We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spend that little extra and stay somewhere nice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Surf Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spend that little extra and stay somewhere nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Ok where do I begin....... After arriving to the hotel, we found that the air con in our seaside room was broken and had to move to a garden view room, which is not a garden view but a car park view. While it meant that we would miss out on the wonderful view it had, it did mean that we had moved to a room that had a bearable in smell. The 5th floor smells like rotting carpet and mold. The 3rd floor is much better but still has a funny smell to it. The swimming pool is dirty and poorly maintained as you can see and feel the dirty dark grime marks on the walls of the pool at water level as well as broken tiles around various places of the pool. Breakfast time at the hotel was marginly better. My partner and myself went to get some ceral from the counter and it was covered in ants. The fruit that was put out was fairly average quality. The resturant is apprently open at night but every night my partner and myself went to check it out but no one was around except one or two staff members in the bar. ( I think that says a lot right there) After returning from the beautiful sites of Noumea our room had been cleaned but no towels had been left for us to use. My partner and myself had to wait 90 minutes for a towel (apparently there was no towels left in the hotel as told to me by the manager). Only after a long and frustrating discussion with the manager of the hotel did we get two towels. When having a shower, expect to have a flood of water on the floor after you have finished. Another feature of the rooms where the broken toilet bowls. The bed itself was fine but if you REALLY have to stay here, I would highly recommend bring your own pillow. The hotel does have a free wi-fi internet service but I would say most of the time the internet speed is worse than 56k bit modem speed. To be totally honest I have stayed in and seen better backpack places, which leaves me to wonder how this hotel got the star rating it has.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toddy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    48
    76
    49
    42
See reviews for
41
75
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were very disappointed during our stay for 7 nights at this hotel. Despite the hotel being situated directly in front of the beach, and our elevated room with beautiful views out to the ocean, our experience was marred by constant noise from the pool area and nightclub noise over the weekend that resonated throughout the entire hotel. Admittedly it was over New Year, but the party when on till 5-6am in the morning. We were awoken several times by people partying in the pool from 4am-7am during our stay. When we complained about the noise we were advised that the swimming pool had no closing time and that there was nothing they could do. A small group of young adults were swimming in their jeans and drinking in the pool around 4.30am and while we saw security speak to them, they just carried on regardless. There did not seem to be any visible management team around and the swimming pool was dominated by screaming children who I understand most belonged to the hotel groups staff members. The room was nicely furnished with colonial style furnishings but the fridge leaked and despite us calling reception to fix it 3 x - no one came.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Noumea hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We didn't choose to stay at Le Surf - we we booked in by Air Calin and stayed one night after our flight was cancelled. Air Calin seem to use Le Surf when this happens.
The upsides:
- Free WiFi in the rooms and reception area which worked really well
- The staff were very accommodating and the reception area and lobby were very nice.
- The restaurant was good. We were provided with free lunch and breakfast (paid by the airline)-which were both great. The breakfast buffet had hot and cold food inlcuding bacon, eggs, beans, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and coffee from a machine. As we didn't have to pay, I can't comment on the value for money.
-The pool area was lovely.
-Location, location, location - right on Anse Vate beach, a 5 - 10 min walk to Baie des Citrons
The downsides
- we were on floor 8 of the wing that was a bit of a hike from reception (can't remember what it was called!). The elevator smelled like urine. I'm not kidding. We also heard some noise when people were leaving the Casino which is in the hotel building.
- we were given 2 adjoining rooms which was good for our family of 4. The rooms are very old and tired and need renovation. The bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation - smelly and with missing tiles. There was some painting work being carried out on the main building so maybe the reno has started??

In conclusion, I would not choose to stay here unless it had been refurbished. If you are not planning on spending much time in your room, it would be OK. I think having the nice pool area and restaurant has lifted the star rating of this hotel. In my opinion, the rooms are only 2 - 2.5 star. We had spent the previous 6 nights at La Promenade and there is a world of difference between the two.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle66Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poprad, Slovakia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,041 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

this hotel is well situated but need a full refurbishment...room stink, walls are covered with mould, it is discusting!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank petcal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Just come back from a 9 day stay at Le Surf. Where does one start!! The hotel is in HUGE NEED of refurbishing! The room we had the first day was uninhabitable. The stench of damp mould was overpowering! We insisted on being moved the next morning. This room was slightly better. We had already paid for the holiday so moving hotels wasn't an option! The shower leaked. You could see where they had tried blocking the holes in the tiles. After showering the floor was one big massive puddle. There was mould all over the walls and outside ceilings. The roof had a hole in it, bits were falling off the sides of the hotel and the whole place leaked like a sieve! The pool: there was grass and weeds growing out of the cracks, the tiles in the pool were broken and we were able to actually be at the pool for 2 of the days we were there. The rest of the time the locals children overtook it and nobody got a look in!! Not a hotel I would at all recommend. The staff were friendly and helpful, this kept us going. We didn't eat there, too expensive and you had to fight the sparrows to the food!! Lots of cool places to eat down Anse Vata and Lemon Bay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasuda, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

staffs are friendly! may need some renovation, but overall, it's very comfortable.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank yichimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Le Surf Hotel. Don't eat there for breakfast - too expensive and half cold. Walk up to end of Anse Vata Beach to "Le Fare" for beachfront breakfast - half the price and great food. Hotel staff were very friendly - could not fault them. Take a bottle of perfume to spray in the bathroom - only way to keep smell away from toilet - drainage prob??? Otherwise our room was clean. Location was great - a short cut through to Baie des Citrons - a bay full of restaurants, out of the wind, and spectacular sunsets. Anse Vata where Le Surf is situated on is where a glass bottom boat leaves from for the two Islands visible from your balcony (we stipulated a room with an ocean view - otherwise you might get the other wing that is run down with pool views). Water taxis available up the other end of beach also. There is a supermarket that sells french wine for about $10Aus., baguettes, terrines, fresh fruit etc. if you turn left into the street that runs near the new La Promenade Hotel and Shopping Complex on Anse Vata beach. The Vietnamese Restaurant at La Promenade Complex is fantastic and good value. Also one of the first Cafes at Baie des Citrons - a Viennese cafe - next to a Creperie - sells rolls, sandwiches, tarts and breakfasts at a reasonable price. I would recommend Le Surf for its location (maybe not for a honeymoon if you were wanting luxury), just remember the perfume and ask for a view.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noumea hotels
0.7 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#8 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surf Hotel

Property: Le Surf Hotel
Address: 55 Prom. Roger Larroque | Anse Vata Bay, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia (Formerly Novotel)
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Surf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Surf Noumea
Hotel Le Surf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing