We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Matavai Resort. The only negative was it wasn't long enough!! The rooms are modern and clean with very comfortable beds. The outdoor area had comfortable seating along with a clothes line - much appreciated for drying swimming things etc. The restaurant menu is not extensive compared to Auckland but its variety is amazing considering everything has to be freighted up there. Thank you to all the staff who make everyone feel special. I can recommend a piña colada at the pool bar to watch the sunset. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Matavai Resort. The team are extremely grateful, it's great to have guests review Matavai who truly appreciate just how unique Niue is. We hope to see you again later this year.
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    163
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
247
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had heard so much about Niue and we believe it was even better than what we had heard. Matavai Resort, especially the superior room, was wonderful and we could not speak more highly about the staff, from reception to the ever friendly grounds people. Just a small gripe re the final bill, we were charged twice for the 1st night buffet and had to question the bar tab a couple of times but by the same token there was no arguments and settled with apologies. They need to tidy up that aspect as others had the same problem. It is so easy to sign for each charge. We had a couple of wet days and thought it was a shame the Resort did not have its own health spa as I am sure it would have been well used.
The food was wonderful, from the Resort to all over the whole island and there are a number of cafe or restaurants to choose from. We never had a bad meal and all with great service. In general the island is more for the adventurous but it certainly had its rewards. Every sea track was different with the highlight being the Toga Chasm. Not for the faint hearted but mind blowing once you got there. The island was spotless, no graffiti or any rubbish and the people immaculate and so friendly. We were told that when we were finished with our rental just leave at airport on last day unlocked with the keys in the ignition! How would that go at Auckland? Twice at restaurants we were told just help yourself to a drink and let us know when you settle what you had. The Washaway Cafe is an inspiration where you just write down what you have in an exercise book. Finally may I recommend The Commodore's Orientation Tour. We took this tour with Keith on the day we arrived and this set us up for the whole week. He gave us maps and timetables we could use for exploring and generally knew everything about the island and the people which made it so easy for the rest of the week. Drinks and nibbles were thrown in and we ended up using one of his walking poles for the whole week. Keith took photos of our tour as we went around and presented us with 3 CD's of our photos and others as a keepsake.
Overall a wonderful Island and I would love to go back and finish the adventure. I would definitely return to the Resort especially the superior rooms

Room Tip: Anywhere will give you a sea view. The superior rooms just gives you that bit of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Matavai Resort. I am glad the island surpassed your expectations. I have noted your comments with regard to charging and am in the process of reviewing our procedures to ensure that these payment issues do not continue in the future. We look forward to seeing you again at Matavai Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our first trip to Niue and the Matavai was an excellent base for our week on the island. We stayed in one of Cliff Top rooms, which was modern, large and clean with a nice balcony area. The highlight of the resort was definitely the pool deck area, a great spot to watch the sunset during happy hour.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. For example I forgot to bring my contact lens case with me on the trip and the next morning the concierge had one waiting for me. We also really enjoyed the Uga demonstration as well, hosted by Bev.

The food at the restaurant was really nice, but my only negative comment is that the menu lacked some variety and could have had more locally inspired dishes. We had 3 nice meals at the resort though and with other excellent food options around Niue it wasn’t an issue.

We would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Globespotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Matavai Resort. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased to announce a new menu starting 1st of June 2014 celebrating local cuisine. This has been a long process for us as Niue has a very small population and limited access to supplies however we have worked closely over the past few years with local suppliers to ensure consistent produce and will now be showcasing some of Niue's fantastic products on our new menu. Come back and check it out some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Views are amazing, the staff are great and the refit makes the Clifftop rooms a fantastic choice. Falling asleep to the waves crashing below was bliss. The staff were so helpful and understanding when a short 5 min Mothers Day call somehow got billed as a 9 hour marathon worth over $2K. It was no problem for the Matavai staff when we questioned it, they already had made steps to reverse the charge! Food was great and reasonably priced too, compared to Auckland prices. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a Clifftop, its worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NZGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We were touched by how much you loved your mum :) I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Matavai, it was such a pleasure to have you both here with your warm friendly smiles. Come and see us again - next time you could bring mum along too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A great resort with superb views. We were in room 19 , large and spacious with a quiet mode on the air conditioner. The resort has a large deck area overlooking the ocean . You will need a car to visit all the areas of interest on the island but that's not a biggie. Continental Breakfast is included. Clean and very quiet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Matavai Resort. Thanks for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Matavai's buildings and balconies are so cleverly nestled into a landscape of surreal beauty that its hard to believe it's real. Particularly when playful schools of dolphins start frolicking and leaping in the crystal clear water below the resort, just beyond a spectacular reef. The staff are helpful and friendly. The food is good and the place had a nice feel of resort luxury while also remaining down to earth and personal. A great place to chill out. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We appreciate your review, thanks for taking the time. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had never heard about Niue but had the chance to go there with work.
I stayed a week with my crew and partner and loved every second of it. Forget mobile phones and touristy sandy beaches, this is a rocky oasis where the locals are your best friends and the scenery is just amazing.
You will learn a new way to relax and will hardly spend a cent as there isn't much to spend it on. Bring your own alcohol duty free and save some money, and do yourself a favour and go to church, yes I mean it...on Sunday morning. Their singing is something not to ever be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, Front Office Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Matavai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Property: Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Region: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing