We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Lagon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Lagon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Good, clean and modern hotel. The staff were helpful and hotel is well situated close to cafes and shops.
After a later brief stay at a so called 5 star hotel (see my review of the Ramada) La Lagon shone even brighter.
My only complaint would be the large window between the bedroom and bathroom, perhaps this is a French thing but we would have preferred a little more privacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_C_GOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Bonjour Fatlab

Thank you for your kind review. We are thriving to deliver high standards on each outlet of the hotel to ensure a nice, agreeable and unique stay to all of our customers.
All of our employees are friendly and trained to respond to each and every guests' needs and wants with the courtesy their deserve.


I am please to tell you that we have known the defect of the bathroom/bedroom window for a while and are placing, in the following weeks, some wooden blind which will, once closed, give a much better privacy to the bathroom. It is thanks to your comments and those like yours that we are able to improve some of these miscalculations.

If you decide to come back to our side of the South Pacific, make sure to come and stay with us to witness the new features we are adding to Le Lagon. A Sauna will now be adjacent to the swimming pool and spa area, free of charge for the pleasure of all our guests. We are also renewing our Suites’ bedding comfort and decoration as well as putting some new Smart LED TVs.

In the meantime, the team is joining me to wish you the best for this end of the year 2013 and the year 2014.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    254
    45
    5
    6
See reviews for
110
297
54
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently spent our 25th wedding anniversary in Noumea & and chose hotel Le Lagon from tripadvisor reviews, and like other reviews they lived up to their positive ratings.
Great location, great facilities, (the pool & spa were great ways to unwind & cool down at the end of each day)
The staff were great (although english was limited) & the room was clean & tidy. Close to all the touristy things with the bus stop basicly being just along the road making it easy to get around.
Remember to look right first when crossing the road though.
Well done Le Lagon I hope you make it 3 yrs in a row for your award.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Debroo,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are truly delighted that you had such good souvenirs of your stay with us and in New Caledonia! Your tips will surely benefit our future clients whom, I am sure, will not forget to look right before crossing the roads.

If you decide to come back to our side of the South Pacific, make sure to come and stay with us to witness the new features we are adding to Le Lagon. A Sauna will now be adjacent to the swimming pool and spa area, free of charge for the pleasure of all our guests. We are also renewing our Suites’ bedding comfort and decoration as well as putting some new Smart LED TVs.

In the meantime, the team is joining me to wish you the best for this end of the year 2013 and the year 2014.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a lovely stay in the hotel. very clean and nice. There was a small shop very close so we bought all our food there and heated in the microwave. No problems with night club noise, the traffic noise was easily shut out if balcony door was closed, the aircon was very quiet as well. They have strange way of having a window between bedroom and toilet/shower with a blind that is see-through as well. Not so good if you want privacy!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birderforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Bonjour Birderforever !
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Our guest’s comments are really important as they help us to improve the service and the quality of our Hotel.

A lot of customers write about the noise coming from the roadside of the hotel, and I am glad that you mentioned the fact that with the balcony closed and the air-conditioning on, the noise is non-existent. Unfortunately a hotel is often composed of a roadside (noisy or not very pretty depending on the location) and a calmer, prettier side. We do price the rooms according to these elements of course.

I am please to tell you that we have known the defect of the bathroom/bedroom window for a while and are placing, in the following weeks, some wooden blind which will, once closed, give a much better privacy to the bathroom. It is thanks to your comments and those like yours that we are able to improve some of these miscalculations.

Let me add that we are adding some new feature to Le Lagon such as a Sauna, adjacent to the swimming pool and spa and smart Led TVs in all of our Suites.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Caledonia so that you can enjoy all these changes.

In the meantime, Le Lagon's team is joining me to wish you the best for this end of the year 2013mand the year 2014.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We picked Le Lagon based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and were glad we did. Rooms are well appointed and clean. Lovely location - minutes away from Anse Vata, with several food options close by (try Snack Ulysse and Le Atelier Gourmand just down the street) and a short walk to the Aquarium. Compliments to the girls at the front desk who, busy as they were, never failed to deliver top notch service with a smile. Thank you for a most comfortable stay, Le Lagon. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your kind review. We are thriving to deliver high standards on each outlet of the hotel to ensure a nice, agreeable and unique stay to all of our customers.
All of our employees are friendly and trained to respond to each and every guests' needs and wants with the courtesy their deserve.

We hope to see you again in the near future so that you could witness the many changes we are planning for the Hotel. To enhance the appearance and the comfort of all our suites, we are replacing all of our Tvs to Smart Led Tvs, as well as revamping our king size beds. A Sauna will also be added to our Spa and Swimming Pool Area.

Summer is near, and Le Lagon is awaiting for you!

We hope to see you again soon. The Lagon’s team and I wish you a very good end of the year 2013 and beginning of the year 2014.

Emilie Coste
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly and very helpful staff.they even helped us call the day tour and airport transfer to confirm. They speak both French and English. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the beach, information centre and many restaurants.
Travel into town is easy by bus.about 10 mins away. Wifi and internet available at hotel.they also exchange currency for you. Free drinking water available at lobby in the afternoon. There's a big jacuzzi, gym and small swimming pool. Breakfast is available too at restaurant onsite but I didn't try it.the bed was very comfortable.the room had airconditioning which was vital as noumea was very warm in October.overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoZe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in New Caledonia as well as in our hotel Le Lagon.
If you do plan to come and visit us again anytime soon, let us tell you about some enhancement we are planning in the near future:
In our Suites, we will be replacing our TVs by Smart LED TVs in both the bedroom and the living room. We are also revisiting the comfort and decoration of our King size beds in all Suites.
As you mentioned, and for the pleasure of all our guests, we have an area with Spa, Swimming Pool, a Fitness room and a Beauty Salon. We are now adding a Sauna.
We hope to see you again very soon for you to enjoy all these novelties.
It was a pleasure having you and helping you achieve the best holidays possible.
The Lagon's team and I wish you the best for the end of 2013 and new coming year 2014.
Best regards

Emilie Coste
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We planned and booked our trip to Noumea for months as my husband uses a wheelchair and returned last Sunday. We went through a travel agent and chose Le Lagon based on other Trip Advisor comments and the advice of the travel agent who said she had visited the hotel. Please note, for the able bodied this hotel is ideal, clean etc etc. The staff are indeed friendly and helpful, and we have no argument with them. This is a review for those who use a wheelchair or have any walking disability problems. Probably also useful for families with small children in prams or pushers. The wheelchair accessible room is adequate and was clean. It however is on the first level and faces a very busy noisy road and the only other window faces the concrete roof of the building next door. But what do you expect for the disabled - lagoon views??? We arrived at night so it was only in the morning that I could see the shocking state of the footpath which rendered the whole accommodation a prison for my husband and we had to move hotels after only one night. All this could have been avoided of course with honest communication. Lovely bakery up the road which my husband never accessed. Thanks to the Le Lagon staff who were indeed helpful and understanding of our predicament which they had no idea we were not aware of, however, it boggles me why they have a disabled access room with all the required facilities when the footpath is impassable. Guess they think we could have used the road!

Room Tip: Don't bother if you are a wheelchair user, disabled in any way or can't see well. great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbournePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for you comment. We appreciate all our customers’ observations, which help us improve diverse area of our hotel and therefore increase all of our customers’ satisfaction in their stay here with us at Le Lagon.

Firstly, let me personally thank you for the nice comments about the cleanliness and responsiveness of our employees’. We are in constant search of in improving our standards. Justine thanks you very much for the kind note you brought back to her attention after your move.
We also appreciate your review clarification where you specify that your review is for those using a wheelchair or having any walking disabilities only.

We truly understand your disappointment in not having a lagoon view from your room. Please know that we are an average size hotel and only have 8 Lagoon view rooms. It is therefore impossible for us to satisfy each and every guest in this regard, disabled or not. We also only have one room with disabled facilities, once again due to our Hotel size.

In regards to your stay and the particularity of your situation, let me say that we recognize the situation you have been put in. We do have all the facilities for a disable person to access every area of the hotel as well as all items in our room. We understand from your comment that the footpath is in such a bad state that made it for you and your husband impossible to access the beach or any other area. For this we duly apologize but must tell you that this situation is out of our control and is managed by the city of Nouméa. Be reassured that we will get in contact with the City Hall, to tell them and show them the pictures you have sent us. I have myself walked this path up and down, but never, until your review, paid attention to it. From your point of you, I must agree that something has to be done.

Once again, thank you for your review. If you do wish to email us some times in the future, we would be happy to update you in our willingness to improve, with the help of the City Hall, the state of the footpath. Hopefully, one day in the future, we might see you again and will be proud to ensure you and your husband a better experience here in Nouméa and with us at Le Lagon.

The team and I wish you the best for this end of year 2013 and the coming year.

Regards

Emilie Coste
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is rightly praised as the best value hotel in the generally expensive town of Noumea. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, close to the beach -- this is the place to go. Only suggestion for improvement: they should have a display of tourist information so that guests can find out local attractions without heading off to the Tourist Information office.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindenSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
84.6 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagon Hotel

Property: Le Lagon Hotel
Address: 149 Route de l Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#1 Business Hotel in Noumea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Noumea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Lagon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagon Hotel Noumea is a family run 3 star New Caledonia hotel that welcomes you as if you were a famous travel writer. From 2007 to 2009 the hotel was completely rebuilt from the ground up.To make sure the final result was perfect for your visit : They added a pool, a health spa and a whole new wing to the hotel making it one of the most modern and comfortable Noumea Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Lagon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagon Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing