We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Noumea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple and it was perfect as each bedroom sported the same spacious bathroom and opened out onto a deck. The kitchen wasn't fully equipped but we did manage to cook a couple of meals. All facilities were new and decor pleasant. The swimming pool was situated overlooking the beach which was lovely. All staff and especially the boutique manager and Phillipe the general manager. We would recommend this place to anyone. Only complaint us the pillows! Very hard and high.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Phiippe Claverotte

Thank you for your comments.
Hope to see you back in New caledonia.
Kind regards
Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel which we found to be top class in every way with the décor,food and service all being superb. Our apartment was spacious and very private with great views. We also liked the location which was right on the beach and just a nice stroll to other facilities if needed. Can't wait to go back! one small point: It would be helpful for first time visitors to the airport to see clear signage directing them to the hotel shuttle service counter. Signage at that counter also needs to be changed from the old name of Tera to Chateau Royal.

Room Tip: top floor facing Anse Vata Bay and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Norah106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Philippe Claverotte DG

Thanks very much for your comments.
We will do our best to correct ASAP this information
problem at the airport.

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We made our booking directly with the hotel over the internet, and had a prompt confirmation - but no indication about airport to hotel transfers. We emailed to ask about possible transfers, but had no response. As it turned out, arranging our own transfer when we arrived at the airport was not difficult, but we were disappointed the hotel did not reply to our email enquiry. Having said that, the rest of our stay was superb! We had a 2-room accomodation which was lovely - nicely decorated, clean, and very comfortable. The facilities and amenities were just right and the daily maintenance/cleaning was very good without any aggravations, The beds were comfortable, and on our side of the hotel (away from the sea and pool), it was very quiet. The kitchenette was excellent and well equipped. The staff were so polite and were always friendly and helpful. We would recommend Chateau Royal and we, ourselves, are very likely to return in the future.

Room Tip: Sorry - I indicated "excellent" on room service by accident - there is none, but the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Philippe Claverotte DG

Dear Friends,

Thank you for your comments, extremely appreciated.
We are continuing to strive towards perfection -
kind regards

Phillipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I would highly recommend staying here. It is very sleek, modern and new and a step above everywhere else we saw. The staff are lovely and the rooms and very stylishly decorated. They make a mean cooktail in the bar and the restaurant food was outstanding - one of the best dining experiences in Nouma (along with Chez Toto) - and we only discovered how good it was on the last night!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for yours comments, hope to see you again ....

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just came back from 7 nights at the Chateau Royal in New Caledonia and it was amazing. We travelled with a 4.5yo and 10month old and the apartment was a perfect choice. Definitely arrange an airport transfer as the airport is about 45mins away. The kitchen was certainly a bonus with small children (microwave, cooktop, dishwasher, fridge & freezer - no oven though). We had a 2 bedroom seaview apartment which was beautiful, looking over Anse Vata. If you can afford to pay more for these rooms, high recommend it as sitting on the balcony is a nice way to relax. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of room for a small family.
The breakfast was fantastic - not sure what more you could want. The only issue we had was that restaurants were closed some days. We prepared for this based on other reviews so not a huge problem. We were there at the end of August and the pool was very cold. Our son still swam but it wasn't very pleasant. Again, we knew this before we went so no disappointment but check the weather if this is the main activity you are planning. The locals seem to flock to the "private" beach on the weekend so it got crowded. Strangely when we set up on the lovely grassed area within the hotel grounds (near the beach) the security guard told us we could not sit there...even as guests!
We went past other resorts that we considered staying at and this was by far the best location. It is about 5mins easy walk from Anse Vata shops. Supermarkets are a bus ride away (bus stop in Anse Vata has more options than the bus stop out the front of the resort).
The staff were absolutely lovely!!! We tried to speak French and even taught our oldest some words and it went a long way with staff. If you expect to get a good reception in non-English speaking country without trying...you wont. Our French was pretty terrible but we tried, every interaction....as soon as you try, everyone is very helpful.
Prices to eat out are very similar to Australia so again, not a surprise for us.
I would highly recommend this resort. We had a fantastic time and will definitely stay here if we return to New Caledonia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor looking over Anse Vata Bay. We were on level 7 in a 2 bed apartment a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Philippe Claverotte DG

Dear friends ,
Thank you for your feed back.
Hope to see you back in New Caledonia.
Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were very impressed with the layout of our room and the complex. Arriving in Noumea with only three French words in our vocabulary. I was worried that we might struggle a bit but the resort staff were all very pleasant and patient.
Rooms are very clean.
Boutique staff member very helpful, so were the security staff.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room that looks toward the beach and shopping area. Great during the day but be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear friends

Thank you for your comments .look forward to seeing you back in New Caledonia.

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having purchased a discount trip at short notice, we expected a budget hotel. Website made hotel look great, but normally these hotels look worse than they appear on the web. Not here though, the Chateau Royal was exactly as it appears on the web, no photoshop. Staff were friendly and helpful and facilities and restaurants within the hotel were fantastic. We will make sure we come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlelamb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, Directeur général at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Friends

Thank you for your comments .

Kind regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.2 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.4 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa

Address: 140 Promenade Roger Laroque | Bp 18716, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
#1 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#2 Business Hotel in Noumea
#2 Spa Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: £127 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tera Beach Hotel Noumea
Royal Tera Beach And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing