We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous break”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Matavai Resort. The rooms are modern, extremely comfortable, really clean and our balcony had a stunning view of the ocean. The staff are so helpful and genuinely friendly. The pool area is relaxing and designed in such a way that you can find your own private nook. We enjoyed using the hotel bikes, you can hire them for $15 a day. Thank you to everyone at the Matavai for giving us a truly relaxing week. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Ellen
We are so glad that you enjoyed the relaxing haven of Matavai and look forward to seeing you here again. Thank you for taking the time to let the world know about our tiny slice of paradise.
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    171
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
84
256
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Back from a week at the Matavai Resort, Niue and would have to say if you are looking for somewhere special to relax this place is hard to beat. Niue is a beautiful Pacific Island - the people are friendly and the coastline is spectacular. Having read mixed reviews about the Matavai Resort, I would have to say that some people must be hard to please. The resort is well maintained, the rooms are of a very good standard, the setting is stunning and the staff, without exception, are brilliant.
Despite all that we had read here we found the restaurant service and food was generally very good. The breakfast package is well worth including when you book. There are also a number of outside dining options well worth a visit, but you will need a hire car, as others have noted. Kai Ika brings over its own Japanese chefs and their food is excellent and good value given the quality and the fact that almost everything in Niue has to be imported. Crazy Uga is a top lunch spot. The same owners operate the Washaway Bar and cafe on Sundays (only) which is a unique experience and a great way to meet locals and other visitors. For mine Juanna's restaurant was probably the pick, very popular, good food and like all of Niue you are made to feel very welcome. Tourism is Niue is limited by the one regular weekly flight from NZ ,which is a good thing. It is easy to get around (if you have a car), the natual attractions like the amazing Togo chasm, the stunning Limu pools, the Matapa chasm walk etc are well signposted and well worth a visit. You need to be a confident swimmer to snorkell off the reef as it is quite rough and while you can book dive trips with local operators, there was still plenty fish and very good snorkelling to be enjoyed in the various tidal pools around the island. We went there for a week's R&R and while some might find Niue too quiet, it was perfect as far as we were concerned. Everyone we met and spoke to (mainly NZers) like us had fallen in love with Niue's special charms. Niue is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Matavai and Niue Island - it's great to see that you got out and about and enjoyed many of the fantastic restaurants and unique spots to visit on the island. What beautiful photos! We will look forward to seeing you again up here in Niue Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Matavai resort over our anniversary, and we couldn't be happier with the place. The service was great, the staff were exceptional and really accommodating (thank you Dee, Vivien, Olga, Joe and anyone else I have forgotten) - they even went to great lengths to ensure the surprises my partner and I set up for each worked out perfectly!

We stayed in room 40, which was a Superior Ocean View room. The room itself was fantastic and clean but not much of an ocean view (only gripe, but was still fantastic).

Our first meal there was on Fish and Chip night, where we had the catch of the day (Yello Fin Tuna!). All of the meals were great quality, and the entertainment on show was fun - especially being pulled up to dance in a competition.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Superior Ocean View Room (no. 30-34)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Matt
Thanks for your feedback about Matavai, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We agree that the name of the Superior Ocean View rooms reflects the room, but not the view and the name of the back rooms in the new block will therefore be changed before next years busy winter season.
It is thanks to the feedback of guests like yourself that we are able to continue to grow Matavai into a perfect holiday destination where people can truly 'get away from it all'
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We attended the Saturday night Buffet and cultural show. Really enjoyed the local entertainment and the food was really nice, a fusion of Island fare and kiwi dishes. Plenty of nice salads, and the umu cooked veg was excellent. We also booked the Thursday night "Uga" (coconut crab) demonstration and seafood buffet. Matavai cooked a couple of Uga we provided from a previous day bush walk and Uga hunt, that plus the buffet was a neat experience, the Matavai rocks!!! friendly staff, clean and tidy, stunning alfresco dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary2936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Mary
We are glad you enjoyed our traditional Umu night Buffet. It really is quite different in flavour from similar earth oven meals served in other South Pacific islands. I think it must be a result of being cooked in the hot coral rocks, with no smoke, rather than in the ground. The flavours are still so clean and rich.
Hopefully we can look forward to seeing you again here at Matavai
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellons Bay, Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we were looking forward to our stay at Matavai.
We were in one of the "Superior Ocean view" rooms but could scarcely see the ocean at all. We had booked in early May and expected to get one of the new rooms - which we did, but it was in one of the back units and was dark and depressing. It received no sun and the ocean may as well not have been there. It was just visible though the trees. I did ask at reception why we did not have an ocean view room and was told (very nicely) that they were allocated in order of booking. But that didn't really make sense as we'd booked well ahead (3 months.) We actually felt cheated, especially when we saw what other guests had.

The room itself was certainly comfortable and well set up - I have no complaints about that at all.
And we enjoyed all the other aspects of the Resort - the staff were lovely, and helpful, the breakfasts were great, and the meals we had there were of a high standard.

We would go back to the Matavai, but would specify one of the units facing the sea in the older block. (I think they're Units 1 - 6 and 13 -18.)

We enjoyed Falala Fa café, KaiIka restaurant, Washaway café,and Crazy Uga café, and went to each of them several times, but, although we're fans of Indian food, we didn't rate Gills Indian restaurant (salty, rather tasteless food.)

A great holiday however. Go there!!!



We would go back to Matavai, but would specify one of the rooms which face the sea in the older units - they had a great view and a sunny deck.

Room Tip: See comments above. Our room was 'Superior Ocean View' in name only. One of the new ones a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for your feedback, I can completely appreciate your disappointment in the view and sun. Unfortunately we booked out nearly the whole winter this year 3-5 months in advance, and while the new rooms were still being completed so without a good chance to see them in action.
Now that it is getting a little quieter here on the island I am in the process of removing a number of the trees in the new wing of the resort to let in more light, and I have renamed the back block of rooms to reflect the superior size and standard rather than the view.
I am truly grateful for your fair and honest feedback, it is thanks to people like yourself that I can continue to grow and change Matavai to ensure it fulfils all future guests perfect holiday expectations.
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Matavai is the best resort on Niue with a great clifftop location. Whale and dolphin pods can be seen on most days in the right season. We stayed in one of the new rooms with an ocean view. The airconditioning worked well, but most days we didn't need it.

Breakfast was included in our tariff and was good, evening meals a bit disappointing for the quality of the resort, but there are plenty of other good eateries nearby BUT - you must have a car. There is no shuttle service, or public transport, and cars are limited, so pre book before you go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotuseaters42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, our team truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thought on Matavai with the world.
We look forward to seeing you here again
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Food was brillant. Didnt have one complaint. Service was prompt and so friendly. Thanks Lama, Dee, Vivien, John. Always a smiling face. The biggest feature of the resort is the wonderful deck area. Dining there is a pleasure. Breakfast on the deck. The lovely pools is just superb. We were in a superior room and the bed was very comfortable. Wonderful shower. It was so nice to listen to the sea at night. We really enjoyed the culture buffet and seafood buffet as well. But the yellow fin tuna for fish and chip night was one of the best meals I had on the island! The freight boat was very very late. But this didnt detract from the food available. Sometimes there were muffins or buns, mostly not. Sometimes the oven broke down, or no sauce. But it didnt matter, there was plenty of other options. We found the service very prompt. My only recommendation is to check your bill. We were charged for drinks we didnt have, and others did have the same. I highly recommend Matavai Resort and if I come back to Niue will definitely return. niue is a small island atol. Its not a five star resort and it seems some reviewers expect perfection in everything. This isnt perfection, but they do pretty well trying to cater for some demanding big city people. I like the people and if things arent perfect thats just the way we all are. But they really try! As for value, the food was cheaper than what we would pay at home and quality as good, if not better on Niue!

Room Tip: We had room 29. away from the laundry and main deck area. It was a superior room and brillant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
One of our most challenging weeks here at Matavai, a late boat and a broken oven right in the middle of our super busy winter! Thank you so much for your genuine understanding about the issues that week. We do our best with limited access to supplies, and are so grateful when lovely friendly guests like yourselves understand and make tough weeks easier.
We will welcome you back with open arms!
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Property: Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Region: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing