We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Had a great stay at the Matavai, in an ocean view room. The room was clean, spacious and had everything you need, with a great view of the ocean; we could even watch the whales and dolphins from the deck. The whales came at breakfast time one morning, and the main deck has a spectacular view. Food is basic, with not much variety, but is done well and was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Dizzle_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
We are grateful you took the time to share your thoughts with the world, hopefully we will see you again at Matavai Resort.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    169
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
84
253
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a very nice place to stay, with a great view on the Ocean and very nice people. The food was very very good. We had our wedding organized in Niue by the Matavai Resort, and this just happened to be the happiest day in our life, we had a wonderful ceremony on a beautifully decorated beach followed by a photography session, and a wedding dinner, which was just...perfect! Now, we are glad that we made the perfect choice in choosing this place for our wedding, it could not have been better! For sure we will come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
It was our pleasure to host your for your beautiful, special day. Thank you for choosing Matavai, and then sharing us with the world.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The rooms were clean and very comfortable, the views are amazing! the pool is great and the a/c and fans make even the hottest weather comfortable. Staff were excellent. The rosters were a bit of a pain but certainly didn't bother us too much. Excellent spot, close to Alofi and Avatele beach.

Room Tip: all rooms are great with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betharmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent rooms, lovely staff, incredible location. Watching whales while sitting on the deck drinking cocktails and eating delicious food must be pretty much holiday perfection! This resort is excellent and catered so well for children. Well done!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent with a/c and fans. they are also really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betharmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you. We are glad you brought your children up to experience Niue, it is such an adventure playground. We look forward to seeing you on your next adventure.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fabulous place to stay. Epic views from room and resort balcony. Clean, well serviced and beds are soooo comfortable. Food on the whole, fresh and delicious. Lovely staff, lovely people, beautiful island. Not for everyone but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
And we will look forward to seeing your friendly faces here again at Matavai!
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanaka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We just came back from a week on niue stayed at matavai in a superior ocean view room
The room was excellent and location is amazing as you fall asleep to the roaring ocean below
Niue is totally unique and this is an island of exploration. We walked to every cave and each one is special and unique. We saw whales everyday just in the bay where the hotel is located. Loads of spinner dolphins too. We have been to many of the pacific islands and understand how commercialized they can become and niue is exempt so far from this. Love the locals they are beautiful people and the hotel and staff are all just wanting to help in any way to make your stay enjoyable. Our only sad part was we didn't stay long enough xxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulabell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Unique is the perfect word for Matavai and Niue Island! Thank you for reviewing us, the most common comment on departure day is "1 week was not enough". At least now you have a reason to some back.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great time at the Matavai, Marie and the reception staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. John, thank you for fixing our little housekeeping problem so promptly. The meals were not Cordon Bleau but that was to be expected with just about all food coming in on the monthly boat. The one small piece of advice I would give is to the bar staff, please speed up your service and get the orders right ( I waited 40 minutes for a cocktail 1 night and 25 the next night and was brought the wrong drink). All in all the stay was very enjoyable unfortunately I never had my camera in the right position at the right time to get a pic of the whales, I did get some good pics of the dolphins though. All in all a very relaxing and great holiday, we were sorry to have to come home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time spent with us here at Matavai Resort. I am continuing to work with my team to improve the speed and management of orders in our Restaurant. I appreciate your feedback, it all helps us to finely tune the resort to the perfect holiday destination.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Property: Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Region: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing