We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start a visit”
Review of Niue Tours

Niue Tours
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Niue Orientation Tour is a 4 hour minibus journey to a cove, a cave, a chasm, cliff tops, & snorkelling spots. We provide a resource pack to help you plan each day of your holiday so you will be in the "right place at the right time" for your safety and enjoyment;
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Their tour is a must do at the start of your stay if you want to make the most out of the rest of your time on the island.

Keith and Sue are very knowledgeable about Niue sights, and love to share that knowledge with visitors. As well as showing you a range of stunning spots, they provide a lot of information about other places to visit, and the best times to visit them.

Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you Liz A for your review yesterday. We appreciate the time taken to respond.

You have highlighted the difference in what we offer. We are NOT a tour for visitors who want to experience the Niuean life and learn more about their vibrant culture.

However we DO provide a lot of safety and time saving information, if you have come here to snorkel or reef walk. As with any water activity, there are optimal and safer times to plan your visits around. Tides, weather forecasts and potential changes in sea states can, and do, make a significant difference to your safety and the enjoyment of your Niuean experience.

Do come back soon ! Tell your friends and show them the resources you received. They too will join the increasing numbers of travellers who have discovered Niue, so close to home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Keith and Sue greeted us warmly at the airport and then the following day Keith arrived with a smile for our orientation around the Island. Niue is a magical place - the diving the best I have done - and Keith an awesome bloke who gave us a taste of some of the highlights and places to revisit during our time in Niue. I would thoroughly recommend doing this tour. We hired bikes the following days and it definitely helped us gauge our distances to travel having done the tour. Keith knows everyone on the island so can recommend places to eat, people to go game fishing with, plus where and when the best snorkeling is. Keith kindly takes photos - during the tour - perfect when you want some "couple shots" and you get the photos on a CD at the end.

Thanks for an awesome taste of Niue - we loved it so much we will be back in time for the whales!

Thank AntarcticT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you Antarctic T for your recent review. Glad to see you enjoyed your first visit to Niue and that we were able to play our part in helping you discover the various “gems” We thought you were “brave” when you indicated that you intended to bike around the scenic spots. While it is certainly possible to do that, Niue is a large island - 100 sq miles or 250 km square.

I'm not sure about “knowing” everybody, and our recommendations on both the planning guide you received, and while driving past the various restaurants locations, we alert our visitors to the likely opening hours, the specialities offered and the need to book for buffet evenings.. A similar situation exists with game fishing charters. Not being a fisherman myself, the only information I have is the size and passenger capacity of the various boats. Niue Tourism are able to quote prices and availability.

You obviously have fallen “in love” with Niue and we look forward to your return. Best wishes and “Thank you!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a superb introduction to Niue...Keith is a great guide highlighting places to visit, best times to go, history and lots of helpful orientation information in a zip pack for your stay. During the tour Keith takes photos of you and adds these to a DVD of his 'best of 'photos and delivers these for you the following day! What service. I advise you do pre-book before you arrive...it is very popular. Thanks Keith!

Thank adele98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you Adele98 for your review that you posted today.

That was quick and it IS appreciated !

Our knowledge of Niuean history is limited to weather events, demographic change and possible reasons for the depopulation that has occurred over recent years. However, Pina is our Niuean guide who has the background to tell you about her culture, flora and fauna.

Since 2005, we have taken tens of thousands of photos, covering festivals, and many social events. We have explored some of the cave systems with their colourful stalactites and stalagmites , and dived in the warm and crystal clear waters. Being “up close and personal” with Spinner dolphins and the Humpbacks, was a photographic experience we want to share.

With appreciation.

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thanks to Keith and Sue for a wonderful introduction to Niue! This is a must do on arrival in Niue as it will set you up for your week. They highlight the best places to visit and show you to the sites, you can then be comfortable with the sea tracks and return to your favourite ones. They also show you where you can get supplies in town, like the supermarket and the petrol station. We had a great first day in Niue and a great snorkel. Plus they say on Niue you will leave with a few friends, I think we saw Keith and Sue most days somewhere one the island, they were always forthcoming with information and obviously love this Island and were lovely to chat with.

I recommend you prebook with them prior to travel and allow them to show you the sites!!

Thank blissfultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you “Blissful travel” for the review you just posted. We appreciate the time set aside from your busy schedule, to tell others about “COT” You are our latest "COT cases" to write a review.

Some local knowledge is alway usual on arrival at any destination, and it was our privilege to get you off to a “flying start”. The whole point of an orientation tour, as soon as possible after one’s arrival, is, in your words “ to set you up for the week.”. While finding out where to go is essential, it is also important to know when to go to the reef and snorkelling locations. As with any activity on or near water, tide times and sea states are important safety issues.

Pre-bookng is certainly helpful and thanks to Trip Advisor’s wide readership and reviews such as yours, many do that. You have a considerable number of helpful votes already from readers. An indication of the value they place on your opinion.

Best wishes for your future travel together, and hope to meet you again on Niue some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Keith is a wonderful man, a great story teller & a thoughtful host who really wants you to enjoy his home. He provides maps, dvds, a list of must do's for the island & even a break down of wat is happening day by day to help you best plan your trip. He even dropped off a disc of photos he had taken to our hotel the next day! Can't reccomend him enough, his tour is the highlight of our trip so far:-)

Thank kells18ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you Rabbity 1. Your extensive review is appreciated. As a Senior Contributor with so many helpful votes, it is an indication of how valued your reviews are.

There IS a dearth of the large giveaway tourist maps here on Niue at present, and the smaller maps available aren’t as informative. However, in the resource pack you received after the tour, was the colour booklet, “Around Niue” that is organised in a clockwise direction. There was also an A4 printed page of similar information that you could “tick off’ - “Found that, Been there, done that , will come back here again!!”

Your suggestion of a website upgrade is appropriate. Because of bookings through TA, I am in the process of getting my website professionally revamped to accommodate iOS technology for all of our smartphone and tablet users. On your suggestion, I will try and incorporate the online booking component as more potential guests like to organise ahead.

A good point about the drinking water. Niue is unusual for a tourist destination, in that it has a massive water lens of potable water. Where else in your travels can you brush your teeth or drink the water from the tap in your room, with safety. However local shops do sell bottled water.

As the Niueans say, “Fakaaue lahi mahaki ! “Thank you very much!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niue Tours also viewed

 

Been to Niue Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing