We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

the property and rooms are in need of an upgrade, but the location service and dining facilities were 5 star. the pool next to the beach can be very hot when there is no breeze blowing. the beach and its facilities were excellent. sometimes over crowded but after all it was christmas.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the beach with huge balconies were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear GloryBoy,
Thank you for your great comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Chrismas stay at Le Meridien Noumea. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

The gorgeous gardens and proximity of the beach and pool areas with perfect positioning to keep out of the prevailing winds nearly made up for the tired appearance of the rooms and the uneven service in the restaurant and pool bar. The Sextant restaurant was the only one open on the Monday night when we were there and the service was haphazard and slow. Not one person could advise what the chef's choice for the night was but I ordered it anyway and was amply rewarded with three beautiful courses. This was a far cry from L'Hippocampe where the food and service could not be faulted. The rooms are large and bright but damaged shutters and curtains detracted from their charm and no fluffy robes! As for cost our friends were on a package which included breakfast and extra points to spend in the hotel and this was definitely the way to go. The doorman was charming and helpful as were the housekeeping staff with nothing too much trouble. Management should try to ensure that the property is the domain of their hotel guests to ensure that 5 star resort feeling. The refurbishments have started, so look for better things to come

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Coastalwayfarer,
We are glad that you choose Le Meridien Noumea for your stay in New Calédonia and even more that you had globally a great time with us, particularly at l'Hippocampe Restaurant. We are sorry for your experience at Le Sextant Restaurant, but please note that we had informed the Team about your complain and they're working on it. But we are happy that you had a great surprise with your meal.
hopping to see you soon, all the Team thanks you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Le Meridien Hotel
At Anse Vata Beach, Noumea, New Caledonia
A Review by John Pond

On a recent trip to Noumea we stayed at Le Meridien Hotel.

My wife and I decided to spend a few days here and were delighted with our large hotel room with a generous balcony offering sweeping views of the ocean.

Although in need of a major refurbishment, the room was very comfortable and clean. We liked the full sized bath with separate shower recess. It was a pleasure to find two fluffy bath robes behind the door.

Although we checked In early evening we were given such a warm welcome by one of the best hotel receptionists we have come across.

The property has a feeling of elegance and although as I have said, needs a major refurbishment, this does not distract from its charm. This is a hotel I would happily return to.

Our package included an excellent buffet breakfast served in a glass walled setting that overlooked the Hotel’s very spacious gardens and pool.

LIKES: Well situated, other hotels near by, a short walk to the nearest shops and more restaurants that abound in the Anse Vata area. All the staff we encountered had big smiles and went out of their way to make our stay a most pleasant one. The breakfast buffet was truly outstanding with an abundance of fresh food. The hotel had all the usual facilities one would expect of a 5 star property, although my rating is 4 star due to some of the older fixtures and fittings. Once refurbished, the hotel would definitely rate 5 stars. Perhaps the best hotel in Noumea.

DISLIKES: Small screen TVs need replacing.
Don’t forget to take European power point adaptors 240V.

John Pond

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear JonhPOnd,
We are so glad to see that your exprience at Le Meridien Noumea was memorable. Thank you for sharing it with the online community!
We hope to welcome you soon in Noumea and New Caledonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2114
Reviewed 31 December 2013

9 nights of total relaxation returned Overweight and thoroughly refreshed and recharged. We were again blown away by the staff, extremely happy with the food and service levels obtained even at this busy time of the year. Nothing was too much trouble ask and you will receive.

With the largest pool next to the beach front you don’t have to move far , and as we were advised major refurbishment to all areas including the pool commencing this year it will take this resort to the next level

With two children under 12 years of age we took full advantage of the SPG kids programme is a must all food and drinks breakfast / lunch and dinner $12.50 aud per kid per day at Le fare (beach side Lunch) Le sextant( buffet breakfast & buffet or a la carte dinner) and the piano bar for pre-dinner drinks.

We also glad we joined the Starwood privilege card which then gives you 50% off all meals for two and 15% of all drinks hence the expansion

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Ulladulla,
We are so glad to know that you had a great family time at Le Meridien Noumea! Please fill free to come back any time you need to be refresh & recharged!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I am very pleased to have experienced this property prior to its refurbishment! I love that the hotel is not yet modernised as it has maintained its charm with its abundance of french shutters, nautical touches and quiet, peaceful, paradise atmosphere.

I am so glad that we booked a room with a lagoon view. The view from the charming balconette is a sight to wake up to each morning. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are clean ensuring a great sleep.

The pool is quite small and perhaps somewhat dated, however the surrounding gardens are luscious and lovely. Restaurants seemed to be open sporadically, so it was more convenient for us to walk and eat in town.

Locationwise, the hotel is short walk to shops, beach promenade, restaurants & grocery store. The Grand Casino is at the front of the hotel.

All around a most pleasant stay and I would like to return to see the refurbishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We Have just returned from a relaxing break at the Le Meridian. Having read many trip advisor reviews prior to leaving, I was pleasantly surprised, yes there is some minor mould or rust, but it seems to add to the charm. The character of the building is dated but that is also its attraction., There are not many hotels of this design or character. We had lovely water views from the fourth floor, watching the kite surfers, flying by . Ice buckets were freely supplied and nothing seemed too much for the friendly staff.
The Wi-Fi worked but dropped out occasionally. The pool was clean & relaxing pool furniture , towel & umbrellas were complimentary as you would expect. It is advisable to buy your water taxi tickets from the taxi itself as the hotel puts a mark up on this ticket. The buffet breakfast catered for all and the chocolate croissants were divine. One word of advice brush up on your French language skills.

Room Tip: The higher levels with water views would be advantageous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 421RichardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Richard M,
We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us! And we would like to thank you for sharing it.
A bientôt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

New Caledonia is a great place for a getaway, offering very different experiences than seamingly similar nearby locations. It's a relaxing lcoation for a break and to relax, but it does pay to do your homework before you go to understand the local customs and options. Keep in mind, Noumea is not a cheap holiday option! The local currency is Pacific Francs, and while tipping is apparently not customary, it is in the hotels, so ensure you have some small notes on you for tipping porters etc when you arrive.

Le Meridien is in the tourist section of Noumea, where there are a number of restaurants and bars within a short distance, and a nice walk from the hotel along the beach!

The room itself was ok, with most rooms seamingly offering a nice view of the pool and ocean. While the expectation of a 5-star hotel may be of a higher standard, the overall package offered by the hotel is pleasing.

The food options at the hotel are varied, and ok, but I would suggest combining these options with some other local options.

If organizing tours with the hotel, make sure the details that have been organized are explicit. We had an issue where the translation of the pick-up location was incorrectly communicated to us, and we missed out on a day trip to one of the outer islands. This was very frustrating for us, having waited over an hour in the location where the reception informed us to wait only to be told subsequently that we should have been waiting 200m further away!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Ben G,
Thank you for your very appreciated review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the confusion about the pick up location and will make sure that it does not happen again.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa

Address: Pointe Magnin, BP1915, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: £148 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Méridien Noumea Resort & Spa captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing