We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un Bon Voyage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lagon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Lagon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un Bon Voyage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff that are willing to let you practise your french, very clean and tidy, lovely pool, close to the beach and affordable. Oh, and they give you little hand-made treats when you check-out!

Room Tip: It gets a little noisy on a friday/saturday night, so it's best not to be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Front Office Manager at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Cait,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and especially the treats :p

On behalf of our future customers, I thank you also for your helpful tip.

In the hope to see you again with us in the near future, the team is joining me to wish you the best for this year 2014.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    253
    44
    5
    6
See reviews for
108
292
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Hotel is in a very handy location close to the beaches in Noumea, restaurants and cafes.

Clean, well organized, overall an excellent choice.

Been there between Christmas and New Year's eve 2013, my husband and I have enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Stefania,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are truly delighted that you and your husband have such good memories with us and in New Caledonia!

If you decide to come back to our side of the South Pacific, make sure to come and stay with us to witness the new features we are adding to Le Lagon. A Sauna will now be adjacent to the swimming pool and spa area, free of charge for the pleasure of all our guests. We are also renewing our Suites’ bedding comfort and decoration as well as putting some new Smart LED TVs.

In the meantime, the team is joining me to wish you the best for 2014.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

No need for me to rave about this place read the other reviews.
Local knowledge for you , Eating out is expensive,
There is an excellent mixed business 40 m up the road you get there early 7.30 or so you can buy fresh cut fruit, fresh rolls etc as the locals do for lunch.or Nems are local breakie or any time snack 20 dia 300 long mainly veg, fried and have a peppery finish (addictive)
If you go out to Ile aux canads 800 m off the anse-vata beach by taxi boat ($40 au return) take lunch ( pack a small soft Esky before you leave home).
A further 40 m up the road is a Baker , a mouth watering experience, get there early too !
Have great time.

Room Tip: Clean comfortable, quiet overlooking the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Bonjour SydneyChippy,

Thank you for your comment that will be very helpful for our future customers. It is important for them to know what they can find in the proximity, what to expect and most importantly the good addresses. As you write it: "Local Knowledge".

We hope you had a very good time in New Caledonia and with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kone, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Lagon is my favourite hotel in Nouméa due to the wonderful service.
The rooms are comfortable and the prices good for the area.
It is not waterfront, but only a stone's throw from it.

Reception is without a doubt the best in Nouméa. They are friendly, helpful and willing to accommodate any request. The huge aquarium in the lobby creates a tropical atmosphere.
The buffet breakfast is simple but adequate in a lovely garden-style setting.

Your best value in Nouméa.

Room Tip: Book a garden or back of building room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Responsable réception at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Helga

By far one of the best compliments we could have received! Our statement and the promise made to our clients is to be the best value for money and we do thrive to honor it.

The different teams and especially the reception are very happy about your review and thus motivates them to be the best they can be, and for this I thank you.

I have read some of your other review and feel confident to see you with us again soon.

The best for you and your family for the year 2014.

We do hope to see you again soon

Warm Regards

Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Noumea is expensive but if you book via the hotels website you can find a fair deal including a good breakfast. There are laundry machines for guest use on each floor which was an unexpected bonus. All rooms have a fridge sink and microwave if you want to do your own cooking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank youngja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Front Office Manager at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Bonjour Youngja2 and thank you for your nice review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in New Caledonia as well as in our hotel Le Lagon.

If you do plan to come and visit us again anytime soon, let us tell you about some enhancement we are planning in the near future:
In our Suites, we will be replacing our TVs by Smart LED TVs in both the bedroom and the living room. We are also revisiting the comfort and decoration of our King size beds in all Suites.
We are now adding a Sauna to our swimming pool and Fitness area.

We hope to see you again very soon for you to enjoy all these novelties.
It was a pleasure having you and helping you achieve the best holidays possible.

The Lagon's team and I wish you the best for 2014.

Best regards

Emilie Coste
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just completed a wonderful stay at Le lagon! we are two adults and two children and found our experience outstanding in many ways. The staff were very helpful this examples by calling a tour on our behalf as we found it difficult to make contact, always having swimming towels and able toas sist us. We used the free kayak several times to paddle to the Isle de canil and found the hotel well located for supermarkets, eateries and the beach. We hired a car and always found street parking close by. The hotel facilities allowed us to have meals in our room and we certainly used the gym facilities and the pool and spa. Free Wi Fi made contact with home easy. We had a suite which meant children spelt on the lounge while we had a separate room. Pizza place next door is fabulous for takeaways as is the boloungerie for morning croissants and bread.We did the aquanature half day snorkel and this was enough for the children, and we had the opportunity to see sharks, turtles and metre long lobsters! New Years Eve was slightly noisy in the street but that was to be expected. We would definitely use the hotel avian and recommend it to others. The proximity to the beach made it excellent for us.

Room Tip: Would recommend a suite for a family and we were on the 5th floor which gave lovely views oft he mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Front Office Manager at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Lesley,

The team and I would like to thank you for your detailed review of your experience here with us. We are delighted to know that you have had such a good holiday. We are here to help each and every guests in anyway we can and thrive to make everyone stay as memorable as possible. It seems that we have achieved our goal and are very pleased about it.
I would like to thank you for giving our future guests and trip advisors curious future travelers the opportunity to read about your activities here in Noumea and around our Hotel.
We hope this new year 2014 which started on a good holiday with us will be bring more promising adventure throughout the year.

Warm Regards

Emilie Coste
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed in different hotels in Noumea and this one was the best by far! Clean,nice room staff with good customer service. The swimming pool is not huge but you have 2min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. Look for 3 brewers on the Baie de Citron with outdoor balcony seating - they serve local beer. The hotel is also 1min walk to the supermarket and the Boulangerie with fantastic baked goods.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagon2011, Front Office Manager at Le Lagon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello Magdalena!
Thank you for your kind review. We are thriving to deliver high standards on each outlet of the hotel to ensure a nice, agreeable and unique stay to all of our customers.
All of our employees are friendly and trained to respond to each and every guest’s needs and wants with the courtesy they deserve.
Your review will also be helpful for our future guests who will now know where to get a good beer and a nice warm croissant.
The team and I would like to wish you a very happy New Year 2014!
We hope to see you again very soon!

Regards
Emilie Coste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
84.6 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagon Hotel

Property: Le Lagon Hotel
Address: 149 Route de l Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Noumea
#1 Business Hotel in Noumea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Lagon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagon Hotel Noumea is a family run 3 star New Caledonia hotel that welcomes you as if you were a famous travel writer. From 2007 to 2009 the hotel was completely rebuilt from the ground up.To make sure the final result was perfect for your visit : They added a pool, a health spa and a whole new wing to the hotel making it one of the most modern and comfortable Noumea Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Lagon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagon Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing