are evident on booking engines. Best rates are on our Airways website.

Thank you once again and will see you soon at the Airways.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is my first time visit to PNG, stayed 3 nites 18 oct at Airways Hotel was very near to airport, less than 5 minutes. Facing to the sea(not much) and airport but not noisy at all, good view from the 7th floor restaurant for morning and evening, very relax.

They have car standby at the airport, my room come with complimentary limo transfer. Safe hotel with security and guns. Every sunday has live band at 7th breakfast restaurant next to poolside from afternoon till late.Bacchus fine dining restaurant was very good, especially fish was very fresh, good service.

Hotel and room was very clean as they have plenty staffs working around the hotel, and all the staffs was very polite, great and helpful, clean white uniform. Bartender-Joe, manager-Ganish, front desk-Hermant & Dorathy, Bacchus restaurant-Sirek all were very good.

For more picture, refer to agoda website.

Room Tip: choose a room facing to airport and sea view with highfloor. some of the room no view and facing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_sr0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello David_SR0013

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgement of staff.
I am pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and experience the facilities and food.
We try and use fresh food as much as possible so the taste real comes through. Next time you have to try our Pizza and some the Italian dishes in our Deli KC. Its outstanding.
Some of staff have been here for a very long time and know all the regular guests. The staff is our greatest asset.
We hope we can see you soon again at the Airways Hotel.

Thank you.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Overall it is an international standard hotel. Staff are friendly and courteous. Nice restaurant with views, pleasant efficient staff and food good. Overall very good and looking forward to my next stay in mid October - would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoinetteS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello Antoinettes1104

Thank you for choosing the Airways for your recent visit to Port Moresby and you comments.

Our first Core Value is that we are Customer Focused. Every thing revolves around this value.
I am plesaed to hear that it is evident to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on the way in and out six times this year. The location of the hotel makes it the best choice in Port Moresby, along with the security. The tropical gardens are pleasant and add to the ambiance. The staff are very willing and helpful. However, a number need further training and in fairness may have not been working at the hotel for very long. The menus in 7th floor food outlets need to change and be revised. Each time the same thing is on offer. The breakfast is good, but not outstanding. The view from the 7th floor, over the airport with the hills as a backdrop, is spectacular. On the 7th floor there should be a better bar to stand/sit up and possible strike up a conversation with a fellow guest. As is stands, to my mind, you take a drink at a table alone. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, but the furniture is just ordinary. The whole hotel could do with a little facelift to make it look more atractive. For the international traveller their are not sufficient number of TV channels, really the channels on offer are certainly not the best available. This is one area where a big improvement could be made at relatively low cost. The room charges are high for what you get, but I suspect that the prices are driven by the PNG LNG project and lack of competition in Port Moresby. This hotel would not be considered 5 star in the USA or Europe. By most international standards, a 4 star hotel at the maximum.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room. You pay your money and make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalagaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hello MalagaCF

Thank you for making Airways your first choice to stay on POM.

Thank you for your suggestions and comments.
We are in process of refurbishing our restaurant and bar. Some of the lounges and rooms will also see a soft refurb.

As for the prices, you may know that POM hotel prices are generally expensive. I am sure that there are other hotels that are not expensive and you will get get what you pay for.

We are very proud of our service standards as I know our staff bend backwrads to make each guests stay comfortable.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you at Airways on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern irealnd
Level Contributor
200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the Airways for almost 2 weeks whilst on business. I had read reviews of the other hotels and although cheaper, they were not rated as highly as the Airways. For a long stay I wanted comfort and security and Airways provided this. I had originally booked a Bacchus room but was upgraded to one with executive business lounge access which gave me free Wi-Fi plus drinks in the evening between 5pm and 7pm. The room was large and had everything I needed. It was kept very clean throughout my stay.
I had breakfast each day and thought it was excellent with lots of choice and very attentive staff. In the evenings I had a number of meals at the deli and again I thought these were good standard with prices very similar for whatever you wanted. I ate at the restaurant in the evening once - the Indian buffet- which is recommended. I also had one meal at Bacchus restaurant which while very tasty was not really worth the extra cost.
Lovely swimming pool with just enough seats for everyone who wanted to lie out.

The staff were unfailingly helpful - especially the restaurant manager who covered the deli in the evening and the restaurant in the morning quite often. I spoke with the hotel manager a couple of times and observed that he was a very hands on manager ensuring that customers were being looked after and quick to address any problems. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Probably rooms upstairs are better than those on the ground floor simply due to the staff walking on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hello Pillhill

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your 2 week stay and your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our very best to ensure that our guests have a comfortable exprience. Thank you for all the kind words. Our first core value is looking after our guests and ALL staff follow that. All of us are hands on to listen and adjust when we have to for our guests needs.

I hope we can see you again on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing