We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amedee Lighthouse Island

Amedee Lighthouse Island
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Amedee Lighthouse island is located 24km away from Noumea,in the largest lagoon in the world which has been classified by Unesco a world heritage site in 2009. Crystal clear waters with tropical fishes, turtles and corals, powdery white sand beaches await you in this protected marine reserve next to the main barrier reef of New Caledonia. Mary D Enterprises,a family owned and operated business,has experience in operating full day all-inclusive ( glass bottom boat trip, reef cruise, welcome punch, tropical buffet lunch with wine and coffee, island dancing show, free entrance to visit the lighthouse...Etc ) daytrips to Amedee Lighthouse island since 1981. We have a fleet of 3 high speed ferry boats : the Mary D Dolphin, the Mary D Princess and the Mary D Odyssey. Embark with us to the Amedee Lighthouse island where the weather is always nicer !
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I bring students to Noumea every two years and this is, I am sure, one of the highlights of their trip. Climb the lighthouse, it is well worth the 251 steps and suffering from "lighthouse legs" for the next three days. Snorkelling is great. From the beach, if you swim right out to the bouys at the left of the jetty you will find a big lump of coral and anemones which is home to lots of different tropical fish. Bring snorkel, mask, reef shoes (or flippers). The banquet is lovely and the lunchtime shows are fantastic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    305
    80
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“what a paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

beautiful place to go, great lunch on the beach organised by Mary d boat staff. only downside of the island is lots of broken glass (check area before letting kids to play).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank olaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very pleasant day out, with variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We went out as part of a large group, with a toddler as part of it. Our first impressions were excellent, the lady in the booking centre at Anse Vata was really helpful and friendly - she's expat American, so obviously English speaking too. The bus picked us up from the hotel, and made its way, after a few more stops to the harbour and our boat. Once on board you could buy croissants and coffee for the ride over. The trip took about 40 minutes. We saw a large turtle and a sea snake on the way. Once at the island, there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas to use, you could visit the lighthouse - we still have tired legs from all the steps but the view was great. The glass bottom boat made several trips so you could choose to go out on that when it suited. The large boat also did a trip out to the barrier reef. We didnt do that, but the rest of our group went and said it was fantastic. They saw huge fish and white pointer sharks - all enticed by the feed they know the boat brings.
Snorkelling straight of the beach is thankfully devoid of any thing too big, sheltered and calm, we saw quite a few fish, but nothing like the numbers at "duck island". Saw a variety of sea snakes around the island - which seem to avoid us as best they can - except for a few idiots that thought they should try to catch them.
Lunch was really quite excellent. A large variety of salads, vegetables, rice dishes, venison sausages, grilled tuna, prawns, pork, all manner of fruits and even ice cream for dessert. Certainly no one went away hungry! There was a dance performance and entertainment also. The boat took us back at 3.45 and then the bus back to our hotel. A great - and a bit tiring - day was had by all.

Helpful?
5 Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Seems expensive but worth it. Kids had a great day, sore lots of snakes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinandKaren01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nice ferry trip there and back.
Lunch really great. Entertainment was fun.
Saw a few snakes (no problem).
Fantastique snorkeling.
Glass bottom boat was brilliant! (take your snorkeling gear on this) - Remora look like little sharks :-) French only commentary.
Day went really quick, plenty to do (e.g. lighthouse, shop, walking around the island).
Can't recommend this enough - worth every Franc.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ScampaRooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amedee Lighthouse Island also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Amedee Lighthouse Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing