We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at the Tuck U Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuck U Inn at Glick Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuck U Inn at Glick Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Atchison B&B and Inns
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Tuck U Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our family is too far away to join us for Christmas so we decided to do a B&B. What a perfect experience. Our Hosts Chris and Loman go the extra mile to make you welcome and cared for in every way. The food was fabulous and the bed perfect. The rooms are decorated in a perfect blend of elegance and functionality. Even with the sun beaming through the glorious windows the house was spotless. We have never stayed at a B&B that was kept so meticulously clean and inviting.

We will always remember Chris, a very accomplished pianist, accompanying my husband Jan on the violin. All of the guests enjoyed a spontaneous concert of great old favorites and Christmas carols.

We are already planning our Christmas at the Glick mansion for next year. They have enough rooms, so we might even get the family to meet us there sometime.

Room Tip: We loved the "First Lady's Room!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WichitaStringQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
46
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a marvelous bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, clean and so interestingly decorated. The parlor area is spacious, full of antiques and so charming. There is a screened in porch, comfortable, for the warmer times of the year. Breakfast is so delicious, freshly prepared, served when you want it and award-winning. The hosts, Loman and Chris, are friendly, charming and take great pride in the Mansion. You can get stories about the Mansion, furniture, antiques, etc. for either and if you are lucky, you might hear Chris playing the piano in the parlor. Perfect experience. Stayed in both the First Ladies' Room and the Eisenhower Room and enjoyed both.
Have stayed there 6+ times in all 4 seasons and loved it every time.

Room Tip: First Ladies' Room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our group of five moms who wanted a relaxing weekend found the perfect environment with Lowman and Chris at the Glick Mansion. We stayed in Lizzy's Attic which is perfect for a group who want to be in the same room...a total slumber party feel. We were given great restaurant and shopping recommendations, had plenty of privacy and space, and were pampered and served like queens. We were given several options for when breakfast could be served, and the food was amazing! One highlight of the morning was hanging out at the piano as Chris played and we sang along to a few songs. We were treated as old friends, and by the end of our stay, I'd say we do indeed have old friends at this house as we will be back as a group and with our spouses for years to come. Thank you so much Lowman and Chris for using your gift of hospitality to bless others.

Room Tip: Lizzy's Attic is perfect for a group or family to all stay in one room together. It was quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachele-MakingSpaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My parents owned the Glick Mansion during the 1980's. Chris and Lowman have put their hearts and souls into the house and turned it into warm, welcoming bed and breakfast with spectacular decor. Whenever I visit Atchison I like to stay there - it brings back many memories! I am so happy that they have managed to maintain such an historic residence!

Room Tip: Lizzie's Attic is very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Whenever we visit Atchison, we stay with Chris and Lowman at the Glick Mansion and we always have a wonderful time. They take such good care of us and the food is out of this world. They welcome you into their home and you never want to leave. We have been staying with them for at least 7 years and as always can't wait for our return trip next year. I would certainly recommend a stay at Glick to anyone visiting the Atchison area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowahawkeyefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Mo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This B&B was a wonderful surprise. We only stay in B&B's when we travel and this was one of the best. The house was beautiful and Chris and Loman have done a wonderful job of decorating. The house was decorated for Halloween with many spooky character all over the place. What fun. We loved playing "Name that Tune" with Chris and singing along as she played the piano. The breakfast was quite good. Atchison is a fun town to visit, so if you add this to the list of places to visit. you don't want to miss staying with Chris and Loman at the Tuck U Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Glick in the First Lady's room. It was my first time at a Bed and Breakfast and I wasn't sure how I would feel about staying in one. However, the owners are so warm and inviting that I felt just like I was staying with family! The home is gorgeous and the furnishings are beautiful! You can tell the owners love their home and put a great deal of work, time and effort into keeping it ship-shape! The food and service was fantastic as well! I would not hesitate to recomend the Glick to any of my friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHOverlandParkKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atchison
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Atchison
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Atchison
Super 8 Atchison
#2 of 3 in Atchison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
22.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#1 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 4 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites St Joseph
22.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
Hampton Inn St. Joseph
#4 of 11 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuck U Inn at Glick Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuck U Inn at Glick Mansion

Property: Tuck U Inn at Glick Mansion
Address: 503 North Second Street, Atchison, KS 66002
Region: United States > Kansas > Atchison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Atchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home of Governor Glick nestled in this old rivertown, built in 1973 provides 5 uniquely decorated bedrooms and private baths. Nearby towns are Leavenworth, Weston, And St Joseph, Mo. A fantastic one hour getaway from Kansas City! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing