We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but High Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive but High Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Beautiful hotel,vast majority of guests here would be corporate clients.
Food is exceptional,breakfast and sushi lunch were really good.
Accommodation price is off the wall though,but this is what you pay in POM.
Very friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Brian M

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent visit and your your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and and the food.

Our food is fresh and we try not use any processed foods. All our pastry and bakery items are made daily in the hotel. Fish of the day is bought daily from the local market.

I agree with you that the prices of hotel rooms are high when you compare them to Asia. Some of the smaller properties in POM are charging good prices as this is the market here. We have three categories of rooms and the guests can choose according to their budget. our prices are very comparable and give the guests the value for money.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Airways on your next visit to POM-PNG.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    146
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
55
40
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel couple of times now. Every time I stayed it exceeded my expectations. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are elegant, food is good, however, improvement can be done in this area. I would especially commend the porters who are always there when you arrive and ready to take your luggage. Check in and check out process is also very smooth. The view of Jackson's airport runway is awesome in the night. But it's even magnifique in the morning when there is fog. I can recommend this hotel to any business and/or luxury traveller.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RaviFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello RaviFJ

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent visit to POM. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and the team look after you.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the room, restaurant food and the service. I am sure our staff will be very happy to hear your comments.

I would recommend a visit to our Spa and our Health and Fitness Club. The infinity pool has the best views of Owen Stanley Ranges, Bootless Bay, landing and take off of planes all day long!

We hope to see you at the Airways on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel offers free airport transfers, has ample security and the staff were helpful. Their was free wifi in the lounge areas and overall the place is nice. It does look nicer on the website however compared to the real thing!

The rooms were clean and tidy to a good standard, however I spent half the night squashing mosquitos.. I am guessing the house cleaners left the door open when they cleaned but the amount that were in the room was ridiculous for a country where malaria is a problem. My night was spent waking to waves of attacks.. squashing over 15 mozzies to me is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel and left me leaving tired and overall disappointed. My suggestion would be to check the room thoroughly when you first get in and if like me you find there are a few call housekeeping and get some spray!

On the upside the room service was good, I had the flatbread pizza which was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool/restaurants to save a walk :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello Ozzcam

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not get any sleep at all.

We understand that we are in tropics and we also have nice gardens around thats why we take extra precautions. All ground floor rooms have strips under the front doors to stop any insects getting in. Monthly fogging around the hotel and residences. Cetronella oil burners etc.

But you are right that mosquitos can still come in from outside however 15 in one room!

Our staff are always ready to help our guests in any which way we can. I wish you called us in the night.

Thank you for your comments about the restaurant service and the Flatbreads.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Airways on your next visit.

With Regards
Sushil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Shuttle bus to and from air terminal to hotel is provided. Security is provided at the hotel, which regrettably is essential in PNG. Don't need to travel into Moresby, a very dangerous place. Generally good but a bit warn in places. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello GoldCoastOzzie

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our security is is the the best and is run by industry qualified professionals. Alot of our guests do travel back and forth from Morsby daily. As anywhere in the world one needs to aware of the surrounds and apply common sense.

Our Vue restaurant refurb is due to start in Late January.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Airways.

Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second stay at Airways, the last one being 18 months ago. As last time, it was a wonderful, relaxing experience. This is a true luxury hotel that keeps getting better: better wifi access, better live music, updated menu... The staff were extremely helpful. Some of them remembered us and it was a pleasure catching up with them. We stayed at the Bacchus wing again though I'd like to give Dakota or Fountain rooms a try next time. The room was very clean with excellent servicing on a regular basis. We were fortunate to hear the local jazz group play at the Vue restaurant and they were very, very good. I wish we had more time to listen to them again. This is hands-down my favourite hotel. Beautiful landscapes and an amazing view of the mountains/sea/airport runway makes you feel like you have escaped to another world. Highly recommended. Do not bother staying anywhere else when in Port Moresby.

Room Tip: Free wifi at 7 C's lounge and main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello AmnaB

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent stay in Port Moresby again. We appreciate your business.

Thank you for noticing the changes. Our other guests love it too. Especially the 24 hour free WIFI internet in the lobby, 7Cs, Fountain Lounge and the Dakota Lounges.

Thank you for your recommnedation. Yes I agree we are the best in POM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My room was paid by someone else. Don't know if I'd spend this much just for a room. But the only hotel I've been to in PNG that both has international standards of service and a PNG flavour. And decent Indian food even.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello Nipsco

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgemt of our standards and service.

Our first core value is to be customer focused. We like to make our guests feel special every time.

Like any other hotel, we have different rates for different rooms. I can very comfortably say that our rates are very competetive and are evident on booking engines. Best rates are on our Airways website.

Thank you once again and will see you soon at the Airways.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is my first time visit to PNG, stayed 3 nites 18 oct at Airways Hotel was very near to airport, less than 5 minutes. Facing to the sea(not much) and airport but not noisy at all, good view from the 7th floor restaurant for morning and evening, very relax.

They have car standby at the airport, my room come with complimentary limo transfer. Safe hotel with security and guns. Every sunday has live band at 7th breakfast restaurant next to poolside from afternoon till late.Bacchus fine dining restaurant was very good, especially fish was very fresh, good service.

Hotel and room was very clean as they have plenty staffs working around the hotel, and all the staffs was very polite, great and helpful, clean white uniform. Bartender-Joe, manager-Ganish, front desk-Hermant & Dorathy, Bacchus restaurant-Sirek all were very good.

For more picture, refer to agoda website.

Room Tip: choose a room facing to airport and sea view with highfloor. some of the room no view and facing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_sr0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello David_SR0013

Thank you for your comments and acknowledgement of staff.
I am pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and experience the facilities and food.
We try and use fresh food as much as possible so the taste real comes through. Next time you have to try our Pizza and some the Italian dishes in our Deli KC. Its outstanding.
Some of staff have been here for a very long time and know all the regular guests. The staff is our greatest asset.
We hope we can see you soon again at the Airways Hotel.

Thank you.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing