We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All Round Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent the month of September staying at Le Meridian Noumea for work. A month is a long time to be away from home and I cannot rate this hotel more highly for making my stay truly memorable in all ways!!

The hotel setting itself is stunning with beautiful tropical gardens. A true oasis!! The pool area is expansive and seems to wrap itself around the grounds whilst overlooking the Anse Vata beach and crystal clear waters of the sea and Ile aux Canards in the distance. There are two hotel wings which contain the accommodation rooms, plus several traditional island style buildings which house the different food and beverage outlets. Almost like a small village.

The hotel rooms themselves are very large and spacious - all with an outdoor patio/deck to watch the sunset from. Best of all, this hotel was built in the 70's/80's so constructed solidly in that the walls are thick concrete and noise transfer from room to room, or from the corridor is non-existent. The beds, pillows and cotton white bedding was luxurious AND there was complimentary internet/email access throughout the entire hotel (no caps).

Each morning in Le Sextant (overlooking the pool) has an enormous buffet breakfast selection. Try an 'eye opener' first - the mango and chili one is to die for! There is an egg station and the breakfast Chef cooks an amazing omelette.....and don't forget to try all the mouthwatering French pastries. Lunch in Le Fare is also highly recommended. It is a traditional fare building which sits right on the beach overlooking the sea and numerous kite surfers 'playing'. I am told it is the only restaurant on the beach in New Caledonia and it is a beautiful setting for something light (club sandwich) or a bit heavier (the prawn and scallop risotto was to die for). Wash it all down with a fresh crisp French Chablis. I also was lucky enough to try the hotel's fine dining restaurant, adjacent to Le Sextant, for lunch one day. Three courses of heaven on a plate - and I even got to meet the Chef who is a very young and talented man!! And lastly, I had several dinners in the hotel's Japanese restaurant called 'Shogun'. A small tepan-yaki style restaurant showcasing a lot of local seafood. Service in all the hotel resturants (and bars), I found to be exceptional - both friendly and professional, as well as highly efficient. Nothing was ever a problem and the difference in language between us was never a barrier.

I think the most important aspect about Le Meridian Noumea is its staff...nothing short of exceptional people who really care about their guests and providing them with the best possible experience!! I cannot believe how helpful, attentive, friendly, kind, professional and charming everyone was that I encountered - from the general manager to the porters and everyone in between. All my requirements were catered for in an exceptionally fast manner and everyone was happy to help me with improving my French and recommending resturants, activities and anything else I asked for. Nothing was ever a problem and they all soon became my 'family' away from home.

I have done an enormous amount of travel for both work and pleasure and can honestly say that my experience at Le Meridian Noumea was THE best I have ever experienced....anywhere!! A simple 'thank you' does not cover it. I would highly recommend this jewel in the Pacific!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area and sea in the lefthand side wing of the hotel. It is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liseepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Liseepoo,
This is one of the nicest reviews we have ever had... Wow! We could not say how happy we are that your stay with us was so memorable. And of course we would like to say a BIG THANK YOU for sharing your thoughts with the online community.
We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Meriden was lovely. It is in an idyllic setting. It has its own pool and its backs onto the beach. The staff are all very nice but probably lacked all of the touches you would get at another beachside location (i.e. Hawaii).

Some issues we had with Le Meridien were that although the staff were lovely, they weren't very thorough. We would have loved to have hired bikes to ride around Noumea and it wasn't until our last day of our 7 days stay that we saw a room full of bikes stored in the hotel when we were heading to the airport. We of course were never told about this by the airport staff and it really told the story of our stay.

We tried to arrange a trip to Amadee Island through the hotel. The trip was fully booked. We tried to arrange some scuba diving as well…again without success.

In short, the hotel is nice. Very nice. It is clean and the people are lovely, but the service is certainly not 5 star quality. You could probably get better for your money elsewhere and due to the cost of things in Noumea, you should really think about renting an apartment instead.

But the whole experience has got me thinking that the issue with the staff could well be a Caledonian thing. They are a pretty relaxed bunch, and there is not really the tourism infrastructure set up to allow you to have a really good time there. It is disorganised and a bit disappointing really. If the holiday were cheap etc it would not be too much bother, but expect an expensive holiday when heading to Noumea, with not a whole lot of reward. The Hotel is okay, but unless you are super organised and prepared to spend lots of money…think about another hotel, and perhaps another destination entirely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rigsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communicaiton manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Rigsalot,
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel and its location as well as the friendliness of the staff. However we are sorry if you felt any inconsistency regarding the level of service as training is an ongoing focus for us. Thank you for giving your feedback and be assured that we will follow up on this matter.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you like sandpaper towels and warm milk with your cereall this is the place for you.
Hotel is very clean and well maintained, but quite old. The service while friendly was not up to scratch if you want a drink by the pool or real coffee at breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Lindsay P,
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback about your stay at le méridien Nouméa. We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Once again, please accept our apologies about the rough towels you had in your room. We hope that you appreciated the brand new ones we brought you to replace them.
We have taken good note about the milk at breakfast and will do better to keep it cold. Regarding coffee, we offer several different coffees, we hope that you had the opportunity to try them. If not... we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again, we will be happy to offer you a tasteful Illy coffee!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This place probably could do with a bit of a refurb in the rooms but really there is nothing wrong with it. The service was great, rooms are spacious, the setting was relaxing with a nice beach in front and also great pool. We dined at the Japanese restaurant one night and it was great too.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the coast which meant if you sat on your balcony you didn't get much sun, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Bonjour Arrowgirl,
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! You might want to consider Le Méridien Ile des Pins for your next trip to New Caledonia? Let us know, we would be more than delighted to welcome you there.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Grand old lady but needs some money spent on it. Leaks in the roof in many place and cracks in the building, our balcony had lots of cracks and a piece of masonry missing. The rooms a corridors are large but the decor is oh so dated!
There is mould in the shower and on the wall in bathroom and on the ceiling.
The pool area is nice and there are lots of lounge chairs around the pool and overlooking the sea
The buffet breakfast is great but expensive.
The lounge/bar area was spoilt by having an art display around the whole room and covering parts of the windows and there were two televisions running 24/7 with the artists work showing on them. The bar was hardly ever open, there was no one around and the seating was very dated. We went to the hotel next door for drinks (Chateau Royal) as it had a lovely modern bar and seating area and there were always people around to give it some atmosphere.
Our room overlooked the sea which was nice and we had a private balcony. We don't watch TV when we are on holiday but the TV was a small old style one and other guests said that it was all in French.
One night at 10.30 pm there was a noisy crowd in one of the rooms and we had to get up early the next morning so I rang reception and they sent security straight to the room to ask them to be quiet which was great.
Just a 5 minute walk to Anse Vata to catch the bus/ more restaurants (Would NOT recommend Le Miretti-Gascon), shopping and nice beach.
The hotel has bikes to use but they are needing a bit of maintenance.
The Japanese Restaurant at the complex was worth a visit.
Trip to Duck Island (Privately owned but open to the public) which can be seen from the hotel is worth a day trip and the food we were served there was delicious. You can get a water taxi there from Anse Vata. They have a restaurant, water activities for hire and lots of beach chairs and shaded spots out of the sun. The art/sculpture collection displayed within the gardens is worth a browse.
I would suggest looking at the Chateau Royal right next door as an alternative. Their Day Spa was better than at the Meridian also.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view any floor level is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Angela W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay. We are glad to know that you particularly enjoyed our very nice location as well as the view from your room, the buffet breakfast and the swimming pool! It is also important for us to know that our staff is able to react promptly to ensure the comfort of our guests.
However we are sorry to learn that you felt some inconsistency about the state of the building. We would like to inform you that major investments are planned in the near future and hope to be able to give you more information very soon on that front. We are also sad that you did not enjoy the temporary exhibition “Songes numériques” displayed in the Lobby, but after all… décor is a very personal appreciation!
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at Le Méridien Nouméa, and maybe also to Le Meridien Ile des Pins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Le Meridien was a nice place to relax, grab some sun and be a base for a week long stay in Noumea.She must have been the place to stay but is a little tired and in need of a freshen up!. Still next door is the refurbished Chateau Royale. Stayed there 30 yrs ago and she looks great. There is hope for this place. The staff are great. Love the pool and Beach. Pool cocktails need some work...bar wa fine. Good breakfast.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hilty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Hilty62,
We are glad that you spent a good and relaxing time with us, and would like to thank you for sharing it! We hope to welcome you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A nice hotel in a great location but a tired old lady she is. Everything is overdue for a make over. The rooms are dated but spacious with the smallest TV's I have seen in 10 years. The outside of the hotel is also well overdue for some love with rust stains and peeling paint everywhere. The gardens and ponds are very pretty but the staff is without doubt the highlight. ALL are very polite and helpful with a wonderful sense of humour. The room service menu is very underdone and mostly tasteless. The buffet restaurant is the highlight but expect to pay around US$100 pp plus drinks, very expensive. Would I stay here again?? Probably not but that suggests its worse than it is. Have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here with its great location and staff making our stay very pleasant. Anse Vata bay is just stunning and if you get a room near the ocean, the daily movements of the tide is an absolute highlight. Again a real lack of English TV spoiling the quiet nights in with only BBC world news, TCM and Australian ABC available. Perhaps a result of the overdue need for a complete refurbishment of slow Internet, TV and room facilities. Trips to nearby islands is an absolute must making our stay so much better

Room Tip: Get as close to the ocean as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Bonjour,
We would like to thank you for this very sincere and honest feedback. We are very happy to learn that you spent a great stay with us and found our staff most helpful and polite, offering an excellent level of service. We have well noted your comments about the overall need of renovations and hope to be able to give you more news on that front in the near future.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again for your next stay in Nouméa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
713 reviews
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa

Address: Pointe Magnin, BP1915, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: £154 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Méridien Noumea Resort & Spa captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing