We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional French food from the Alsace region”

La Table des Gourmets
Ranked #3 of 216 Restaurants in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Traditional French food from the Alsace region”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A simple restaurant in the suburbs with a cosy country feel and serving traditional French food from the Alsace region. The food was quite heavy and the servings large - there was a lot of sausage and ham on the menu.
We spoke in French but I'm not sure how well the wait staff spoke English - so take your phrase book. The staff were very friendly and attentive and we noticed quite a lot of locals eating here.
Worth a visit if you're looking for a less touristy meal and environs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeeTee260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    103
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No flashing decoration but great french cuisine”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A must go if you want to enjoy and discover traditionnal french food, cooked by a chef.
And really affordable price !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvain2noumea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cruise stop over in Noumea”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I had one evening to fill in Noumea when our cruise ship docked here, so we decided to go out of our way to find a truly incredible dining experience. We picked this restaurant based on its great reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed. What an amazing dinner! We did not speak much French, but with the help of our phrase book managed to ask for their suggestions. We definitely had the escargot, which was delightful, and for mains we had the confit duck which was absolutely to die for, and some other roast ham hock style dish (not sure of the name of it) which was equally incredible. The bread they served us was fresh and fluffy and warm, and we could have just eaten it all night long and been happy.

Despite their lack of English, and our lack of French, they went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after, and helped to make this one of our favourite dining experiences of all time. I wouldn't call it 5-star service, but I certainly have no complaints either. The ambiance was lovely, and we were pleasantly surprised at how small the bill seemed for the amount of food we ate. Highly recommend a visit here if you are in Noumea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_Webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place a lunch”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a very nice lunch here, the ambience is calm and relaxing. The service was very good and they did their best with our poor French. The food was very good, we split 2 of the specials that day. We were not disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Docbarbsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
625 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good French”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked at this restaurant on NYE as it was ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. They had a set menu with 6 courses. I loved every dish except their main dish. I think it was duck but we couldn't tell as the waiter doesn't speak English. The French like their duck rare but I find it too difficult to digest rare duck meat unlike beef.

Overall, due to its remote location, I don't think it's worthy of the trip to find it in the dark. I would stick to dining by the beach at La Promenade.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table des Gourmets also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to La Table des Gourmets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing