We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Escapade Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in overwater bungalows which were well designed inside - separate bedroom rather than one big studio, the lounge area was very spacious and the fully marble-tiled bathroom was huge.The balcony needs a large umbrella as there is no covered area and we had sun all day so couldn't lie out there and read at all, something which I had been looking forward to. The pricey evening buffet was average but meats were cooked to your liking and changed slightly each day. Breakfast was fine with eggs cooked on request to your taste although 10am is an early finish for a tropical resort I think. The snorkeling is good for fish and turtles and patchy for coral but the shallow waters at low tide meant you can go out a fair way and find some decent coral gardens. There are no strong currents (as in the Maldives) and we experienced no wind on the main side of the island, where all the accommodation is. Watch out for the sea snakes, (tricot-raye) though, as they can turn up anywhere; keep the doors shut at night and when you are not around, to avoid any surprises. They are something of a mascot of New Caledonia and while being deadly, their mouths are too small to bite and they are very timid. All in all, it was great to find over-water bungalows at a rather reasonable rate, (in comparison to the few other places in the world that have them) and so close to home (Sydney). The weather was beautiful, around 27o C, with a few early morning showers some days and the last 3 days were not noticeably humid. Good king-bed, 2 flat screen TVs, good shower pressure, all amenities, lovely picture windows all around with beautiful views, staff was obliging and helpful. Near perfect! The only really negative thing was that the plumbing needed some attention with water draining away too slowly in shower and basin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank amberlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for L'Escapade Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

This resort was outstanding. We were lucky enough to stay in an overwater bungalow for the three nights. The design of the bungalows was a little odd but other than that they were fantastic. No kids allowed though as they have steps leading directly into the lagoon for swimming and snorkelling without having to go to the beach. We were lucky enough to have a family of sea turtle that visited us every day and we could swim with them. They are very shy and don't like a lot of noise though. We took full advantage of the sun in the afternoons on the deck chairs but found that it got too hot and wasn't shaded enough for a full afternoon of relaxing. If you want the pool view and prefer to swim there I would suggest that you mark your spot very early after breakfast as we could not get a sun lounger or seat until late afternoon. There are also a lot of day trippers to the island so keep this in mind when ordering from the snack bar, it might take a while. The kite boarders are there every day and make for a fun few hours watching from the beach or you can join in and hire one. Not all non moterised water sports are included as this is run by an outside company and is not part of L'Escapade. It was slightly expensive. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. The selections were impressive and the open grill was a great idea. The staff are amazingly friendly and will go beyond what is expected of them to help you. It was slightly pricey but that was to be expected considering it is an island. Well worth the money spent and a fabulous three days were had on the island.

Room Tip: If you are travelling without children try the over water bungalows, it is well worth the money!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kerryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 weeks, in an overwater bungalow.
The rooms' design is not the best you could dream of for such bungalows : the bathroom is huge but, in comparison, the room is a bit tiny and dark.
We had a very windy stay, and wind can become a nightmare at night when it blows strongly.
At the same time, we had a wonderful diving from the place.
Food is very good, with a huge variety if dishes.
More sea activities would be a plus if you stay more than 3-4 days.
Good place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry_Arnould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed in an over-water bungalow which was fantastic - snorkel off your steps, excellent views. If you're going to this resort I strongly recommend staying in one of them, no kids allowed though.

Sea snakes were very common but not at all aggressive, we had one lazing on the deck with us for ages. Keep your eyes open and the door closed so you don't get a surprise later, and don't antagonise them by poking at them. I found if you just tap on the deck near them they will leave. The birds nesting on the island itself may be a bit noisy in the garden rooms at night but we couldn't hear a thing out over the water.

The lagoon is good snorkelling when the tide is too low to swim out towards the ocean, not much coral but large schools of fish. Further out to sea are some good coral formations, talk to the water activities staff. There's also jet skiing, canoes etc although book early. The complex itself is fairly small but beautiful. There are a lot of day trippers particularly from the cruise ships and yachts, it didn't seem crowded to me but then we spent most of our time either in the water or sitting looking at it.

Unlike some other reviewers we found the service excellent from all staff that we encountered. Most of the staff speak at least some English - we don't speak French other than a few words we learned before we went but we were able to work around any language barriers by trying different synonyms and hand gestures until it clicked (even with taxi drivers etc).

The downsides - the buffet menu is expensive and does get a bit boring after a few days/nights - use the 'snack' menu for lunches to break it up a bit (only until 3pm), and go to a supermarket in Noumea for some of your own food and especially wine. In true French style the dinner doesn't start until 7pm, our first couple of nights there were raining, cold and windy so our preference would have been a much earlier meal and then tucked up in our room. Also because it's a buffet you tend to eat more than you actually want to try and get your moneys worth. Although we did have a non-smoking room, smoking is common everywhere in Noumea, even in restaurants which is a real problem for non-smokers like us. On this trip we had a couple of nights in Noumea and every meal we had on the mainland seemed to be near a smoker or two. We're not planning on staying in Noumea again.

Overall - we loved it. We went equipped with snorkelling gear, snacks and wine and pretty much amused ourselves for the week. If you're staying in a garden bungalow and/or looking for a fully catered experience then you might be better off staying in Noumea and treating this as a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

my wife and i thought we would take a short break and lescapade looked to be ideal.we arrived at app 5pm to rain and checked in,were given a cocktail and had a drink in the lounge,and bought an expensive white wine and asked if it could be sent to our room,reply was no as the waiter could not leave bar area so we grabbed two umbrellas,wine and walked through pouring rain to our room.we stayed overwater as we had stayed overwater in the maldives and that was a wonderful experience then,and lescapade didnt quite live up to then,bathroom is large and well appointed although hot water wasnt enough to fill bath,bedroom was large and clean,kingsize bed,tv and quite comfy,living area was out dated and needed a touch of class(nice lounge etc)after all it is for honeymooners or so we are led to believe.breakfast is buffet as is lunch and dinner and all three are overpriced and quite costly dinner was average at best and about $60 per head and no alternative if u r hungry as snack bar closes at 3pm.tip would be grab food from mainland and bring in.we went in september and resort seemed quite empty although during the day those damn daytrippers arrived and took over,keep that in mind.that leads me to the title "hiss",seasnakes we could see them from our balcony swimming around and then one start climbing up our ladder(panic set in)quick grab a shoe was the cry as it slithered up the rungs,it made it to the top and fell off we think,on another occasion my wife was showering and i was enjoying a wine and the sunset and there was another one on the deck a few feet away(wheres that shoe?)but i managed to scare it off sure makes u think about leaving door open! overall resort is dated food and drink expensive,staff not over friendly but the french are not renowned for their friendliness,wont be back if u want overwater maldives or tahiti should be your destination

Room Tip: learn to love snakes and keep a shoe handy
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grkettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A hotel not worth visiting. Although the complex is nice and beautifully located, it had been built on an island with a bird colony which makes sleeping at night almost impossible. As I eat almost anything I thought the negative comments on the food were exaggerated. They are not! The hotel has the worst restaurant I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank HenricusViennensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The rooms are very old and average. 3 star, though comfortable beds and good water pressure. We were unable to get an overwater bungalow due to having small children but this would definately be my number one choice. We had a beachfront bungalow and you really can't get anymore beachfront (A king tide may have come in our front door). The only downside was the amount of seasnakes, that chose to sit between our front door and the sand. There were up to 10 at any one time (Breeding season????). They were mostly placid but I couldn't really relax with the 4 yr old and the baby. Staff removed one snake from our room and I had to scare one away from our front door. T
The resturant is very expensive and only offered buffet. But then again all of Noumea is expensive. We would return again to the Island. The location is beautiful! The snakes are not :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventureoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
3.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
84.1 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
3.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade Island Resort

Address: Ilot Maitre, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: £148 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escapade Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archetype of the dream of the Pacific, l'îlot Maître floats like a mirage on the turquoise lagoon. At the heart of a unique marine reserve of 200 hectares, only 20 minutes from Noumea.This hotel offers travelers the luxuries of the quiet tropical location. It offers sumptuous bungalows, built in perfect harmony with their environment.A chapel on the island is available for your unforgettable event.The hotel is located on an islet, you have to take a shuttle to join it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L'Escapade Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Escapade Island Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing