We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great cultural show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great cultural show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

didnt stay, just went for the cultural performance. the performance was great and they even grab people to take them up to dance wit. lots of fun. buffet food was yum, especially the dessert! kids got to swim in the pool which they really enjoyed. the views from the resort are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovekaikouranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
We are incredibly proud of our cultural performance team, your comments are kind and make for a bunch of very happy kids! They are the children of the Matavai staff and work very hard all year to present a professional, genuine Niuean performance for everyone on the island to see at no charge. I am glad you took up this opportunity to come and watch, they are a passionate talented bunch!
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    160
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
243
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

love this place..tranquil..loved the isolation..the food was awesome..esp island night..gorgeous room..a really relaxing time..would go again..a nice palce to go snorkeling ..and just to get away from it all..

Room Tip: newer rooms..quiet..waves crashing all day and night..awesome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 491maj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you! Matavai certainly specialising I the utimate in 'getting away from it all' - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

An amazing view of the Pacific Ocean is waiting for you, with the possibility of Humpback whales smashing about. I recommend a rental car for getting about on the island and trying "The Rock" cocktail at happy hour.

The fish dishes are incredibly fresh, usually Wahoo and so tasty! Our room was very nice, serviced daily, an excellent bathroom, air conditioning and a ceiling fan too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thanks for taking a moment to review Matavai, the team are all grateful for your kind comments.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Matavai is a modern, clean and lovely resort in a beautiful setting with very nice staff.

We were in an ocean view room which was bright, big and airy. The rooms are very modern and have all the mod-cons.

The deck views are amazing and the pool area is really enjoyable. The menu options are pretty limited and the food basic but it is delicious and done really well. Suggest taking some warm clothing for the cooler nights when you're enjoying cocktails on the pool deck.

You won't want for anything here - we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaGibbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for your review. We will look forward to seeing again on our sunny shores.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

A great place to stay, and use as a base to explore the island from. Our rental car was left outside the resort in the carpark and with it we explored the island, returning each evening to our comfortable, clean spacious room.
Great food and great views out to the sea from where a bit of whale watching could be done - yes we did see a whale during happy hour from the pool bar!
I can highly recommend this resort!!

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are very pleasant and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WindriderNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you. The car situation here is pretty unique, many guests find it hilarious that they leave their car with the keys in it at the airport and simply jump on the plane - there are can't be many place left in the world with the safety and security of Niue Island. Come and see us again some time soon.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Returned 1 week ago after a fantastic 7 night stay at this beautiful resort.Our garden room had a great view of the resort, and pool area, and was spacious and comfortable. The views of the reef and ocean were spectacular, especially when the whales and dolphin made an appearance, which was virtually every day. It was my birthday during our stay, and Marie and the staff made it one to remember. Looking forward to another visit next year, but for a few days more, 7 days was not long enough!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
We agree, 7 days is not enough! We look forward to seeing you in tropical Niue again, thanks for your review.
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great place to stay, staff friendly, rooms clean and well presented, restaurant and bar prices reasonable. Not walking distance to town, so own transport a must. Food nice, suggest you take snacks adn don't expect a muffin with your coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougAug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Scenic Matavai Resort Niue, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thanks for reviewing Matavai Resort
Sarah King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scenic Matavai Resort Niue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Matavai Resort Niue

Property: Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
Address: Tapeu-Porritt Road | Tamakautoga, Alofi, Niue
Region: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scenic Matavai Resort Niue 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, the resorts' cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Scenic Matavai Resort Niue is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. The resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Matavai Resort Niue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing