We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very safe place to stay.. but check your room for mosquitos!”
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel offers free airport transfers, has ample security and the staff were helpful. Their was free wifi in the lounge areas and overall the place is nice. It does look nicer on the website however compared to the real thing!

The rooms were clean and tidy to a good standard, however I spent half the night squashing mosquitos.. I am guessing the house cleaners left the door open when they cleaned but the amount that were in the room was ridiculous for a country where malaria is a problem. My night was spent waking to waves of attacks.. squashing over 15 mozzies to me is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel and left me leaving tired and overall disappointed. My suggestion would be to check the room thoroughly when you first get in and if like me you find there are a few call housekeeping and get some spray!

On the upside the room service was good, I had the flatbread pizza which was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool/restaurants to save a walk :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozzcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hello Ozzcam

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not get any sleep at all.

We understand that we are in tropics and we also have nice gardens around thats why we take extra precautions. All ground floor rooms have strips under the front doors to stop any insects getting in. Monthly fogging around the hotel and residences. Cetronella oil burners etc.

But you are right that mosquitos can still come in from outside however 15 in one room!

Our staff are always ready to help our guests in any which way we can. I wish you called us in the night.

Thank you for your comments about the restaurant service and the Flatbreads.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Airways on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Airways Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Shuttle bus to and from air terminal to hotel is provided. Security is provided at the hotel, which regrettably is essential in PNG. Don't need to travel into Moresby, a very dangerous place. Generally good but a bit warn in places. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello GoldCoastOzzie

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our security is is the the best and is run by industry qualified professionals. Alot of our guests do travel back and forth from Morsby daily. As anywhere in the world one needs to aware of the surrounds and apply common sense.

Our Vue restaurant refurb is due to start in Late January.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Airways.

Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second stay at Airways, the last one being 18 months ago. As last time, it was a wonderful, relaxing experience. This is a true luxury hotel that keeps getting better: better wifi access, better live music, updated menu... The staff were extremely helpful. Some of them remembered us and it was a pleasure catching up with them. We stayed at the Bacchus wing again though I'd like to give Dakota or Fountain rooms a try next time. The room was very clean with excellent servicing on a regular basis. We were fortunate to hear the local jazz group play at the Vue restaurant and they were very, very good. I wish we had more time to listen to them again. This is hands-down my favourite hotel. Beautiful landscapes and an amazing view of the mountains/sea/airport runway makes you feel like you have escaped to another world. Highly recommended. Do not bother staying anywhere else when in Port Moresby.

Room Tip: Free wifi at 7 C's lounge and main lobby.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello AmnaB

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent stay in Port Moresby again. We appreciate your business.

Thank you for noticing the changes. Our other guests love it too. Especially the 24 hour free WIFI internet in the lobby, 7Cs, Fountain Lounge and the Dakota Lounges.

Thank you for your recommnedation. Yes I agree we are the best in POM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My room was paid by someone else. Don't know if I'd spend this much just for a room. But the only hotel I've been to in PNG that both has international standards of service and a PNG flavour. And decent Indian food even.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello Nipsco

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgemt of our standards and service.

Our first core value is to be customer focused. We like to make our guests feel special every time.

Like any other hotel, we have different rates for different rooms. I can very comfortably say that our rates are very competetive and are evident on booking engines. Best rates are on our Airways website.

Thank you once again and will see you soon at the Airways.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is my first time visit to PNG, stayed 3 nites 18 oct at Airways Hotel was very near to airport, less than 5 minutes. Facing to the sea(not much) and airport but not noisy at all, good view from the 7th floor restaurant for morning and evening, very relax.

They have car standby at the airport, my room come with complimentary limo transfer. Safe hotel with security and guns. Every sunday has live band at 7th breakfast restaurant next to poolside from afternoon till late.Bacchus fine dining restaurant was very good, especially fish was very fresh, good service.

Hotel and room was very clean as they have plenty staffs working around the hotel, and all the staffs was very polite, great and helpful, clean white uniform. Bartender-Joe, manager-Ganish, front desk-Hermant & Dorathy, Bacchus restaurant-Sirek all were very good.

For more picture, refer to agoda website.

Room Tip: choose a room facing to airport and sea view with highfloor. some of the room no view and facing to...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_sr0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello David_SR0013

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgement of staff.
I am pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and experience the facilities and food.
We try and use fresh food as much as possible so the taste real comes through. Next time you have to try our Pizza and some the Italian dishes in our Deli KC. Its outstanding.
Some of staff have been here for a very long time and know all the regular guests. The staff is our greatest asset.
We hope we can see you soon again at the Airways Hotel.

Thank you.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Overall it is an international standard hotel. Staff are friendly and courteous. Nice restaurant with views, pleasant efficient staff and food good. Overall very good and looking forward to my next stay in mid October - would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntoinetteS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hello Antoinettes1104

Thank you for choosing the Airways for your recent visit to Port Moresby and you comments.

Our first Core Value is that we are Customer Focused. Every thing revolves around this value.
I am plesaed to hear that it is evident to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on the way in and out six times this year. The location of the hotel makes it the best choice in Port Moresby, along with the security. The tropical gardens are pleasant and add to the ambiance. The staff are very willing and helpful. However, a number need further training and in fairness may have not been working at the hotel for very long. The menus in 7th floor food outlets need to change and be revised. Each time the same thing is on offer. The breakfast is good, but not outstanding. The view from the 7th floor, over the airport with the hills as a backdrop, is spectacular. On the 7th floor there should be a better bar to stand/sit up and possible strike up a conversation with a fellow guest. As is stands, to my mind, you take a drink at a table alone. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, but the furniture is just ordinary. The whole hotel could do with a little facelift to make it look more atractive. For the international traveller their are not sufficient number of TV channels, really the channels on offer are certainly not the best available. This is one area where a big improvement could be made at relatively low cost. The room charges are high for what you get, but I suspect that the prices are driven by the PNG LNG project and lack of competition in Port Moresby. This hotel would not be considered 5 star in the USA or Europe. By most international standards, a 4 star hotel at the maximum.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room. You pay your money and make your choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalagaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hello MalagaCF

Thank you for making Airways your first choice to stay on POM.

Thank you for your suggestions and comments.
We are in process of refurbishing our restaurant and bar. Some of the lounges and rooms will also see a soft refurb.

As for the prices, you may know that POM hotel prices are generally expensive. I am sure that there are other hotels that are not expensive and you will get get what you pay for.

We are very proud of our service standards as I know our staff bend backwrads to make each guests stay comfortable.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you at Airways on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
80 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#5 of 15 in Port Moresby
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#6 of 15 in Port Moresby
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: £162 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing