We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local flavor, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palau Plantation Resort
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We brought in 11 people prior to going on the Tropic Dancer liveaboard dive boat and the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and efficient, the rooms allowed us to get in the Palau island spirit immediately and the three restaurants were good. We dove with Neco Marine for day boats and they were great, prompt and good. The Palau Plantation was a real hit with our group. It is small and feels very exclusive as it is in the tarot fields and jungle. It is not on the beach, but very well located for a few days before diving. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuba_Sensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

In view of less than a handful good lodging options, this is definetly the best place to stay on that simply unbelievable Western Caroline Island. Just minutes from Koror’s not so appealing principal road, Plantation Resort is like an entrance to a tropical forest. Unfortunately on balance so expensive as the impersonal Pacific Resort, the Plantation is much more authentic and familiar. Not least the small size and a big passion for detail makes this lodging lovely. Embedded in lush green, the ‘resort’ offers just 15 or so Units. Concerning room types, during our five day stay we tried the 70 sqm Rock Island View Cottage with nice balcony and semi-outdor bathtub. And the more recommended because more cozy 50 sqm Superior, a stand alone Cabin, perfectly good sized with in- and outdoor patio. Staff was friendly and motivated, Breakfast was simple. Dinig options range from from Teppanyaki to Tapioca or Taro. Of course ‘Ukaib’, the famous Mangrove Crab, is also on the menu – and sometimes in the Pool, where you can relax usually without these locals and reflect about Palau’s exotic ocean and breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My son and I stayed at this property for four nights while in Palau for diving and a visit to the Jelly Fish Lake. The hotel was clean and the staff were polite and helpful. There is a drying room that is a luxury for divers as carrying wet gear in your luggage can be problematic.
The hotel works closely with at least the dive shop we used making airport transfers, rides to/from the dive shop and payment all seamless.
As I mentioned earlier, the staff were polite. Almost everyone we encountered was more than willing to do more than we asked and always with a smile. There was an occasional miscommunication due to language limitations, but never anything significant.
The downside to the property was the location with regard to visiting the village. While transportation was generally available if arranged, walking would have been preferred as the distance was not far. However, along the roads to/from the hotel, it seemed that about every house had at least one dog visible in the driveway or walkway and, in most cases, its friendliness was impossible to judge. Based on not being able to trust the local canine population and not wishing to start a dive trip with a run-in, we avoided walking to/from town and, therefore, felt disconnected from action, culture and local experience in general. I value these aspects of travel highly enough that I lowered my rating as a result.
We ate in the restaurant for dinner a couple times and found the food to be acceptable although not great. The menu seemed to have a lot of items but many of them were just variations of each other.
If you visit Palau only for diving then this property is a good choice due to the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff. If you desire a more local experience, something closer to town would be better. Here, however, I must say I have no suggestion as the properties we stopped at along the way to pick up other passengers did not present very positive images from the front view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor generally provide a view of the water and treetops which I believe is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May after being on a boat for a week of diving. The room is well-appointed with a balcony with a drying rack for your diving gear and swim things. Ours had a nice view of the lagoon over the tops of the trees. We were over the jungle bar but did not get any noise from there. The only noise we got was from loud neighbors getting ready for their dives at 6:30 each morning. Beds are good. The bathroom is well-equipped with all amenities, including shaving foam and a wash cloth. My roommate was ecstatic about the big shower! There is a nice little pool that was cleaned every day, and his and hers jacuzzis which we never used! It's a short walk downtown (about 10 minutes) and the National museum is only 5 minutes away. The hotel is Japanese run, very efficient, and the map they provide is good to keep on you as it also lists some restaurants and shops. As I am not a beach person I was happy to be away from the big resorts and be close to town while in a nice Eco-luxe setting. Everyone is very nice. as an example we had bought sodas for our LOB and had some leftover. we drank these by the pool, the staff brought us ice, with no complaints. when the driver dropped me off at the airport and i had already paid and tipped him, he stayed quietly by the side to make sure i checked in all right and then left without drawing attention to this extra service he had just provided. A good choice and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent a lovely night here before we sailed on the Palau Siren. It is a beautiful place with friendly staff and a gift shop with lots of local made items. I wished it hadn't been raining the day we were there because I would have liked to have spent time in their lovely swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slushmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent four nights at the Palau Plantation Resort, while waiting for the rest of our group to arrive for a diving trip.
The hotel/resort is beautifully tucked away in the midst of a lush forested hill.
The staff are the friendliest bunch of people we have ever encountered in a hotel, and were always ready to help with any request.
The rooms - There are only twenty of them, making the place intimate and quiet - Are all hand-built from wood and other natural materials. Each room is unique. Our room was at treetop level, with magnificent views.
The resort has a cute swimming pool, two restaurants (We sampled both and they were excellent!!), one of them combined with a bar, and all amenities you need, including an Internet room with two computrs.
The bed was made differently each day, with the most imaginative blanket/towel folding designs, topped off with local Hibiscus flowers.
The hotel isn't centrally located, but they provide cheap transportation into towm at all times, and in the evenings there are frequent free shuttle rides into town and back.
Prices are very reasonable.
We stayed here at the high season and still enjoyed a very quiet, friendly and cozy home away from home.
We loved it!!
So will you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mangroves Room, which has beautiful treetop level views, but is at the top of a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Palau Plantation Resort (US$180 p/n) after two cheaper nights at the Guest Lodge Motel (US$60 p/n). Lovely small resort in a traditional and tranquil setting. Our room was the cheapest available (Premium Cabin with sea view) but we felt that it was a bit too expensive for what it was - welcome to Palau! You have to pay for bottled water, which we thought should be free considering you cannot drink the tap water. You also have to pay for internet usage, which is a pretty basic sort of thing and even cheap hotels like our previous Guest Lodge Motel offer for free. The staff (both Japanese and Palau) were very helpful and friendly which was probably the best part of this resort. We were woken by noisy guests leaving the Jungle Bar (directly underneath our room) in the middle of the night. The location is in a quiet area, but still in walking distance to Koror restaurants, etc. They offer a free shuttle bus in the evening as the area feels pretty dodgy by night and they do not recommend walking outside after dark (we did, and we survived but it didn't feel safe). We did a half day kayak tour which departed from the mangrove river right next to the hotel which was fantastic, although again, overpriced after you pay for the tour itself and the permit to enter the rock islands. But that is everywhere in Palau.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#2 of 31 in Koror
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#10 of 31 in Koror
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palau Central Hotel
Palau Central Hotel
#3 of 31 in Koror
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Palau Hotel
Palau Hotel
#6 of 31 in Koror
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Plantation Resort

Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0856, Palau
Region: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koror
#2 Best Value Hotel in Koror
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koror
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palau Plantation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palau Plantation Resort is a South Pacific hideaway offering travelers a wide selection of traditional styled cabins, cottages and villas surrounded by the natural beauty of a tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palau Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Plantation Hotel Koror
Palau Plantation Resort Koror, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing