We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great time at the Matavai, Marie and the reception staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. John, thank you for fixing our little housekeeping problem so promptly. The meals were not Cordon Bleau but that was to be expected with just about all food coming in on the monthly boat. The one small piece of advice I would give is to the bar staff, please speed up your service and get the orders right ( I waited 40 minutes for a cocktail 1 night and 25 the next night and was brought the wrong drink). All in all the stay was very enjoyable unfortunately I never had my camera in the right position at the right time to get a pic of the whales, I did get some good pics of the dolphins though. All in all a very relaxing and great holiday, we were sorry to have to come home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time spent with us here at Matavai Resort. I am continuing to work with my team to improve the speed and management of orders in our Restaurant. I appreciate your feedback, it all helps us to finely tune the resort to the perfect holiday destination.
Sarah King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent 7 nights in these Lockwood-styled motels. Rooms were cosy although the floors could have done with a good clean. Views were amazing. We had room 7 and the sound of the sea crashing on the rocks was brilliant. Even saw whales passing by (a fair way out) one afternoon. As per comments from others the sliding screen door was a bit messy (threatened to come off hinges on an ongoing basis). Rooms were fairly simple but that's what gave it a batch-like feel which was cool. We self-catered most of the time and the cooking facilities were fine. You also get a voucher to spend at the resort, and can pop down there anytime to use the pool, bar, restaurant, etc and observe any of the shows. Anything bought at the resort is billed to your motel room and you can settle up at the end of your stay. Makes it nice and easy. Biggest pain would have to be the resident roosters. Were a bit of a laugh for a while given they don't seem to have any idea when to crow ie sunset and sunrise. But after a couple of 3am wake-ups, followed by 4am repeats it all became a bit painful. We followed the online hints and stored up projectiles to encourage the roosters to retreat, however they just tended to end up under the rooms, which made the sound even worse. 1-0 to the roosters. Staff were friendly, but we didn't really need their help so hard to comment on the level of service, as we pretty much looked after ourselves. Car is a must to get around the island, so much to see and do.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Matavai Resort. We found Marie at reception to be extremely helpful and always had a lovely smile. We did have a minor problem within our room-the icebox threw a paddy (this could happen at any accommodation), we contacted reception and it was attended to asap with a follow up phone call from Marie to make sure everything was working ok. Food was reasonable but there is room for improvement which I believe will be sorted shortly. The only real complaint I had is that during the happy hour (in the weekend) the bar staff had problems with getting through all the orders and we were given the incorrect order on 2 occasions which was remedied quickly - i believe management are looking into this problem.

Room Tip: all rooms give a lovely view but i preferred the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnaire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your review. We have continued to work through the season to improve both our food selection and quality. As Niue grows its tourism industry so do our busy moments and we are continuing to work on improving systems managing these - especially moments at the bar.
Sarah King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had the privilege and pleasure to be guests for the wedding of our friends at the Matavai Resort last month.
The staff (with special mention to Marie and Sarah) did everything to make this an occasion to remember. They worked tirelessly to ensure the venue was embracing and, in my opinion, exceeded expectation. Our friends stood under an arch of tropical greenery and flowers, with the Pacific Ocean as the backdrop. Beautiful!
After the ceremony we enjoyed bubbles and nibbles on the ocean-side patio (with very attentive staff) before moving to an upper level of the Resort, still with those lovely views, to enjoy our wedding dinner. Magical.
The Matavai team continued to impress when asked if we could arrange a farewell bbq the evening before we all departed. For all of our requests, we never heard the word no. Nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a garden room, which offered lovely views over the pool area with the ocean beyond. Our room was clean, spacious and serviced to our requirements.
Aside from the wedding festivities, my partner and I enjoyed a quiet evening at the Resort, starting with Happy Hour cocktails, followed by dinner, and ending with a nightcap as the surf crashed upon the the rocks. Flawless.
Perhaps it needs to be said that Niue is not a touristy, frenetic environment. It is proud, gentle, friendly, unspoiled. It will be a lucky visitor that finds their way to this paradise.
Thank you Matavai Resort. See you next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Debsaysthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you. The whole Matavai team work tirelessly to ensure our guests have the perfect holiday. We are very grateful for your heart warming comments and hope to see you all again some day soon.
Sarah King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a great time staying at the Matavai. The people were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were great and we had no problems with cold showers. The food was fine and agree it wasn't exceptional but considering that everything has to be brought in from NZ they did very well. The breakfast wasn't elaborate but had a good selection of cereals and nice Niue honey. Loved the entertainment they put on. Our only down side was the whales failed to show up but can't really blame Matavai for that!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KT19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your great review. We do appreciate the frustration for those who visit and miss the whales, thank you so much for your understanding.
Sarah King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved our visit to Niue, and were very happy with Matavai Resort. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff were very friendly, and the view from the deck was unbelievable - there's nothing quite like sitting drinking a cocktail or eating your breakfast and watching whales or dolphins playing in the bay below! We found the restaurant food to be very good, though like all the eateries on the island the variety is a little limited due to the need to import pretty much all of their supplies.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

We are glad you were able to share our unique whale and dolphin dining experience, we love to see the guests still on the decks at midday having never left breakfast distracted by the incredible performance in the waters below.
Sarah King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent 10 nights here, and were really impressed with the room(no 3) and the service from the girls for the duration, nothing was too much trouble for them. You only had to ask for clean towels etc before you went out and they were there before you came back.They went over and beyond their call of duty, one time I was waiting to use a washing machine, and was waiting to go out, so she kindly offered to put it in when the guest machine was available, When we got back to the room, it was clean, ironed and folded on my bed. The sound of the sea lulled us to sleep every night. We saw several whales from the balcony. It was not a problem getting around the island as we had a rental car(Essential on Niue) The room could have been serviced more during the week but was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 4 are nearer the sea so great if you like to be lulled to sleep at night by waves.But for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robs440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Region: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range: £98 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing