We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The view from the restaurant and bar is brilliant overlooking the airport from an elevated position is both relaxing and interesting.

The foyer and Check in is impressive as are the prices but the armed security comes at a cost.

The Meals are great with a goodly variety but not that expensive for what is offered.

The meeting rooms have all the required technical support and a quiet, the internet is fast and reasonably priced.

The guest rooms are spacious well appointed but do have the occasional mosquito buzzing around, so its worth asking for a can of spray and treat the room of an everning

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing and spray the room nightly for mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustang645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello Mustang645

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you think so highly of our hotel and service.

Appreciate you pointing out the Mosquito in your room.

At Airways compound we do fogging on regular basis and pest control on daily basis to control mosquitos and other insects as we understand that we are in the tropics. We can not control what comes from outside as we are open from all sides. I would imagine it is pretty similar to Queensland Australia.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways Hotel on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    146
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
55
40
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Airways Hotel is a great place to stay while in PNG. The rooms are quite nice and relatively spacious. There are amazing gym and spa facilities and a great lap pool for swimming in the morning. The restaurant by the pool has great views of the airport and surrounding area and a wonderful buffet on the weekend. After a few days in Port Moresby, you'll find that the majority of business is done in this hotel and everyone who is anyone comes through the hotel on a regular basis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Radu84

Thank you for taking the time to write comments on our services and facilities.
Our Spa has won "Best Hotel Spa" for 2013 and 2014. Very experienced and qualified physical therapists. A must stop over after a flight.

Vue restaurant has breakfast, lunch and dinner international buffet and also ala carte. Wednesday lunch Seafood Buffet, Saturdays is Indian buffet and Sunday is Bbq buffet. The Deli KC has many specials daily and Italian Anti Pasti Buffet on Thursdays.

Our hotel is sperad out with many public areas for guests to sit and relax and do business meetings. In addition to we alos have many borad rooms and function rooms for the guests to choose from. The 7 Cs, Deli KC, Vue bar, Bacchus bar and four lounges can be used for one to one meetings.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon at Airways Hotel on your next visit to PNG.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in a Dakota Suite. 2 storey room with a fantastic view of the airport runway through a floor to ceiling glass wall. They even provided a mounted telescope for viewing the beautiful hills behind the runway. Service is very attentive and quick although I was disappointed no one knew which channel the World Cup was on. Found it after missing 30 minutes of opening game. Security is tight with armed security as well as extensive control over access to internal areas of hotel. Breakfast is beautiful with sun shining in and a wide view of runway and hills. Airways would have to expand their rooms, services and facilities however, to compete with new hotels coming up. Adding a Chinese restaurant would help to address increasing visitors from Asia.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking runway. Although they are very expensive :-p
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Realfatfreddy

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Dakota Suite. It is the best I agree.
Really sorry to hear that you missed the first 30 minutes of your match. I hope your team won! Our sincere apologies. The staff should have known as it is on Kundu 2 channel and sometimes on SBS.

Thank you for suggestions. We are upgrading our services for our guests in coming months. Our Vue restaurant kitchen will go under refurb first and when it reopens, we will have an Asian section as well. Currently we have Asian inspired daily specials.

Hope to see you on your next visit to PNG.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Situated in an elevated position the restaurant and pool-area have commanding views over the aerodrome. Very hard to fault this hotel. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable, the service excellent, the food is of a high standard and the facilities whether you are there for business or pleasure are excellent. I have stayed there twice now and will no doubt book again for my next trip

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Trevh2

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your past two visits. I am happy to know that we met your expectations in every way.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways Hotel on your next visit to POM.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place is first class in every sense. Prince Charles has stayed here, and it has hosted visiting Prime Ministers and dignitaries. The best hotel in Papua New Guinea by a long shot. Plush, clean, secure, and handy to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Roger.M

Thank you for your comments!

You are right we have had many Presidents, Prime Ministers and other dignitaries.

It may sound like an old saying but its the truth that we take all our guests very seriously and apprictae their patronage. Everyone is a VIP at Airways!

Thank you once again and we hope to see you at Airways on your next trip to PNG!

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The airways overlooks Jackson international airport in Port Moresby. I recent had to go to PNG for work and we transited through Port Moresby on the way to our final destination. You are advised not to walk the short distance from the airport to the hotel on safety grounds, but the hotel has a representative at the both the international and domestic terminals. We then jumped into the hotel's shuttle bus for the short trip to the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they stored our equipment down stairs rather than us having to cart it all up stairs. Our first visit we had book in the Bacchus wing but were delighted when we were upgraded to the Dakota wing. Unfortunately as we arrived at 6pm and then had to depart by 7am for the next leg of our trip we were not able to enjoy all the benefits of the upgrade, but from what I could see the extra money would be worth it if you were staying for more a few days.
After completing our work elsewhere in PNG we flew back to Port Moresby on a Friday afternoon. Once again we found the hotel representative at the airport, I had rung the day before and confirmed our booking so we were expected at the airport. Our booking was for a room in the Bacchus wing but we did not get an upgrade, but having said that we were flying early the next morning back to Australia so we would not have been able to enjoy the amenities anyway. The Bacchus rooms are very comfortable and for those who don't have time for other things they are a very good option.
If all you are doing is transiting Port Moresby onto resorts or other cities in PNG then I have no hesitation in recommending the Airways Hotel.

Room Tip: Due to safety concerns, you should use the hotel shuttle bus and best of all it is a free service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieWanderer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Aussiewanderer730

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that all wnet well during your transfers.
I wish that you had a little more time to experience the hospitality and the facilities of the entire hotel. We have few food and beverage outlets, an award winning Spa and a state of teh art Health and Fitness Club with an infinity pool overlooking the runway and the Owen Stanley Ranges. Truely a sight!

Some times the category of rooms that a guest books sells out then with pleasure we upgarde some guests without any charge.

We hope that you come to PNG again and stay with us.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Airways Hotel last night and I must say it is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. I wasn't excited about having to layover in Moresby for a night and was pleasantly surprised by this gem of a hotel in a city with a very dangerous rep. The security here is excessively present at all times but this is necessary. The service here was incredible and better than what I would see in an expensive hotel in America. I got a chance to use the pool and it was great. My favorite thing about this hotel was its proximity to the airport. Watching the air traffic during my meals was fabulous. I had a Bacchus room and it was very clean and had every amenity promised. The bed was very comfortable. If I ever travel through Moresby again I would stay here for sure. The food in the upstairs restaurant was world class and not as expensive as one would think in a hotel like this. Stay here you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kava-kauboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello Kava-Kaubo2

Thank you for your comments.

I am happy to know that we met your expectation in every way during your stay.
Airways Hotel has been here for the past 27 years and it is owned and operated by the same owners, who are from Papau New Guinea.

Bacchus wing is our original wing and the rooms are very spacious. All over the the hotel the amenities are the same for the guests to enjoy.

The Views from our roof top Vue restaurant are amazing overlooking the runway, Bootless Bay and the Owen Stanley Ranges. Some mornings are breathtaking indeed.

Thank you commenting on our staff and service. Guest service is our first core value and it is refreshing to know that our guests can feel that too.

We hope to see you again soon at the Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing