We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserve support from travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rabaul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rabaul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rabaul
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Deserve support from travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is struggling against the effects of the volcanic fall out but despite this the staff remain friendly and helpfull. The food is excellent and is worth a visit for the food if you are in the area.

Given the attitude of the owner and staff they deserve to be supported by the traveller in order that this hotel can keep providing a service in this area.

The area is really quite safe if you want to wander about and soak in the PNG experience. The locals all want to say hello and there is nobody hustling you. Take a local bus ride (every 10 mins) to any place and the driver will drop you at the door and arrange pick up when you want. Rabaul has an amazing history there is plenty to see. The beach is only 5 mins walk away. The hotel staff will help all they can to make your stay a real adventure and a pleasure.

Aircon is available in most rooms which are clean and spacious. Anything you want just ask and they will do their best to provide or arrange it. Good range of TV channels for those waiting there on buisness.

Of all the hotels i have stayed in PNG this has to be the best overall. There is a range of accommodation to suit all pockets from back packer to business.

Close to the Digicell mast a good phone signal is available and is currently being upgraded to 3G so good choice for those on business or addicted to Facebook.

Room Tip: Not much to choose between rooms, if you dont like the one you get just ask and they will move you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickc607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    4
    7
    0
See reviews for
5
9
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a great experience! I stayed at the Rabaul Hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The staff are very helpful and accommodating and I would recommend taking full advantage of the many tours that they do, especially the Volcano Climb. The diving is excellent and the staff can point you to all of the hot spots for diving and help you out with all of the details for an fun day; they will even pack you a picnic lunch. The fishing is also great and the chef at their restaurant is happy to cook up any fish that you caught in any style, I would recommend his chinese style dishes as they are superb! The rooms are clean and serviced every day and there is round the clock security. Despite rumours, Rabaul is one of the safest places in PNG that I have visited and I would recommend staying there before Kokopo as it is closer to the action and much safer. The volcano added an awesome ambiance to the visit and is perfectly safe; it really is only a bit of noise, but the rooms take that away anyway. So, for all the action I would recommend staying in Rabaul at the Rabaul Hotel. It is an icon of the town and if you stay in Kokopo you are far away from all of the action and Rabaul is much safer. The food is superb, the staff are wonderful and it is where the adventure is at!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geeps P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Spent 2 nights here prior to joining our cruise - when we booked, we were a bit aprehensive, but need not have worried. We were welcomed on checkin and felt like part of the family during our stay. The hotel is located in the 'old' town and was actually 'dug out' of the ash that fell during the 1992 volcano eruption. The staff were just gorgeous - always smiling and nothing was a problem. Food was excellent, rooms a good size and kept spotless. There is a lot of history surrounding the area and visits can be arranged through the Hotel... also marvelous fishing....a very diverse and interesting spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent @ a full week over 2 periods in the Rabaul Hotel. Dispite lack of town development since the last volcanic eruption they have continued to provide good hotel services. Staff always friendly and helpful; food by the resident chef excellent- especially his chinese style dishes.Rooms large and cleaned daily. It is possible to arrange someone to drive you around the places of interest relating to the WWII period and the northern part of the island.
We were there for the celebration of national independence which was very interesting; a float parade followed by singing and dancing. This was followed by a boat race in the harbour the following day where good fun was had by all. We also spent a morning on a boat tour around the impressively large bay.
Airport transfer takes @ 1 hour from Kokopo.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duneidn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have stayed here a few times in the past few years. The hotel has quite a history, and a lot of nice stuff in the bar. Owner is friendly, and let me park my helicopter in the back yard! Nice food in the restaurant, and they provided a bodyguard for the trip to the airport in the morning.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leestream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent a whole weekend up in Rabaul to get away from POM and it was well worth it.
The hotel is in the old town which was destroyed during the eruption and you can walk from there to both the old ruins and the new town. The team offer a lot of excursions (defintitely recommended the early morning volcano trip as well as diving off the Duke of York islands) which are around 50 PGK. ask them and they'll take you wherever. The food was delicious and they organize takeaways for your trips. A little dear perhaps - it is a bit of an old complex - but definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the boys to take you to see the sunset from the other side of the town. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wow, what a great place. Was born in Rabaul in 1970 and first visit back in 36 years. Rabaul Hotel was a great place to stay with great food and very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were more than comfortable. Rabaul was devastated in 1994 by volcano's but is still very much a great place for tourist's to visit. With the help of Suzie and her staff we were able to find all of Rabaul's hidden treasures. I would recommend Rabaul and the Rabaul Hotel for the tourist who is looking for the "real local PNG experience". Thank you Suzie (and Charlie) for making my visit back to Rabaul the experience that will remain with me for ever. Peter Farland, Auckland, NZ.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room for extra comfort and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabaul
10.8 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
13.1 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
10.9 mi away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
167.9 mi away
Walindi Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabaul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabaul Hotel

Property: Rabaul Hotel
Address: 1 Mango Avenue, Rabaul, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Rabaul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rabaul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rabaul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rabaul Hotel, on famous Mango Avenue, is the longest established Hotel in the New Guinea Islands region. Witnessing post WWII reconstruction, Papua New Guinea's Independence, and surviving earthquakes and the Twin Volcanic Eruption of 1994, it really is the "Spirit of Volcano Town"! A must see for the adventurer, scuba diver or trekker, Rabaul Hotel is so close to the Volcano, you can smell it and within walking distances of the most significant historical landmarks such as the Montevideo Maru & Peace Memorial! Rabaul Town, described in its halcyon days as the "Pearl of the Pacific", is now sometimes described as the "Pompeii of the Pacific". Rabaul Hotel is committed to promoting sustainable eco-tours with locals guides. Whether you prefer plush tour coaches or a car with Driver, or a local guide, the Hotel will organise "When in Rome" Tours to suit all budgets. We also have a Rabaul Town Shuttle Bus that circumnavigates the Town area for a small fee. Bus No#7a from the Rabaul Market or they will stop and pick you up anywhere along the Malaguna Road and can take you to Rabaul Hotel Rabaul Town locals are friendly, enthusiastic with an intimate knowledge of their surrounds. For a small fee we can arrange visitors to be escorted on "paths less travelled". These include treks to the top of Kabui Mountain (Mt. Mother - 2000 feet), Canoe trips Mt. Tavurvur Volcano, with visits to the Mega-pode Farm & Hot Springs along the way. Rabaul Hotel will also organise scuba diving on the many wrecks in Simpson Harbour or snorkelling/fishing around the Beehives. The Hotel Restaurant, "Phoenix Room", boasts an extensive Western, Asian & Vegetarian Menu, catering to all tastes. All rooms are air conditioned with en-suite. The swimming pool is easily accessible & the Hotel Lounge Bar, with its giant billiards table & memorabilia, is always fully stocked ready for the 'apres adventures' de-brief, back at the hotel. HERE FOR A DAY ON A CRUISE SHIP - Rabaul Hotel is within walking distance of the wharf. Let us organise a Historical Rabaul Town Tour or a Walking Tour of the Town with local guides, or perhaps you would just like to sit by the Rabaul Hotel 23m swimming pool and enjoy a local "South Pacific Lager"? Why not stay with us on ANZAC Day where the echo's of the past are re-lived at the famous Rabaul Dawn Service at the RSL Cenotaph within walking distance of the Hotel. If you are visiting Papua New Guinea, make sure you set aside a few days to visit one of the most amazing places in the South Pacific - Rabaul Town, & the RABAUL HOTEL - "WHERE THE ROAD ENDS & THE ADVENTURE BEGINS." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rabaul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing