We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hotel in PNG”
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester Hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in PNG”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

a big hotel with apartment blocks alongside the main block which are a bit of a walk. Very secure and altogether good if not remarkable except for the DC3 stuck in the side of the building! if you are travelling to PNG with any organised trip you are likely to end up here. You could do much worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building unless you need some exercise. Make sure you bring a spare sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumpole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Rompole70

Thank you for your comments.
I agree that our property is spreadout unlike a city hotel with a vertical building. The hotel and the residences are in one complex with lots of places to walk and relax including a park, Mini supermarket and a bank. All this is on our grounds and well protected by our round the clock security backed by the CCTV cameras.
The real DC 3 is hung by our Vue restaurant. One can acually visit the plane and see it from the inside.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Port Moresby.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    146
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
11
57
40
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent one night here at the conclusion to a cruise around the islands of Papua New Guinea. Our room was very large with 2 king sized beds. There was a large writing desk, settee, multi channel TV and many lights. The shower room-cum-toilet was really a one-off. All walls within were made of glass, so a see-through glass screen separates shower from wash basins! It was all up-to-the minute modern, with glass surface in washbasin area and large mirrow, including a magnifying mirror.

On the 4th floor the room was right by the lift, useful for the international dining room (7th floor) as well as ground floor reception and shops.

We had 4 meals at this hotel and all were very good. A wide choice was available at breakfast - as healthy or as fattening as you wished! It's your choice. The desserts at main meals were rather unusual - mainly small intricately decorated cakes and many of them. They were actually lovely but rich. People complained (as they do!) but I feel that when travelling abroad it is refreshing to come across different ideas. The other thing is that Papua New Guinea is a far flung location and I was impressed at the quality of training the kitchen staff must have received to produce what they do.

There were complaints that the staff were slow. The international restaurant is partly open to the elements with the air conditioning provided by two long suspended sheets of wood which sway from side to side, rather like an Indian punka wallah idea. They were not very effective for the staff and I thought they did well working in 27C with such high humidity to boot.

There was a large pool with sun loungers, although not many of the latter. Residents have free use of those facilities but not visitors.

The hotel and this restaurant overlook the airport runway and there are spectacular views of the highland area behind. At the entrance to the hotel driveway there is a small very well stocked supermarket with pharmacy counter, which proved useful for us. There are lovely gardens around the hotel for an amble and then take a coffee in the small cafe beside the restaurant.

We enjoyed our stay - thank you management.

Room Tip: Being on an organised tour we had no choice of room but a Dakota room to the rear of the hotel was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancslass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Iancslass67

Thank you for taking the time to write detailed comments of the facilities and services.
I am pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our facilities, food and service.

All our staff training is designed to groom our staff to provide efficient, warm and friendly service for our guests. Nothing is too much trouble. Special meals, special requests, anything at all.

Thank you and we hope that we will see you sometimes again on your new adventure to PNG.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've stayed here a few times for work.
I've always found the room to be comfortable and the meals to be quite good.
I have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.
The view of the airport is quite nice from the restaurant.
The Pizza cooked in the fireplace is really good !

The drinks are seriously overpriced !
and better Wifi coverage over the hotel would be nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Steve B

Thank you for always choosing Airways Hotel for your stay while in POM.

Thank you for your feedback. We are working with the out internet provider to increase the hot spots in the hotel. Currently our lounges, 7Cs cafe and some areas in the lobby have free WIFI for our guests.

We believe that our beverage prices are very competitive, We will review then again to ensure.

We hope to see you back at the Airways very soon. Your favourite Pizza and a glass of wine with our compliments on your next visit.

Thank you

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were stuck in PM for an extra day after our boat tour ended and we waited a day to catch a flight to Singapore.

We were very positively surprised by the quality of this hotel which overlooks the airport quite literally. The property is heavily guarded which is a bit creepy, but once inside, you feel like you might be in LA or San Diego.

The quality of service is outstanding. Everyone offered help and we enjoy how we were treated by the staff at all times. This hotel would compare very favorably to a Hyatt or other higher end American hotel, while the price is high, it is in line with the high prices of this region.

The hotel is very vertical and the pool and restaurant are outside on the 7th floor of the hotel. The food was great and the view over the pool and airport below us was great. After two weeks of adventure travel, a few hours of luxury were great. We had a package that gave us access to the lounge, free internet, and a top notch breakfast.

My daughter and I really enjoyed our day here. We felt pampered, welcome, and well attended to at all times. I would put this hotel in the top decile of tropical business type hotels that I have stayed at. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Lot of variety in views so ask when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medas2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Medas2005
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us.
We try very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay may that be for pleasure or for business.
You have said it all. We feel very proud that you comapred us to the big Hotel chains.

We hope that we can see you back in Port Moresby, PNG. There are so many places and things to see and its very different from everywhere else. Its just wonderful.

Thank you once again.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay here eve though I have been to Port Moresby multiple times. Hotel was close to the airport but you could hardly hear the planes. Room was fabulous and staff were present and helpful. Sheets were changed daily and bathroom was very clean. Enjoyed the spa as well which was reasonably priced. Breakfast was the same buffet as every other hotel. Only one thing that was not good was the wifi which was limited to certain areas. If this could be improved, this hotel is a must stay. Those who have visited PNG will know that safety is a main concern but at this hotel you will feel extremely safe. Will surely stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Govin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Govin80
Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent visit to POM.
Appreciate that you took the time to write about the facilities and service.
We have four lounges that provide free internet to our guests. There are also hot spots in one of cafes and part of the lobby. We are working on more hot spots around the hotel and also in some of the rooms.
Our security is run by industry qualified professionals. The hotel grouds are very safe to walk around and enjoy the gardens, The Views of Bootless bay,Airport and the Owen Stanley Ranges. Most days are spectacular.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Airways Hotel.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Airways Hotel is probably the best hotel in Port Morseby. Nice rooms, pools and gym etc. Staff are nice and friendly and security is tight (guards walk around with shotguns). The hotel is very expensive because of the lack of alternatives. It is also a 45 minute trip to the city because of traffic and road works. The hotel itself is very nice. My biggest issue with the place was a very serious stomach illness that I picked up in my 3 days in Moresby. There is a chance it may not have been from the hotel, but I only drank bottled water and ate every meal at this hotel so I don't really know where else it would have come from. Well 9 months of illness and 20kg weight loss later I may never be the same...and I won't be returning to Moresby any time soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hello Ant W

Thank you for your comments on the hotel services and security.
I have to agree with you that some days it takes a while to get to the city if ou go the way where there is roadworks. The alternate routes are much quicker. With the Pacific games coming in 2015 there is a lot of work that is being done in Port Moresby.
There are many hotels and Inns to suit any budget in the City however the guest has to choose what security, surrounds, facilities etc etc they want. I guess you pay for the comfort and services.

I am sorry to hear that you were ill. We serve many meals a day in the hotel and we get great reviews.

Once again thank you.

Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigieburn, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed in one of the two story, two bedroom units at the rear of the hotel, not in one of the main wings and this is for residential use not a standard hotel room, and the previous person (who was on R&R outside the country) hadn't cleared out his room so I had to put up with his dirty clothes, etc but the unit was clean and the bedding had been changed. I think the fact that the room had things in it was more a reflection of my employer and the previous tenant, rather than the hotel, though. Otherwise, the unit was fine and everything you'd expect from a basic 2 bedroom condo type unit.

Hotel facilities were nice enough but the business centre inside the old DC-3 was closed due to a lack of staffing. The main business centre in the hotel proper was open, though. There were a few restaurants to chose from and they were a bit pricey but most of the guests (myself included) were expat business customers on expense accounts. The pool are was clean and well presented although I didn't use it.

Staff, including the numerous security personnel (some of whom are armed) were all very professional, well presented and spoke English fairly well.

Unfortunately, like most of Moresby, it's unadvisable to venture beyond the hotel grounds without a local security escort during the day and NEVER at night. However, the hotel offers a 7-11 style mini mart, ATM machine and various other facilities on site so there's really no need to leave after hours. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Jackson's Airport and it is advisable to use this service rather than take taxis, or attempt to walk, even though the hotel is on the outskirts of the airport.

All in all, this hotel is not bad at all and I guess that's a good thing since I'll be spending at least 23 nights a year here from now on. It's also the ONLY hotel in POM that's approved by our security staff for us to use.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medic51vrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Medic5ivrf

Thank you for your comments!

My apologies on behalf of the Airways Residences regarding your room.

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel service and facilities. As you may be aware that we have few hot spots for free internet in the hotel now and the DC 3, which used to be an internet cafe is long closed as the hotel guests can surf the net free in the lounges and in other hot spots. The closure is certainly not due to lack of staff but lack of usage from the guests. The DC3 is still open and many of our hotel guests like to visit for pictures etc.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. Our prices are very competetive when you compare the prices of food in Moresby.

Thank you.

Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing