We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with a great outlook!”
Review of Casa del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Sole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic with a great outlook!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There is no point beating around the bush, Casa Del Sole is no luxury hotel! It seems like the hotel was being built as luxury hotel or apartment but they ran out of money and just finished it off on the cheap. The location is excellent and our two bedroom apartment was HUGE with two massive balconies with stunning views over two bays from the 13th floor. The kitchen and living area was large, but the kitchen was not well stocked and no tea or coffee was provided (no cups or glasses, some plates and cutlery) but this might be different in other apartments. The bathroom and second toilet/laundry were nice enough but not well finish (bad lighting, tiles missing) and the whole apartment has a bit of a musty smell. The rooms are not serviced but reception were helpful enough. Despite its flaws, the apartments are in a great location with some great restaurants and attractions close by, and considering we were hardly in our apartment at all, and when we were we sat on the balcony, the apartment was great. I didn't go anywhere near the pool... it wasn't really attached to the apartment and there was a nice beach a short walk away. There was some noise late into the night from the restaurants and clubs down the street, but it wasn't too loud. Personally, I wouldn't stay in Noumea itself for much longer than a few days anyway, as there are much nicer places to see in NC. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the apartments as a great base in Noumea, just don't expect the ritz!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    109
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
83
58
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent Christmas/New Year at Casa del Sole. A family group, ages 59,60,68 and 21, we chose our New Caledonia holiday because it was the cheapest overseas holiday we could find for 2 weeks over the Christmas/New Year period. Airfares were just $660 return and the add-on for Casa del Sole was very reasonable. We had read all of the Trip Adviser reviews and were very worried before we arrived, by the number that referred to it as being noisy with rowdy nightclubs below..

After our 2 week stay in a 14th floor, 2 bedroom apartment, we couldn't have been happier. This place is out of this world - the best. We have no complaint at all about the noise. We could hear music from the balcony and enjoyed it very much. We couldn't hear it at all with the curtains closed to sleep. We didn't use the air conditioners at all in the main bedroom but my daughter used it in the second bedroom and it was good.

We were happy to wash our towels, etc and used the machine most days. We found a short cycle by turning the knob to see how long each cycle takes (noticed someone else complained about a 3 hour cycle). We did use the drier sometimes but the apartment provided an excellent fold up drier for each balcony and everything dried literally in minutes. It would have been good to have had the apartment serviced after the first week, particularly vacuumed - but I'm not complaining as.I'm sure that this would have happened if we'd have requested this at the reception desk. We just didn't get around to it..

From a review here, we booked our Christmas lunch before we left home, at The Meridien "Le Fare" restaurant as we only arrived in Noumea on Christmas Eve and were worried about what we would be able to do for Christmas meals. We enjoyed a leisurely, light lunch with cocktails, beer and wine as we didn't feel like pigging out on the barbecue buffet (which looked fabulous). Our table was right on the beach and we couldn't have been happier. Thank you to the reviewer who put us onto that.Fete days did not present a problem as most places on the holiday strips were open for business as usual.

We only switched the TV on in our apartment to hear the countdown to midnight on New Years Eve. We watched the fireworks all around from our balcony and after midnight we went down to the Esplanade at Ansa Vata and Baie des Citrons and mingled with the locals. Mainly Kanak crowds of young people, we were very impressed with their dancing on the streets and enjoyment of the celebrations. It was well controlled and orderly at all times.

We spent all of our spare time on our balcony, which faced Baie des Citrons from the front and Ansa Vata from the bedroom balcony (Room 1402 I think it was), and have no complaints about noise. Even though it was Christmas and News Years, we had no noise problems.

This was a fantastic apartment - so spacious. My cousin snores terribly and we moved her single bed into the lounge room. There was so much space that we didn't even notice it there.
The Kitchen equipment was a bit lacking, but we could easily work around it. The biggest supermarket at Port Pleasance is only a 10 minute walk along the Baie de Citron esplanade and around to the marina a bit and we purchased fabulous frozen Escargot in the shells, Coquilles St Jacques in the shells and more cheese than you could imagine. We had 2 other smaller supermarkets closer, "Bikini", which was along the way to Port Pleasance, and another on the Ansa Vata side, just past the Hilton, which was good for Chinese takeaway containers of cut up tropical fruit. The plan was to eat out every second night but we loved our Escargot and fresh salad so much, with fresh baguettes from the foyer cafe every day, that we often just stayed at home after happy hour and played board games and card games on the balcony. Frozen pizzas and frozen moussaka from the supermarket were reasonably priced and made fabulous balcony meals with fresh mixed salads.

The liquor store on the Baie des Citrons esplanade was excellent and we were able to buy very nice bottles of wine around 2000 Francs. Local beer (no. 1) was very reasonably priced and great drinking. The Casa del Sole foyer cafe sold a range of beers and wine as well and we could not fault the prices. As well, the foyer cafe sold beer and wine at times when the supermarkets were unable to sell them (take note of the closing time for beer sales before Public Holidays).

I cannot say enough how much we loved this place. The beach in front is superb and we loved being able to lie around on the grass strip and then dive into the beautiful water. Everything was clean with little obvious rubbish. The snorkelllng was great with as much (or more) colourful coral than I have seen at the Great Barrier Reef in Qld. There was a beautiful array of different fish, eels, etc but no soft corals. It was still beautiful and peaceful and one could happily snorkel out the front of the hotel for hours. We loved swimming out to the pontoons and found the locals to be friendly and helpful.

Every night we enjoyed happy hour, but mainly loved La Barca for cocktails and their half price beers (really, it was double the volume of beer) between 4-7pm. It was balmy sitting out in the open, fabulously comfortable lounges with live music every afternoon and night. We enjoyed chatting to our waitstaff about their adventures. Though everyone mainly spoke French and seemed to appreciate our feeble attempts, they were terrific at changing to English. We tipped every night, because we loved the cocktails so much, but we had the impression that it wasn't necessary or expected.

I could not say enough about how friendly everyone was everywhere, especially at La Barca and also at Casa del Sole. We had 2 gorgeous male receptionists who couldn't do enough for us, but the other reception staff were equally as helpful and friendly. We only had one complaint for the whole 2 weeks, about a noisy air conditioner on the top of the adjoining building, way below our room. There had been workmen working there during the day and that night the noise from it was noticeable. We rang up reception quite late and Jean came up instantly to hear the noise. He was ever so nice but I don't know if he was able to do anything about it but we didn't notice it again during our stay.

We were prepared by packing jigsaw puzzles, books and games, in response to weather forecasts that had predicted 6 days of rain but this did not eventuate. The weather was excellent every single day of our holiday. We paddleboarded at Ansa Vata (huge fun. Recommend first thing in the morning - less wind), did a lot of shopping and window shopping there also and did a day tour to Isle aux Canards. That was fantastic! We hired deck chairs under an umbrella as our base while we snorkelled - colourful and plentiful coral, fish, eels, rays, shark!. The restaurant/cafe over there is casual with lots of well priced takeaways and meals. We meant to do a day trip also from Ansa Vata to Amitee Isle, for the Cultural Show and amazing buffet lunch that they put on, but stupidly left it to the last day - just to discover that it doesn't open on Mondays. Never mind - I'm sure there will be a next time.

The buses run regularly and we could just jump on out the front of Casa del Sole. The Noumea Explorer bus was 500 Francs for a whole day and great value for jump on, jump off at each of the main attractions. We took the Explorer straight to the Tjibaou Cultural Centre and bought a Tourist pass that was great value and gave us 6 months to see a number of museums and the Aquarium. We did most of these, very leisurely, and really enjoyed them all. The Aquarium is fantastique, and just a stone's throw from the apartment. The others were very easy to find with the free maps and the Explorer or local buses. The local buses cost approx 210 (from memory) francs per journey normally, but when cruise ships are in the terminal the return trip is included in that price, to make it easier for tourists to get around I believe.

It was wonderful to holiday in a first world country and have no worries about security. We felt safe wherever we went. The french obviously have a passion for orderliness and we found them extremely honest. I loved that pricing appeared to be uniform at every shop. Even the small supermarkets had the same prices as the big supermarkets so there is no need to pass by the small ones to get better prices. Similarly at the souvenir shops, we found that the same articles were the same price at all locations, whether it be the market stalls at the Cruise Ship terminal or the other main City market or the shops along the beaches. Prices are mostly a little more than similar items in Australia but it is not expensive and worth it for the security of being in a first world country while enjoying being part of a different culture.

You can tell that I am very enthusiastic about New Caledonia and particularly Casa des Sole. The friendliness of the french people and french culture was legendary.

Room Tip: I asked for a room above the 10th floor and was thrilled with ours on the 14th floor. Our 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny_Warwick_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapiti
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Very large apartment, which was fine for four adults and two kids. There was some party noise from the car park until 4am (as mentioned by previous reviewers), on Friday and Saturday nights.
Reception was friendly and fast when Maxim or Matthieu were on duty. Most of the others had little English and it was difficult to find out things if you couldn't ask in French.
One of the two lifts as out of order for most of the week we stayed, so there were some long waits.
It is easily accessible from town - the 10 and 11 bus stop is 20 metres, and the 70 bus about 500 metres. Both of the best beaches in Noumea - Anse Vata and Baie des Citrons - are about 100 metres, as is the Aquarium. The water taxi to Duck Island is about 200 metres. No supermarket nearby, but you can walk to Route Anse Vata and find a small store for the basics. You can buy your morning baguette at the Cafe del Sole cafe and get a simple breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We rented a 2 bedrooms apartment overlooking the "Baie des Citrons" on the 15th floor for 8 days. Value was good as long you stayed for more than 7 days. The view was amazing. Rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean. Rooms were air-conditioned and that was welcomed. Having read other reviews beforehand, we were prepared for the noise. The noise was really annoying during the weekend, especially on Saturday night as some locals seemed to have rented several apartments to party all night. As mentioned on the web site cleaning was limited to daily taking out of the rubbish, so no surprises there. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book for more than 7 days and ask for the view overlooking the "Baie des Citrons"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broussard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Although the location is fantastic, it is all downhill from here. The apartment is spacious but no housekeeping. If you dare ask for a clean towel, good luck: be prepared to be told you should have washed yours or better still be subjected to disapproving huffs. The thing is although you can do washing, it takes at least 3 days for clothes to dry. To hang your washing, you have to fight with an outdated, recalcitran clothes horse. If you want to iron your clothes be aware the ironing board may fight back, it is held together with masking tape and falls to bits when you try to use it. The icing on the cake is the sleepless nights, with maurauding youths when establish themselves in front of the hotel by 10pm, drinking all night until about 6.30am. These yoths line the street as well and the whole foreshore, screaming all night and harassing passers-by. Distressing scenes like a group stopping a local take away worker from reversing out of his workplace car park and jumping on the back of the car and/or holding. The worker eventually made it out of the car park, the time was 6.45am. These youths are paraletic by that time and vandalise as well as graffiti the local residences. In addition, the night clubs don't appear to have noise control expectations nor set closing times. Good luck if you are looking to sleep. Won't be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Noumea hotels

China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at 3 hotels in noumea over two weeks in August 2013. Casa del Sole is well located, with a short walk to either baie de citrons or anse vata. Our view from the 15th floor was amazing, however it wasnt enough to justify the price. The interior of our apartment, whilst very spacious was quite run down and the kitchen was infested with ants. At a lower price, I would have been happy.

After 1 night we moved on to the best western la prominade. There is no comparison between the two hotels, with la prominade being far superior for a similar price.

To sum up the experience at casa del sole, its the sort of hotel where the only service you will get it the friendly reminder call at 9am to check out by 11. We are not fussy travellers, so I thought the other poor reviews of this hotel could be people with expectations that are too high. Its not, believe the other reviews and stay elsewhere

Room Tip: High floors have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 7 nights. It was on the 16th floor with amazing views of the Baie des Citrons. It was spacious with a well equipped kitchen and large balcony. It was noisy at night due to the open air bars and clubs but with the windows closed, air con on and some earplugs I slept quite well. Buses run along the seafront but there is no information at the stops. However the tourist office is a short walk away and the person there spoke excellent English. The staff at the hotel reception tried to be helpful but with our limited French and their non existent English it was difficult at times. We managed to find a supermarket about 20 minutes walk away. The hotel shop is very limited and open very restricted hours. All in all a good place to stay but it helps if you understand some French.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noumea hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.6 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sole

Property: Casa del Sole
Address: 10 Route de L Aquarium | Baie des citrons, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
appartement une chambre de 62 m2, deux chambres de 93m2,terrasse spacieuse avec vue sur mer,appartement équipé (four,micro onde,plaque électrique,vaisselle,lave linge),boutique d'alimentation,résidence sécurisée, wc japonais dans certains appartements, cafétéria, coffre fort dans les appartements, appartement rénové avec sol en carrelage ou parquet ou moquette,salle de bain en granit,écran tv plat, a proximité de toute commodité, vue sur mer, possibilité de service personnalisé ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sole Noumea
Casa Del Sole Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing